Increasing Lantus dosage not seeing results

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linds2225

Member Since 2014
My cat was diagnosed with diabetes a little over a month ago, we first started him off with one unit of humulin and then switched to Lantus pen because it's a better insulin for cats. We had him on one unit of Lantus for a week and a half, took him in for a glucose curve and his numbers were still in the 300's. So my vet upped his insulin intake to 2 units. We have had him on two units for 3 days now and I have been checking his numbers at home and they are still in the 300's. Does anyone know if I should be seeing better numbers right away after increasing his dosage or whether it takes some time to see a difference?
 
Lantus is depot insulin, so you do NOT see immediate effects of dose adjustments. The effects build up over 3-5 days once you're using it.

Also, it will help us give you feedback if your put a few more details in your signature and profile, and help your interaction with the board if you fill out preferences, as follows:

Editing your Profile and Signature
In the upper right corner of the screen, within the dark blue bar, you will see ID, Inbox, and Alerts

Click on your ID.


On the left, under Settings, Personal Details:
If there is a small image you would like to use as an Avatar, click on the Avatar box.
The picture should be at least 200*200 pixels.

Indicate gender, if you wish it to be known.
Optionally fill in your birth date; you can check if you want it to show year or not.

Fill in as much location as you would like known.
Fill in Occupation if you would like it known.
If you have a home web page, you may enter that.
You may indicate when your joined FDMB.

In About You, fill in any details you would like to share.
Click the Save Changes button at the bottom.

On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature.
This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
Add any other text, such as
your name,
cat's name,
date of Dx (diagnosis)
insulin
meter
any other pertinent issues like if there are any food issues, history of DKA, hepatic lipidosis, pancreatitis, allergies, IBD, etc.
Click the Save Changes button at the bottom.

On the left, under Settings, Click on Contact Details.
This section lets you customize what communications you receive.
Adjust those you wish to alter.
Click the Save Changes button at the bottom.

Continue through the section list of
Privacy
Preferences
Alert Preferences
People You Follow
People You Ignore
Password

Always click the Save Changes button at the bottom when you have changed anything.
 
Welcome Lindsay and Doobie,

I would recommend reading the sticky's at the top over at http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-glargine-levemir-detemir.9/

that will help you understand more about the depot. You'll soon be teaching your vet as so many aren't very experienced with lantus.
We generally increase in 1/4 or 1/2 unit increments, but you are where you are.

Could you share your bg test numbers.
We speak in preshot and +1, +2 up to +12 which is the preshot again.
cycles are am cycle and pm cycle.

The dosing with lantus is determined by the lowest number each cycle, not by the high numbers.
We will be able to help more with some of that data.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top