Insulin + Clavaseptin?

xiaotangmao

Member Since 2025
Hello!

I'm not sure if this is the right forum to post in but today Bumble Bee had a pretty big scare and ran up the stairs tearing out a nail from his back hind leg, I noticed it after feeding and administering his insulin. I gathered from the forum that it's fine for diabetic cat to use clavaseptin but the only concern is that should I spread out the insulin and clavaseptin? Or should I feed and do both at the same time? I was thinking of mixing fortiflora with his food because I saw it could be hard on the stomache.

I rushed him to two different ER and the first one wouldn't take him as they were closing in 30 minutes and then Bumble Bee spent almost 3 hours at the second ER and was stressed panting/crying the entire time. He was bleeding the entire time and then they were able to get it to stop bleeding. They used fast klot + surolan on his paw. I did keep stressing to them that he is diabetic cat and asking if everything was safe for him to use and they said yes but I found out later surolan has some steroids in it. He did get a couple lick of his paws/got the cone off. I called my vet who told me they would call me back but have not heard from them. The ER vet advise against putting a bandaid on and to just monitor him/wipe his paw with without water after every litter box use.

The only thing I'm worried about is that my vet thinks Bumble Bee is in remission, I don't believe he is but believe it looks like he's heading there...he's number this morning was also in the mid to high 100s, I know this recent event will cause a spike in his blood sugar levels.
 
Hello!

I'm not sure if this is the right forum to post in but today Bumble Bee had a pretty big scare and ran up the stairs tearing out a nail from his back hind leg, I noticed it after feeding and administering his insulin. I gathered from the forum that it's fine for diabetic cat to use clavaseptin but the only concern is that should I spread out the insulin and clavaseptin? Or should I feed and do both at the same time? I was thinking of mixing fortiflora with his food because I saw it could be hard on the stomache.

I rushed him to two different ER and the first one wouldn't take him as they were closing in 30 minutes and then Bumble Bee spent almost 3 hours at the second ER and was stressed panting/crying the entire time. He was bleeding the entire time and then they were able to get it to stop bleeding. They used fast klot + surolan on his paw. I did keep stressing to them that he is diabetic cat and asking if everything was safe for him to use and they said yes but I found out later surolan has some steroids in it. He did get a couple lick of his paws/got the cone off. I called my vet who told me they would call me back but have not heard from them. The ER vet advise against putting a bandaid on and to just monitor him/wipe his paw with without water after every litter box use.

The only thing I'm worried about is that my vet thinks Bumble Bee is in remission, I don't believe he is but believe it looks like he's heading there...he's number this morning was also in the mid to high 100s, I know this recent event will cause a spike in his blood sugar levels.
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
The clavaseptin should be fine. If you want to use a probiotic, Fortiflora is not great. It's more helpful as an appetite stimulant. It doesn't do much for GI upsets. It has only one strain of probiotic whereas other probiotics contain many, many more strains.

@Wendy&Neko posted this information about probiotics in another member's thread:
Regarding Brands: There is no need to use these particular brands and this is list is by no means exhaustive. As mentioned, any quality L. acidophilus supplement can provide benefit, ... We recommend human probiotics specifically because they tend to be of higher quality (with claims of active colony forming units matching label claims, for instance) than many pet probiotics. The important things to consider are the number of colony forming units (CFU) (an adult cat dose of a human probiotic is between 2.5 billion CFU and 20–40 billion CFU daily, depending on whether use is maintenance or therapeutic. For kittens, use half the adult dose). The most proven bacterial probiotic strains in humans are L. acidophilus, L. rhamnosus (which colonize the intestines), and several strains of Bifidobacterium (which colonizes the colon). L. acidophilus is one of the few strains also studied in cats, and it did show significant benefit (35). So consider the mix of strains, bearing in mind that more isn’t always better, and be mindful of the “other” ingredients.

I did some reading about the surolan and I'm confused. It looks like it's only prescribed for ear infections.
 
It's fine to give an antibiotic, as long as it doesn't have sugar in it. Some antibiotics are compounded with sugar. If the vet set it's not, you should be OK. It doesn't need to be separated from the insulin, but should be a couple hours apart from any probiotic. If he gets diarrhea as a result of the AB, s. boulardii is a good option - details also in this web page.Probiotics – IBDKitties
 
The clavaseptin should be fine. If you want to use a probiotic, Fortiflora is not great. It's more helpful as an appetite stimulant. It doesn't do much for GI upsets. It has only one strain of probiotic whereas other probiotics contain many, many more strains.

@Wendy&Neko posted this information about probiotics in another member's thread:


I did some reading about the surolan and I'm confused. It looks like it's only prescribed for ear infections.
Which is what I was confused about as well but his entire sheath was torn off and she put it all over his exposed nub to stop the bleeding and then she did the fast klot and then she did a stick (I can't remember the name atm).

