Insulin 2.5 hours early?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey everyone! I am going out tonight and my backup can't come over to give the insulin shot (if I had know that this morning I would have given her the shot earlier in the morning to help compensate). What is my better option?

1) Give her insulin shot at 6pm as long as her BG is over 200 and rising?
2) Give her the insulin shot when I get home around 11pm (then adjust her next few shot times to get her back on the 830 schedule).
3) Skip her shot and resume her normal shot time tomorrow morning?

Thanks!
 
JennyBankers said:
Hey everyone! I am going out tonight and my backup can't come over to give the insulin shot (if I had know that this morning I would have given her the shot earlier in the morning to help compensate). What is my better option?

1) Give her insulin shot at 6pm as long as her BG is over 200 and rising?
2) Give her the insulin shot when I get home around 11pm (then adjust her next few shot times to get her back on the 830 schedule).
3) Skip her shot and resume her normal shot time tomorrow morning?

Thanks!

Hi Jenny,

I don't think #1. I think her numbers have been dipping low and not consistent enough to be sure about.
#2 Certainly a possibility. Will it work to adjust her shot times? Could you get some preshot numbers tomorrow am? That might help fill in her picture…..
#3 Also a possibility. It might be a clue about those high amps numbers….

It's just data and the more you collect, the more you learn.
 
#2 Yes, I should be able to adjust her shot times back in 30-45 minute intervals over the next day or two. Yes, I could also get some pre-shot numbers in the AM. I am usually up around 7-8am on Saturdays, so I could get a +10, +11 number plus make sure she doesn't eat 2 hours before her pre-shot test.

The vet wants me to do a BG curve at home on Monday, I also worry about messing with her shot times because I don't want it skewing the results, but she should be back on her 830 schedule by Sunday night.

#3 I've wondered lately if it is due to when she is eating throughout the night/day. This concern should be solved once I get the PetSafe Feeder - I will know for sure those numbers aren't food induced since I plan to give her an empty slot at +10. cat(2)_steam I feel like her numbers are all over the board, and I can't get a good AMPS with a good PMPS.
 
I agree 2 or 3 are best options. I might go 2 in hopes of getting newish data to see where she goes. That's just my thought though.
 
I'm liking Marbles' numbers this morning guys! I'm going to try to get some mid cycle numbers today especially since she was right over the 200 mark at shot time.
 
When you have time to anticipate adjusting a schedule for ProZinc or PZI type insulins, you can reduce an earlier shot, so you can give a token shot (like maybe 1/4 to 1/3 the regular dose) before you leave for the event, then evaluate when you return if you need to add a slight token to cover until you resume your schedule. the next day. Obviously, you have to have some data on how your cat reacts to the insulin, including mid-cycle tests, in order to be safe to do this
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top