Input from Last Night's Readings for 1.5 dose?Dose Advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovey11

Member Since 2013
Hi, I was able to get a few numbers this evening on a 1.5 dose.


Unfortunately, I missed the nadir. I fell asleep. I wanted to try to rule out bounce. Maybe if I get a better preshot, the numbers would be a little better.


Preshot 394

+3 hr 10 min 273


+ 4 hours 40 minutes 219

+ 7 237

Just did preshot?

Preshot 488

May have been stressed influenced. Tried to poke cat two times and could not get enough blood and then went back again after 10 minutes. although I did get these high preshots when moved to this dose last time for the first 3 readings. Maybe I need to see more numbers later in the cycle? could the numbers gone lower later? I gave shy 1.5??? I should have given 1.5 again
 
Re: Input from Last Night's Readings for 1.5 dose?Dose Advic

I myself would go for an increase to about 1 3/4 units if you get a similar (high 300's or above) PMPS
 
Re: Input from Last Night's Readings for 1.5 dose?Dose Advic

Ok Larry, maybe there isn't enough insulin to bring the Bg down from that high point. Thanks Larry. I will try that will a really high Preshot next
 
Re: Input from Last Night's Readings for 1.5 dose?Dose Advic

You're testing and experimenting here to see how the Prozinc works for your cat. With Prozinc, that is often what you have to do, that trying different doses at different pre-shot numbers. What you are doing, is gradually working up a sliding scale to use.

Keep it up and you'll get a better idea of the doses your cat needs at different pre-shots.
 
Re: Input from Last Night's Readings for 1.5 dose?Dose Advic

Thanks Deb,

I wanted to find a consistent dose because my vet and some others mentioned that cats like to settle into a dose.
My vet (sub vet, my vet is on vacation) said that I should not vary because my cat will crash, but maybe in my case at this time a sliding scale might be needed.


I think Prozinc can be handled that way.
 
Re: Input from Last Night's Readings for 1.5 dose?Dose Advic

Prozinc can be dosed with a sliding scale. Or it can be held to a consistent dose.

Some of the people that mentioned holding a consistent dose, may have been thinking about using Lantus or Levimir, where a consistent dose for 3 days is the norm. Prozinc can be used a bit differently.

It's really your choice. There is no set protocol for dosing Prozinc like there is for Lantus. Each caregiver has to come up with a method for their individual cat. Since you are home testing, that opens up the possibility of doing the sliding scale for your cat Lovey.

If you were not home testing, then your vet is right on the consistent dose being better, to keep your cat from going too low.
 
Re: Input from Last Night's Readings for 1.5 dose?Dose Advic

Deb, I did do kind of a sliding scale after my cat went too low day on prescribed dose.

I haven't used 1.75 in awhile. It did well with a high preshot though, hour 6 was 127. What would be a good time

to check in on the dose? Hour 4 or hour 5 you think?
 
Re: Input from Last Night's Readings for 1.5 dose?Dose Advic

I see no reason for another BG before the PMPS. The does would depend upon the PS. It may be good and relatively low (compared with AMPS) and thus 1.75 might not be advisable.
 
Re: Input from Last Night's Readings for 1.5 dose?Dose Advic

We always like to see a +2 or +3...this reading can give you a lot of insight into how active the cycle is going to be. If the number is the same or close to the PS reading, you can "expect" a quiet cycle. If the number is a lot lower, you can expect an "active" cycle..and will want to test more.

I know Pro Zinc nadir's a little different than Lantus does...A +5 or +6 would be a good test to get, but don't ONLY do the same tests every day. Nadir's can jump around, and to see the true picture of how our cats are responding, spot checks at different times will give you a more complete picture.

If you can, at least once/week do a curve...a true curve is every 2 hours through one entire cycle. A mini-curve is every 3 hours through an entire cycle. Then get spot checks when it's convenient for you to get them the rest of the time.
 
Re: Input from Last Night's Readings for 1.5 dose?Dose Advic

Hi, Larry,

I wasn't clear in my post. I meant if I use the 1.75. When would be a good time to check on it? I think I might try to learn a little about the

ear testing. My cat is not liking the paw testing.
 
