Insulin dose increase

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Debra Pratt, Sep 2, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Debra Pratt

Debra Pratt Member

Ok so we just got done at the vet for a glucose curve. They said dose needs to be increased from 1 unit twice a day to 2 units twice a day. I have read here to do it slower. Can someone help me know how to do it slower? I am really new at this and scared of messing things up. Also from here on out I will be able to do curves at home and got fluids in case she needs them at home as well.

2. jt and trouble (GA)

jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

Rather starting out with 2 units start at Half unit increments or even smaller Hold on for more replies . I am not an expert.;)

UGH I didnt explain that properly. start at 11/2 units hold that for so many days and see how that works. I think some raise by a quarter unit each time they change.

Like I said hold on for more replies. I just wanted to bump this to the top.

Panic and Debra Pratt like this.
  3. Panic

Panic Well-Known Member

We increase by 0.25 units at a time, usually after a week on a dose that's proving to not be enough.

Could you give me a background on Bitsy? What's the reason for her being dehydrated?

I would not increase yet. She looks like she's bouncing (a phenomenon where BG drops low and the body dumps extra sugar in the blood to compensate, causing very high BG). What were her numbers at the curve today?

I recommend getting some mid-cycle tests in every day so we can actually see where the dose is taking Bitsy. Could you get tests such as +2, +4, +6 one day and +3, +5, +7 another day? Just to fill in the gaps on her spreadsheet.

4. Debra Pratt

Debra Pratt Member