Insulin change-Vetsulin to ProZinc- Help!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

lulumupaka

Member Since 2010
I have two cats that are diabetic, Charlie is regulated on ProZinc and Peanut is regulated on Vetsulin which is no longer available. I can not afford to take Peanut to my vet to have him regulated on a new insulin. I am going to try and regulate him at home on ProZinc and need suggestions on how to do this. Peanut has been on insulin for 5+ years, he started on PZI, when that was no longer available we switched to Vetsulin. Peanuts Vetsulin dose was 5 units every 12 hours. Should I start Peanut on 5 units ProZinc every 12 hours or should I decrease the dosage? I have a blood glucose monitor. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Karen
 
Of course you can change Peanut's insulin to ProZinc without having to go to the vet since you have the insulin and you home test. People usually start on one unit bid. I would be hesitant o start at five units of Prozinc. You are really giving Peanut five units of Vetsulin (five unit markings on a U40 syringe or 12 1/2 units markings on a U100 syringe. If so and if Peanut was my cat I would start on two units bid to be safe.
 
All most all of us here test before every shot and periodically do curves. A curve is when you take BGs every two hours to see what is happening between shots. You do not want BG to go below about 80 or so. With ProZinc the low BG is usually 5-7 hours after a shot. However, it could be earlier or later since each cat is different. With Vetsulin the time is probably shorter. You take a BG before each shot since sometimes, for no obvious reason, you get a low BG an either give a reduced dose or no dose at all. I personally have measured below 60 with my Bailey and did not give a shot that time.

Since it appears that you are not realy home testing, starting Peanut on two units of ProZinc would only be appropriate if the BG before a shot was above say 250 or 300. It is usually bette to have a high BG than going too low since going too low can induce a coma with sometimes bad consequences.
 
Thank you for your reply, it was very informative. When Peanut was diagnosed 5+ years ago I did BGs before every shot and periodic curves. However, the last couple of years, due to finances, I had to stop. I have 9 pets in all; 3 dogs- one with thyroid problem and allergies, and one with Cushings disease and 6 cats- all in their " senior" years. So, pet expenses are escalating.

How soon would you increase the insulin dose if his BGs are high? Would you increase amount by .5 units or more?

Thanks,
Karen
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top