Insulin confusion

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bunny

Member Since 2014
Crash, my 7 y.o. tabby was just dx'd with diabetes. Vet prescribed humulin N 1 unit twice a day. I couldn't afford the humulin so I got novolin N instead. I tried reading some info about insulin on this site but I'm at work and don't have much time. I did not see novolin N mentioned anywhere. Does anyone have any info on using this type of insulin?
 
Humulin N and Novalin N are the same 'NPH' insulin, just different manufacturers. Things that apply for Humulin N will apply for Novalin. 2 years ago, Humulin N was Walmart's insulin brand, now their contract is with Novalin.

I know it can get confusing...took me a few days to even realize there were so many different kinds of insulin!

HUGS!
 
Humulin/Novolin are not approved for use in cats because they're often much too harsh for a cat's faster metabolism, increasing the risk of hypos, and they usually don't last long enough for twice daily dosing.

That being said, there is a Humulin/Novolin Primer to help you with the steps you will need to take to make this work as best as possible for now. I would strongly recommend you look into getting a prescription for another insulin. In the meantime, are you interested in home-testing? We can help you with that, as well as a species-appropriate diet that might help Crash not only utilize the insulin better but also perhaps come off insulin altogether and become diet-controlled.

Welcome and please let us know how else we can help you. :-D
 
Thanks to squeaky and kpassa for your input. I already have a glucometer and have been checking his BS levels.
I have more concerns, 2 days ago (when all this started) his BS was 473, vet started him on the insulin. The next evening he came down to 190, tonite he is 313.
Although he seems to be more alert he still staggers and still is not eating or drinking. I'm giving 100cc's ringers sub-q daily and Pepcid twice a day. Am I expecting too much too soon? (since this just started 2 days ago)
 
hi bunny. i hope u stay and learn here. lots of good ppl to help u and ur kitty do the best u can. not eating and drinking? at all?
hopefully sum1 responds soon. doesnt sound good. i hope u stick around and let some of the more experienced (not me) help u. :)
 
Bunny said:
I have more concerns, 2 days ago (when all this started) his BS was 473, vet started him on the insulin. The next evening he came down to 190, tonite he is 313.

That, unfortunately, is often the way Novolin works on cats. The Humulin/Novolin Primer I linked above should have a few ideas on how to make the swings not as crazy.

Are you also testing for ketones? Was he in DKA and is that what the sub-q and pepcid are for? Or did/does he have pancreatitis?
 
As Humulin/Novolin N lasts roughly 6-8 hours in the cat, effective glucose control may require testing, feeding, and shooting every 8 hours.

[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *​

How to use the glucose reference values chart:

When you get a test, look for the number on the chart that either equals, or contains, the test value you have. Read the information. As needed, make a decision and act.

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)

Footnote: Comparing a human glucometer to a pet-specific glucometer is like reading temperature in Celsius vs Fahrenheit. Both are correct. You just need to know the reference ranges to interpret what the numbers mean.
 
When you are giving sub-q fluids, you need to be giving the insulin shot as far away from the sub-q fluids site as possible. You don't want the fluids to interfere with the insulin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top