Info on tid?

Status
Not open for further replies.

bookw0rm

Member Since 2011
If Cass keeps doing these fast early drops I may consider switching to a tid schedule. I know there are a couple people here who do it. What can you tell me about dosing tid? Do you use a low dose since it's more often? Any/all advice welcome.
 
Lisa,
I think that at the start of TID, you take his current total daily dosage and divide by 3 to set the starting dose. However, there are a couple of people here who have been doing TID for quite some time, and they can tell you a lot more than I can. The way Bob responded to PZI, usually reaching nadir at +4 or +5, he probably would have made a good candidate for TID, but I wasn't here then to know to try it.

Carl
 
The rules I learned are that you never shoot before +6 if you are doing early shooting, and you always test for a rising number before shooting. So if you have a mid-cycle number (not counting super-early in the cycle) and the +8 PS is higher, then you have a rising number and are good to go. If you don't have a midcycle test though, then you need to do 2 tests about 10 minutes apart to be sure the number is rising before shooting.
 
After the curve I got today I'm seriously considering trying it. I shot at +10 tonight because he was back up where he started and I didn't want him going too high. His +5 tonight was good, too. I even figured out how to get him at a good 8-hour time by Tues. morning. I'm trying to decide whether to back off to .4 or .5 if I go less time between shots. .4 is the same daily dose but it's a big drop in magnitude per shot. .5 reflects a daily increase of .3, but the vet wanted me to go to .7 bid, and that's close.

I guess I'll see where he is tonight.
 
This is my forth attempt at responding......my post keeps being deleted.....

So, short and quick....I dose Kitty tid. It has been great for us. Her bid and tid SS are attached. Kitty has had flat curves on tid--but, I attribute that to a more consistent supply of insulin.

I am scared I am going to lose this post....so, I will respond again later. Do you have any specific questions?

I see you shot early last night and it appears you are comfortable with tid.
 
The main question is dosing. Split the current dose in third? Or, back off just a hair, which would be an.over all increase?

Thanks for trying so hard to reply; I was wondering why no one said much.
 
Initially Yes, I split the dose in thirds. Kitty is not insulin sensitive at all----and duration was her problem. So, I actually now have increased a little as I couldn't tell we got any overlap between doses. That being said--Wendy always said she noticed a need for less insulin with Shaikha when she went tid. But, Shaikha is a lot more insulin sensitive than Kitty.

You might try backing down a little and then just work your way up to a comfortable dose. TID has been great for Kitty.

I tested a lot when we first went tid to try and get a true feeling for Kitty's response---now, I just test preshots and occasional mid cycles.

Please let me know if I can help!
 
Just to be sure we are on the same page...Kitty was getting anywhere from 4 to 5 units bid when we switched to tid.

When we started tid--we began at 3units---I have gone up as high as 3.9--but, now we are at 3.5 and are having good results.

Just start low and work up.
 
I'm experimenting since I'm home this long weekend. Cass apoears to be pretty insulin sensitive-he gets a good drop on .6u, but I can't get his ps numbers down (400-600). Right now I'm giving .4u at 9 hr intervals because that will let me shift to 8 hrs by Tues when I have to be back at work. Given that I have night classes and late meetings several times a week, tid is easier for us since he won't be getting off schedule so much.

We've only done .4 twice but I like the numbers.better. 403 amps, +5 225, 284 mdps.

Is there a tid ss template, or did you.make your own?
 
Wendy sent me a template--I am getting ready to leave and will be in the car for about 3 hours----I will send you the template later.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top