Riddler
Member Since 2016
Just started giving Brutus, my 10 year old male domestic short hair, Lantus in 2.5 unit doses (2x daily). Pre-treatment his BG (measured with an Alphatrak) bounced around between 330-400. He was 359 before the first shot, 277 nine hours later, when I administered the second shot (I did a short shot in order to get on a realistic schedule the next day), and 111 four hours after that (I checked because I wanted to make sure that nothing went wrong with the 3 hour overlap with the first shot). However, BG since then at the next two 12 hour shot times has been 387 and 431 respectively. He is a big cat (20 pds before the condition developed, 15.5 now). One last fact, for the last two shots, Brutus was moved to a new house (where we can treat him more reliably), so I wonder if stress has been a factor with the last two shots.
Anyway, I will speak to his vet later today, but I am assuming that we know enough now to increase his dose to 3.0 units, with suitable monitoring. Also, could he have something else going on that would make him particularly resistant to Lantus, or insulin in general? Is there a good chance that maintaining the same dosage will bring his numbers down significantly in time, either because of some accumulative effective that takes several days, or for some other reason? He been distinctly low energy and low appetitite for about 4 weeks (the period over which he lost the weight), so I am anxious to get him some relief (and hopefully see his normal, occasional burst of energy again).
Anyway, I will speak to his vet later today, but I am assuming that we know enough now to increase his dose to 3.0 units, with suitable monitoring. Also, could he have something else going on that would make him particularly resistant to Lantus, or insulin in general? Is there a good chance that maintaining the same dosage will bring his numbers down significantly in time, either because of some accumulative effective that takes several days, or for some other reason? He been distinctly low energy and low appetitite for about 4 weeks (the period over which he lost the weight), so I am anxious to get him some relief (and hopefully see his normal, occasional burst of energy again).