Re: Input from Last Night's Readings for 1.5 dose?Dose Advic

Bribery, we highly recommend bribery with a treat to get your cat to accept the pokies.

If you are high enough to give a 1.75U dose, I think a +2 test is a good start. Next test depends on how much of a drop that +2 is.

Are you trying to practice the ear poking?
 
Re: Input from Last Night's Readings for 1.5 dose?Dose Advic

I was touching my cat's ear today as a first step because I was thinking about it. As soon as I can, I will read and watch a video. I not sure how. I was thinking of finding a vet tech that may be able to show me. My vet doesn't do it. I couldn't find the spot when I looked with a flashlight. do you do the poke free handed or do you have a lancet device. do you need very firm pressure.

Chris sent me some information about warming up a sock filled with rice to help the ear bleed.

thanks Deb for your help
 
Re: Input from Last Night's Readings for 1.5 dose?Dose Advic

Some people like using the lancet devices, some just freehand with the lancet. It's something you have to work out yourself and see which works best for you. I started using the device, but recently got some lancets that didn't fit it so started freehand. I wish I'd started freehanding a lot sooner! Seems easier on me.

Gather all your supplies and put them near where you want to test. (you want everything handy in case things work great...you don't want kitty laying like a rock, mesmorized by your ear rub and then have to go fiddle with the equipment. Have a strip out and partially pushed into the meter. Have your lancet where you can get it, and a piece of cotton to hold against the poke if you are able to get blood to stop the bleeding.

Decide where you want to test...a counter, a pillow on the floor, your bed?..anywhere you'll both be comfortable. Bring kitty to that same spot several times/day and just rub, twist, and generally "Play" with his ears. Note if one side is hairier than the other. As soon as kitty becomes uncomfortable, stop, pet and give him a yummy treat (boiled chicken works for most of us...or freeze dried chicken) and let him go.

As kitty gets used to this special place, he'll usually start to come when called...after all, at the end, he's going to get a yummy treat!!

If he's doing fine on any of these steps and you want to try to poke, get a small sock and put a little rice in it..microwave for 20-30 seconds and test it against the inside of your wrist, like you would a baby bottle. Another option I really liked was a small pill bottle with warm water in it. Not only did it help warm the ear, it gave me a hard surface to "poke against". If you don't see a drop forming on your first poke, try quickly poking as close to the first poke as you can. Lots of times 2 little pokes, close together will run together into a "pool" that will give you enough blood to test.
If still no joy, poke one more time, but after that, if you're not successful, take a break...but always give the yummy treat!! Whether you get blood or not!

Try again in 15-20 minutes.

Here's where you're aiming for...the "sweet spot"
file.php


Here's a video that might help too and although they use the AlphaTrak here, they even say you can use a human meter! [youtube]3zssnJocMrI[/youtube]
 
Re: Input from Last Night's Readings for 1.5 dose?Dose Advic

Hi, Chris.

Thanks for the video. I just watched it. I have the same lancets as pictured. They are 28 guage and are alpha trak lancets. With the paws, you need to

put a lot of pressure to get a drop of blood. Do you need to exert a lot of pressure for the ear? It didn't look like it in this video.

Thank you, Catherine
 
Re: Input from Last Night's Readings for 1.5 dose?Dose Advic

when you first start to use the ear, it's pretty much just a trial and error thing. Depends a lot on the individual ear. Some cats are just better bleeders than others, but after the ears get more used to it, they do "learn to bleed" and the whole thing gets a lot easier

you'll probably find one ear will bleed better than the other after you've been doing it a few times. It's fine to re-use the same ear as long as it doesn't start to get real bruised or sore looking

If you prick 3 times without getting a drop big enough to test, give a low carb treat and take a break if kitty is getting fed up with the attempts. Try again in 15 minutes or so.

I watched hours of videos when we first started this dance. All the cats just layed there like such perfect statues! I had to start thinking they had to have been drugged but of course, they hadn't. Now that I'm more comfortable with it, and China knows she's going to get her treat, she's just as good as those "statue" cats in the videos....LOL
 
Re: Input from Last Night's Readings for 1.5 dose?Dose Advic

The ear takes very little pressure compared to the paw. You may in fact go all the way through the ear. Happens to all of us. It will heal just fine and not leave a permanent hole in the ear.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top