Ninja & Baby
Member Since 2017
I got the insulin from the vet and it appeared new.
Nothing but Fancy Feast today.Has he eaten only Fancy Feast today, no dry at all?
Well then I have no idea what's going on. Seems very weird ...Nothing but Fancy Feast today.
I am very frustrated. I have no idea what to do since I can't tell the vet what I'm doing. Any ideas?Well then I have no idea what's going on. Seems very weird ...
Here's a thought: the 2 u dose might be too high and he's bounced up to high numbers. You jumped from 1 u to 2 u with nothing in between. There's concern about dosing high enough because of the DKA but maybe the good dose is somewhere between 1 u and 2 u and you've zipped right past it. You could try 1.5 u tonight to see what happens. Another thing that people do after DKA is to feed higher carb food to be able to give higher insulin doses to keep ketones at bay. Maybe the 2u dose is too high for the low carb Fancy Feast and he's bouncing because of that.I am very frustrated. I have no idea what to do since I can't tell the vet what I'm doing. Any ideas?
I don't know if it is cloudier than usual. I have nothing to compare it to.I think he may very well be bouncing but I hate to think he bounced hard enough to stay HI all day. He was eating EVO dry until this morning which while not high carb does have tapioca which caused Paula to question if that was the problem. If he is already running high, giving more carbs is not a good idea IMHO. I do however wonder if dropping the dose to 1.5u might be in order.
Is the insulin cloudier looking than usual? If so it may be that the insulin has started to go bad. 30 minutes unrefrigerated shouldn't make it go bad but you never know if it might have been left out before you got it.
I think he was getting 2 units at the vets office, and it sounded like he was responding to it. He was responding at home somewhat before he went to the hospitalWas he getting 1U or 2U when at the vet's and eating the higher-carb food?
If he was responding to 2u at the vet's and possibly eating higher carb food there too then the highs you're getting now make no sense. Maybe you could call them and ask for his BG numbers while he was there and what he was eating. Do you have a spare battery for your meter that you could put in to see if that's the problem? We can't rule out an insulin issue either.I think he was getting 2 units at the vets office, and it sounded like he was responding to it. He was responding at home somewhat before he went to the hospital
Yes, I tried it twice on myself. I do have a "new" battery...meaning I have no idea how long I've had it and I see no expiration date on the package. Ninja has gone upstairs to bed. I'm not going to check him again tonight unless he comes downstairs before I go to bed.Kris, I think Paula did a test on herself and got a reasonable number, so unless she got really really unlucky, it doesn't seem like a monitor problem. Although, if you've got a spare battery then yeah, why not try it! This is really puzzling....
No, I have it all put away.Could Ninja be getting into high carb contraband?
Worth a try?Yes, I tried it twice on myself. I do have a "new" battery...meaning I have no idea how long I've had it and I see no expiration date on the package.

You've got me. It make sense, but what do I do? I do not want to cause harm, and I have no idea where to start or stop. Do I need to worry that this is causing lasting damage during this short time period? Is it OK to let this going on for a little while longer to see what happens as long as there are no ketones and he is eating?What jumps out at me when I look at Ninja's SS is that the numbers increased when the dose was increased.
So, I don't think we can rule out the possiblity that the dose is too high.
Here's my thinking:
Previously, on a preshot of 382 Ninja was given one unit of insulin. 12 hours later his blood glucose was 139.
Subsequently, on a preshot of 340 Ninja was given two units of insulin. The numbers the following day were 'Hi'.
There is no depot with Vetsulin. The insulin is 'in and out' (and often 'in and out' within 8 - 10 hours), so there is usually a good reason for there being a low number - like that 139 - at preshot.
Sometimes a low number at preshot means that the pancreas is working a bit, and is maybe able to extend the cycle once the blood glucose has dropped sufficiently low.
Sometimes, though, a low number at preshot means that the dose is too high. And it may well be that there was a lower number earlier in the cycle.
If, if, IF the 1 unit was too much at that preshot 382, then wouldn't it follow that the 2 units would be way too much at a preshot of 340 (assuming the same food is being fed, etc)...? ...And couldn't it be the case that the blood glucose dropped low enough to cause significant, lasting rebound....?
Just my 10 cents....
Linda, Kris, Nan, what do you think?
@MrWorfMen's Mom , @Kris & Teasel , @Nan & Amber
I was thinking that the dose might well be too high as well. However, there's concern about Ninja being post DKA and needing insulin at a high enough dose. Because Vetsulin is so amenable to dose changes because there's no depot, a trial at 1.5 u might be helpful.What jumps out at me when I look at Ninja's SS is that the numbers increased when the dose was increased.
So, I don't think we can rule out the possiblity that the dose is too high.
Here's my thinking:
Previously, on a preshot of 382 Ninja was given one unit of insulin. 12 hours later his blood glucose was 139.
Subsequently, on a preshot of 340 Ninja was given two units of insulin. The numbers the following day were 'Hi'.
There is no depot with Vetsulin. The insulin is 'in and out' (and often 'in and out' within 8 - 10 hours), so there is usually a good reason for there being a low number - like that 139 - at preshot.
Sometimes a low number at preshot means that the pancreas is working a bit, and is maybe able to extend the cycle once the blood glucose has dropped sufficiently low.
Sometimes, though, a low number at preshot means that the dose is too high. And it may well be that there was a lower number earlier in the cycle.
If, if, IF the 1 unit was too much at that preshot 382, then wouldn't it follow that the 2 units would be way too much at a preshot of 340 (assuming the same food is being fed, etc)...? ...And couldn't it be the case that the blood glucose dropped low enough to cause significant, lasting rebound....?
Just my 10 cents....
Linda, Kris, Nan, what do you think?
@MrWorfMen's Mom , @Kris & Teasel , @Nan & Amber
You are absolutely right!! When the dose increased, so did Ninja's BG!!! When he was at 1 unit, the numbers were running lower. I think by the time he got started on insulin he was already dehydrated and headed into DKA. So the dosage may have been right, but it was too little too late to undo the damage????What jumps out at me when I look at Ninja's SS is that the numbers increased when the dose was increased.
So, I don't think we can rule out the possiblity that the dose is too high.
Hi Paula,Yes, Linda, I'm going to check again probably around +4. His reading this morning of 582 was at +1.5. That is the reason I put it in the middle of the Unit 1 and Unit 2 cells. That helps me to be able to keep up with the time better since there's no 1.5. Is there an easier way to note 1.5? All this is so confusing.
I am thinking this Hi has lasted so long we can probably rule out Evo causing a problem???
The dosage might have been fine but the other factors - dehydration, not eating, etc. - tipped him into DKA. Are you game to try 1.5 u tonight?So the dosage may have been right, but it was too little too late to undo the damage????
Good idea.I am willing to try 1.5 but want to wait to make a decision until I see his numbers later on today.

Thanks to all of you for the emotional support. I am pretty low right now. My poor little Ninja is away from home again, and I feel so bad. I keep hoping the vet will call soon, but it's looking unlikely.I think you made the right decision. When DKA has been in the picture, better to jump the gun than risk having to take him to the ER.![]()