I've used fortiflora before and it helped I didn't realize it was more of an appetite stimulant that explains why when I stopped using it my senior cat stopped eating her food as much.

It's fine to give an antibiotic, as long as it doesn't have sugar in it. Some antibiotics are compounded with sugar. If the vet set it's not, you should be OK. It doesn't need to be separated from the insulin, but should be a couple hours apart from any probiotic. If he gets diarrhea as a result of the AB, s. boulardii is a good option - details also in this web page.Probiotics – IBDKitties
Sounds good!! Thank you I'll read up on this!
 
Keep some styptic powder on hand for future use in case something like this happens (but hopefully not). Pet stores sell it. Cornstarch works in a pinch too.

Leroy tore a claw out once too :facepalm: No idea what he did. The ER had to stitch him up a bit but I don't recall if he was put on antibiotics. If he was, it was probably Clavamox.
 
Keep some styptic powder on hand for future use in case something like this happens (but hopefully not). Pet stores sell it. Cornstarch works in a pinch too.

Leroy tore a claw out once too :facepalm: No idea what he did. The ER had to stitch him up a bit but I don't recall if he was put on antibiotics. If he was, it was probably Clavamox.
I think I heard that was the US equivalent of mine.

Yes I was cursing myself for putting him through essentially four hours of hell and then he has been miserable since getting home. I was so overwhelmed I ended up crying at work and got sent home for being too in distressed. I've been helicopter parenting him and trying to keep him seperate from siblings as one of them always gets a bit aggressive when any cats come home from the vet.

I just don't want to ruin how hard he has worked for his remission/steady numbers because of my lack of knowledge/advocating for him.

Also thank you so much for helping me with my spreadsheet last time! You were a life saver!
 
I think I heard that was the US equivalent of mine.

Yes I was cursing myself for putting him through essentially four hours of hell and then he has been miserable since getting home. I was so overwhelmed I ended up crying at work and got sent home for being too in distressed. I've been helicopter parenting him and trying to keep him seperate from siblings as one of them always gets a bit aggressive when any cats come home from the vet.

I just don't want to ruin how hard he has worked for his remission/steady numbers because of my lack of knowledge/advocating for him.

Also thank you so much for helping me with my spreadsheet last time! You were a life saver!
I feel you, myself I have cried till I’ve cried till had no more tears came out , I have cursed myself more time I wanted to. But all this journey is a process. Tge important thing right now is to regulate him. Remission, if it happens, it will, my Corky will be a lifetime diabetic but his regulated, that’s what is important right now
 
I feel you, myself I have cried till I’ve cried till had no more tears came out , I have cursed myself more time I wanted to. But all this journey is a process. Tge important thing right now is to regulate him. Remission, if it happens, it will, my Corky will be a lifetime diabetic but his regulated, that’s what is important right now
If you ever need to vent or anything I'm all ears. I've had so many scares with him and so many times where I couldn't figure out how I was going to make it work/upset at doing something wrong/hurting him!

I really need my vet to get back to me because I need a refill of his insulin + needles but they believe he has already achieved remission with the numbers on my spreadsheet but I don't believe it is as he's still testing mid-high 100s but my vet is adamant anything 144 and under is regulated. The other night he did a fairly large pee and I wasn't fast enough to grab the ketostix.
 
If you ever need to vent or anything I'm all ears. I've had so many scares with him and so many times where I couldn't figure out how I was going to make it work/upset at doing something wrong/hurting him!

I really need my vet to get back to me because I need a refill of his insulin + needles but they believe he has already achieved remission with the numbers on my spreadsheet but I don't believe it is as he's still testing mid-high 100s but my vet is adamant anything 144 and under is regulated. The other night he did a fairly large pee and I wasn't fast enough to grab the ketostix.
If you look at Corky’s spreadsheet, anyone may think he’s on remission, but is not so, Corky will be a lifetime diabetic, but he is regulated that is what is important to me. A non diabetic cats BG is normally in the range of 50-and vent all you want, that’s what we are here for, we all do, There has been times that I have been post in and couldn’t even see the laptop screen from crying so much, we all have been in your shoes, even after 3 years, if something goes wrong I want to kick myself I’ve felt inadequate that I’m not good enough to do what’s right for my precious Corky, sobYRS! Vent, post you fingertips away, we are always here for you🥰
 
Last edited:
If you look at Corky’s spreadsheet, anyone may think he’s on remission, but is not so, Corky will be a lifetime diabetic, but he is regulated that is what is important to me. A non diabetic cats BG is normally in the range of 50-and vent all you want, that’s what we are here for, we all do, There has been times that I have been post in and couldn’t even see the laptop screen from crying so much, we all have been in your shoes, even after 3 years, if something goes wrong I want to kick myself I’ve felt inadequate that I’m not good enough to do what’s right for my precious Corky, sobYRS! Vent, post you fingertips away, we are always here for you🥰
Your spreadsheet is sooooo beautiful all those blues and greens!!!!! How do you have such a cooperative cat for testing? Bee pretty easy going but it takes a lot of coaxing and assistant for me. No I definitely feel that especially when we were in the transitioning period of switching food and he had the worst poops/diarrhea to losing sleep over his insulin timing/testing. The forum is so lovely and a wealth of knowledge!
 
