Insulin 595 last night and 64 this morning?

Mewmewkit

Member Since 2021
Hello,
I have been getting some crazy readings lately. Last night +11 was 595, this morning +11 was 64 before her injection. This was the first low reading I have had on days. We had been getting low readings in the past but the recently they started becoming high again. At 64 do we lower her injection from 3 to 2?
 
Hi!

Is the 64 on a human meter or a pet meter? When did she last eat? Did you feed when you got the 64?

it is very difficult for us to give dosing advice based on 1 cycle. We are very data driven here and that's why we ask our members to set up a spreadsheet - so we can look at trends across days. I can set up the spreadsheet for you. Won't take me a minute.

We increase and decrease doses in multiples of 0.25U. A 1U increase or decrease may be too much.

The food that you are feeding is high carb. Changing to a low carb food could help bring down her numbers significantly, but you want to do it gradually while carefully monitoring her BG during the transition. We have had cats go off insulin from a change to a low carb diet.

Link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/cats-insulin-levels-are-not-going-down.246876/
 
Hi,
Do you have a spreadsheet? Without one it is almost impossible to help you with dosing advice. We need to see the data before we can safely give advice?

HERE is the link to how to set up a spreadsheet. If you need help we can help you.

Are you still feeding the Hills MD dry food? As that is high carb and not suitable for diabetic cats.
However before changing to a low carb diet, you need to be home testing and monitoring closely as the BGs can drop up to 100 points.

What type of meter are you using ?
With a high of 595 and a low of 64 I would say your kitty is bouncing. did you give some food with the 64?
It would help us greatly if you could set up the SS so we could see some data.
We also reduce and increase the dose in 1/4 unit increments so as not to go past the best dose.
Are you using syringes or a pen?
 
I’m going to sound like a broken record but we really need to see a spreadsheet. Also we have a format for topics to be consistent and make sure help goes to those who need it quickly.
7/4 Cat’s Name AMPS 64 was 595 last night
 
Last edited:
Back
Top