Input Please 1.5 dose working???

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovey11

Member Since 2013
When using 1.5 and a little smaller doses, I did get reading in the 100's midcycle for the past 3 or 4 weeks. Now, I seem to be getting reading in the 200's with the same dose?


I may have given a fur shot on two occasions in between so could that have set me back. I got worried when I saw the high numbers so I went to the vet to have the tech show me shot procedure again just in case this was a factor.

Could feeding the cat at +2 or +4 affect the results. Although I fed the cat at +4 on August 22 and got a reading of 127 at 5 hours 45 minutes. and then on

August 24, I got a reading of 167 at 5 hours and 35 minutes and the BG may have been still lowering.

When I called the vet a sub vet on Monday, mine is on vacation for 3 weeks, he said give it a week and then get some readings.
 
Hi Catherine, I was looking for you on PZI. :-D You get nice numbers every other cycle or so. That could suggest bouncing. Before you raise the dose a smidgen, I'd get a curve (numbers every 2-3 hours) to see if there is a low number to bounce from. If not, you might raise by .25 on a day when you can sure monitor. The days you get good numbers, they are in a nice range.

Anytime you feed, you probably will get a higher number for an hour or so after, but it's still nice to give small frequent meals. What's the carb count of the food you are feeding?
 
Hi, Sue. I am back to using the u-40 needles since I thought I was giving fur shots with the different feel of U-100 needles.

So maybe there is a very low number before 5 or 6 hours that causes the bounce at 1.5. My cat's Bg might be too low like under 100 or 80 and then bounces around?

Would you suggest I try the curve on the 1.5 dose? Do you think the 1.5 is too much possibly? My vet suggested trying it for 1- 2 weeks after I shared my numbers with him.


I could try a curve tonight. My cat doesn't like the paw pricks and gets very nervous so I was trying to cut back a little just for a few days.
 
My food is fancy feast chunky chicken feast. It is 4 or 5 percent carbs. I also use weruva paw licken chicken which is less than that.
 
Sue, I start work in about a week. Should I go back to about 1.33? Is my cat Ok with those numbers or should I try higher whenever I can monitor. I am off 2 days next week for Jewish holidays and weekends.
 
I would say that 1 1/2 is not working well. You have two choices, increase dose if he needs more insulin and less if 1 1/2 is too much. For some of my cats I experienced a similar response as you are showing. Initially you showed good response on lower does. In my case the correct solution was to increase the dose.
If you are going to decrease the dose I would go to 1.2 units since with 1.33 it will be harder to tell if a decrease is the right direction.
 
Thank you for all your help. I don't know which way to go. I got freaked out that I might be giving fur shots so I am back to my U-40 needle. I can give an approx. 1.25 or approx. 1.5. I was trying do about third.

Do you think a curve on 1.5 would help to know which way to go?
 
Based on your past BGs I do not think a curve at 1 1/2 will help. If you decide on an increase I would make sure that you can do some BGs between shots.
 
lovey11 said:
... I am back to my U-40 needle. I can give an approx. 1.25 or approx. 1.5. I was trying do about third....

Here's a way to make a reference gauge for your U-40 syringes.

Alternatively, use a sturdy ruler with millimeter markings and determine how many mm there are in 1 unit, aligning the ruler edge with the syringe bottom. Then you can go by how many mm tick marks you want to shoot.
 
thanks I didn't get a chance to make the cardboard yet. What do you think of my numbers with 1.5? My cat seems more tired than usual, but sometimes she is. do you think I should try a curve on this dose?


I have used this dose before and it has given low preshots on occasion or worked pretty well? I don't know?
 
lovey11 said:
When I used 1.75 for 3 cycles in a row about a month ago, Lovey went really low one day.

I have had two cats that got very good BG response at first then poor response with same dose. I had to then increase the dose. Maybe your cat is experiencing the same.
 
Larry
I tried slightly lower than 1.5 last night and got better readings. Thanks you for all your responses last night.
 
Hi Larry,

Lovey eats about one half to three quarters of a 3 ounce can of fancy feast 15 minutes before shots.
I also feed her two other smaller meals, but I don't always feed at the same tim Should I feed always at same times? I usually feed at least once before nadir or sometimes twice. (2 - 3 teaspoons) I ordered a timed feeder since I won't be home during the week. I will leave after giving shot and return about 8 or 9 hours later. Someone suggested to feed at +2 and +4 a light snack.
I don't feed at least 2 hours before next shoot and I am trying to not feed at 3 or 4 hours before next shot since insulin is wearing off.
 
Ok, thanks Larry. Would do you think would be a good feeding schedule to help prevent hypolgemia and for a diabetic cat in general?
 
You can give one or two small mean between the two main meals. Just be consistent. Some say that even out the BG better than just two meals.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top