Thank you for Corky’s compliment, he is very cooperative 2025 SS is almost green except in the mornings which is expected since is past the
IMG_4159.jpeg
12 hours, I always test a few minutes before AMPS/PMPS and at that time his right next to me I have all the supplies on top of the living room table, this way I don’t make a fuzz he got used to seeing them there I pet him for a minute while I put the supplies in front of him, he knows it’s time, look, so you’ll know, we all make mistakes, I am almost positive I’m almost sure I just gave Corky a fur shot, I shoot as he’s eating, just go right behind him pull up the scruff and VOALA! I felt the fur wet, but I but after the next two tests I won’t know for sure for sure, but when that happens if all the insulin did not go in and I start to see more than 1 blue number I want kick myself and feel guilty all day long. And if that ever happens to you do not re shoot the dose, there’s always a likely possibility that some insulin went in, and we don’t want to create hypoglycemia, so is best to wait till next shot, but right now I’m miserable till then, we all have felt inadequate at one point or another in this journey, but I can tell you that since I’m in this forum is close to none, I trust them blindly, I personally, have not taken Corky to the vet since I’m here that’s going on 3 years in January, he only goes once a year to get his rabies because my is mandatory in our Condo, I handle his diabetes thru here, unless of course another issue pops up but that has been once , Vets are have good intentions, but not all are as familiar t to FD as this forum is and as updated, you’re doing great and pretty soon you will both feel at ease about testing, it take a couple of weeks
 
Thank you for Corky’s compliment, he is very cooperative 2025 SS is almost green except in the mornings which is expected since is past theView attachment 75336 12 hours, I always test a few minutes before AMPS/PMPS and at that time his right next to me I have all the supplies on top of the living room table, this way I don’t make a fuzz he got used to seeing them there I pet him for a minute while I put the supplies in front of him, he knows it’s time, look, so you’ll know, we all make mistakes, I am almost positive I’m almost sure I just gave Corky a fur shot, I shoot as he’s eating, just go right behind him pull up the scruff and VOALA! I felt the fur wet, but I but after the next two tests I won’t know for sure for sure, but when that happens if all the insulin did not go in and I start to see more than 1 blue number I want kick myself and feel guilty all day long. And if that ever happens to you do not re shoot the dose, there’s always a likely possibility that some insulin went in, and we don’t want to create hypoglycemia, so is best to wait till next shot, but right now I’m miserable till then, we all have felt inadequate at one point or another in this journey, but I can tell you that since I’m in this forum is close to none, I trust them blindly, I personally, have not taken Corky to the vet since I’m here that’s going on 3 years in January, he only goes once a year to get his rabies because my is mandatory in our Condo, I handle his diabetes thru here, unless of course another issue pops up but that has been once , Vets are have good intentions, but not all are as familiar t to FD as this forum is and as updated, you’re doing great and pretty soon you will both feel at ease about testing, it take a couple of weeks
I love that we all generally have the same feelings and are able to give to each other grace but is so hard on ourselves when we make a slight mistake.

That's essentially where I'm heading with my vet, in generally I love the team but there's one receptionist who tries to control what I do with Bumble Bee/always tries to control my appointments with him/don't let the other receptionist help.

How do you get his insulin? My vet wouldn't even do bloodwork for another cat they had seen six month prior stating that they haven't seen her in a while and can't do blood work without an exam/provide gabapentin
 
Last edited:
I get ProZinc from CHEWY.COM, cheaper than the vet and shipped in 24 hours in a refrigerated box, your vet needs to email the script to them
 
I get ProZinc from CHEWY.COM, cheaper than the vet and shipped in 24 hours in a refrigerated box, your vet needs to email the script to them
I'm not based in the US but I'll take a look, my vet doesn't want to give a refill of insulin or needles yet as they want me to monitor him without insulin and send them more at home blood glucose monitoring for two weeks, I let them know I'm worried about running low and then having to wait longer to be able to give him his insulin if he does get really high numbers
I wonder if FDMB's affiliate link for Chewy will work on prescription items from Chewy's pharmacy 🤔 @Tim & Pookey

If not, use the affiliate link for all your Chewy purchases 😀 And Amazon purchases too Shopping Partners
Thank you squeem3!! Definitely will use this for their holiday shopping supplies/gifts for my friends fur babies
 
Last edited:
Back
Top