Increase Units from 1.5-2?? Need advice :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fritz's Mom

Member
I think I have managed to properly attach Fritz's spreadsheet. So from 01/24/02/02, he was on Noroclav 2xdaily for teeth.

I know the numbers are all over. What should I do?

BTW, his is on Caninsulin.
 
Very few of us use or used Canninsulin. I never used it but have helped others who did.

Spreadsheet: Any idea what was different about 1/28 and 2/6? You got decent pmps numbers that day instead of the usual Canninsulin jump back up. (if you know, you might be able to reproduce it?)

Generally his numbers are better than most Canninsulin kitties. It seems to be lasting longer than expected and there are some decent preshot numbers scattered in there. But you are right, he is all over the place, which is not uncommon with Canninsulin.

Assume you are feeding wet lo carb food?

It looks like you are around to monitor during the cycle. If so, I would think an increase would be okay. The lowest nadir you have had is 94 which is still very safe. I am cautious and like to increase by .25, rather than .5 (So to 1.75) Is that possible with your needles?
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Very few of us use or used Canninsulin. I never used it but have helped others who did.

Spreadsheet: Any idea what was different about 1/28 and 2/6? You got decent pmps numbers that day instead of the usual Canninsulin jump back up. (if you know, you might be able to reproduce it?)

Generally his numbers are better than most Canninsulin kitties. It seems to be lasting longer than expected and there are some decent preshot numbers scattered in there. But you are right, he is all over the place, which is not uncommon with Canninsulin.

Assume you are feeding wet lo carb food?

It looks like you are around to monitor during the cycle. If so, I would think an increase would be okay. The lowest nadir you have had is 94 which is still very safe. I am cautious and like to increase by .25, rather than .5 (So to 1.75) Is that possible with your needles?
There was nothing different. I feed him 1 can of Purina Friskies (Turkey & Cheese Dinner in gravy) 2 times daily 156g/can.
I only have u40 needles.
I've been eyeballing it. I am used to the needles as I have been injecting him for 8 years.
I am fortunate enough to be able to work from home and only have to run into the office for short periods at a time.
I know it is not the best choice of food, but he loves it. Any other brands you recommend that are going to be just as tasty? Not implying that you have ever ate cat food!! LOL
 
Yes, the gravy kinds have more carbs, and carbs can make a big difference. Have you tried the pate flavors (Friskies or Fancy Feast), chopped up a little and add some warm water. It looks a little like gravy. I don't know if we have given you the food charts: http://binkyspage.tripod.com/CanFoodNew.html As you can see, Friskies with Gravy is in the 12-16% range.

Some people who use the U40 needles have a sample syringe - with a place they have decided is 1.75. They use a marker or piece of tape and then use that syringe as a guide when they are dosing. Since you are usually around an increase to 2 might be okay, but you wouldn't want those yellow preshots to go down very much.....

If I were you, I would be tempted to work with the food to get down below 8% and see what difference that makes?
 
Thanks for the advice!! I will try and see what I can find out on that link you attached.

I let you know how it goes.

Thank you for your help!!
 
How often do you feed him? I found Akbah responded to more frequent meals a day. I put him on 5 meals a day (8am, noon, 4pm, 8pm, and before bed) and found he needed less insulin. I hear it doesn't work for every cat but it could be worth a try since you are at home anyway?
These days I give them 6 meals a day. (They love it)
I add plenty of water so they have delicious ( :? ) warm catsoup and their bellies feel full, but its actually the same amount of food, spread over smaller portions.
 
akbahsMum said:
How often do you feed him? I found Akbah responded to more frequent meals a day. I put him on 5 meals a day (8am, noon, 4pm, 8pm, and before bed) and found he needed less insulin. I hear it doesn't work for every cat but it could be worth a try since you are at home anyway?
These days I give them 6 meals a day. (They love it)
I add plenty of water so they have delicious ( :? ) warm catsoup and their bellies feel full, but its actually the same amount of food, spread over smaller portions.
Hi There,

I feed him 2x daily/ 12 hours apart. He gets 1/156g can in the morning and at night. Since he has been diabetic for eight years, I have all my cats on this schedule. I created a spreadsheet for him, and those numbers are all based on this feeding schedule. I was so uneducated about his diabetes. I took my vets word as gospel, until things went horribly wrong 2 1/2 weeks ago. All of his doses were based on a 2x yearly fructosamine test. Based on his last test, they had me up him to 10 units 1x daily. I was never informed about home testing or carbs/calories in food. (Until FDMB and all the amazing people here saved his life) What I think happened is this, I switched his long time food (Wiskas dry Meaty Selection) which he has ate for 15 years and started giving him 2/3 cup dry in the morning and a partial can of Friskies at night with his injection. I can't always be around during the day to be consistent with a scattered meal plan. I am starting to see a bit more consistency with his numbers. What I am wondering is this: 1) do I try and increase his units by .50 or 2) try a lower carb option and decrease dosing back to 1u 2x daily and start over??

On a side note, he has never looked better!! His eyed are way less glazed and as I like to call it "Zombie like". His fur is gorgeous and he seems to have put some beef on. He had went from 12lbs in 2010 to 9.5lbs 2 weeks ago. Everything about him seems so different. He is so rejuvinated!! Even after going through over 10 siezures in 5 hours and then 72 hours of a very slow recovery.

I am a super nervous mamma now. I am trying to calm myself down. I am like a newbie all over again. I would love to see his numbers lower, but am not sure what is the right way to proceed.

Any advice?

Jolene & Fritz aka Bubbas, Fritzie
 
Fritz's Mom said:
I feed him 2x daily/ 12 hours apart. He gets 1/156g can in the morning and at night. [...] What I think happened is this, I switched his long time food (Wiskas dry Meaty Selection) which he has ate for 15 years and started giving him 2/3 cup dry in the morning and a partial can of Friskies at night with his injection.

Just to clarify, are you giving him the dry still, or just the wet food morning and night? As you are home testing, if there is still dry food in his diet you could try putting him on all wet. I think your profile says you are in Canada .... now there is a non-USA Binky's list and I think they have Canadian options included, now where is that link...
http://binkyspage.tripod.com/nonusfd.html

On a side note, 10U x 1 is the whackiest dose I've heard of so far, not that I've heard of many for I must point out I'm a relative newbie with this business. But 10 u :shock:
Maybe it some some special kind of unit, or he's a massive cat... but 12lbs converts to only about 4.3kgs worth of cat...
Lovely to hear he's looking glossier instead of glassy eyed. We used to say that Akbah was 'flat'.
 
=On a side note, 10U x 1 is the whackiest dose I've heard of so far, not that I've heard of many for I must point out I'm a relative newbie with this business. But 10 u :shock:
Maybe it some some special kind of unit, or he's a massive cat... but 12lbs converts to only about 4.3kgs worth of cat...
Lovely to hear he's looking glossier instead of glassy eyed. We used to say that Akbah was 'flat'.[/quote]



I got rid of all the dry food in the house. He is on a wet only diet. I couldn't believe what i learned here about dry food. and nope it was 10 units from a u100 needle. From what I know now, whacky is not the only word I would use to describe that dosing!!!

EDIT: u40 sorry about that
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top