Increase this AM, not much happening

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bobbie And Bubba

Very Active Member
This AM I bumped up the dose from 2 to 2.5. and Bubba didn't even hit 50% of amps. Sigh, tonight we have a drop of 114 points at +3.25 so I am hopeful that he'll have some more action +4-+8 Tomorrow, I am contacting the vet to see about a dental cleaning to rule out that as a possible infection. He seems fine otherwise, the 4 P's, he's just stuck in pink Preshots and mid 200's during cycles. After three cycle should I continue with the .50 increase or .25?
 
Odd. Looking over the past several weeks, it seems that you got better numbers at lower doses. If you shrink your spreadsheet, you'll see what I mean in the colors.

Maybe snag some +10s and +11s to see if you're having a duration issue where it is wearing off too soon - that gives you higher pre-shot tests.
 
Odd. Looking over the past several weeks, it seems that you got better numbers at lower doses. If you shrink your spreadsheet, you'll see what I mean in the colors.

Maybe snag some +10s and +11s to see if you're having a duration issue where it is wearing off too soon - that gives you higher pre-shot tests.
I was starting to think lower numbers looked better too but then when I took him down to 1.6 on 8.23 for 3 cycles it didn't seem to budge him past the 200's so I took him back up. If it was a duration problem, what would I do about it, dose more frequently?
 
If testing shows a duration shorter than 12 hours, there are a few options:
A) Dosing every 8 hours (3 shots per day)
B) Switching to BCP PZI, Lantus or Levemir (2 shots per day)
C) Trying a split dose option where you test, feed, and shoot half the dose, then 2 hours later, give the 2nd half. (4 shots a day).
 
If testing shows a duration shorter than 12 hours, there are a few options:
A) Dosing every 8 hours (3 shots per day)
B) Switching to BCP PZI, Lantus or Levemir (2 shots per day)
C) Trying a split dose option where you test, feed, and shoot half the dose, then 2 hours later, give the 2nd half. (4 shots a day).
Thanks BJM, I will look into this option. Today's AMPS is lower, 318. I will see how 2.5 does after this dose as it is the 3rd cycle of this increase.
 
Hi, Bobbie - Was just looking @ today's comment in Bubba's SS - where did you get the info re: FF turkey feast is @ 1% carbs? (As I don't see that on Dr. Pierson's chart. Do you have a different food chart?)

Are you talking about the kitten formula "Tender Turkey Feast?" As Pierson's chart shows that one @ 4% carbs; the turkey w/giblets Classic (she has that one under "miscellaneous") is @ 4%, too (the one I use). I was just wondering, because if there's a FF formula that's at 1% carbs that isn't all fish, I'd sure like to try it!:)
 
Hi, Bobbie - Was just looking @ today's comment in Bubba's SS - where did you get the info re: FF turkey feast is @ 1% carbs? (As I don't see that on Dr. Pierson's chart. Do you have a different food chart?)

Are you talking about the kitten formula "Tender Turkey Feast?" As Pierson's chart shows that one @ 4% carbs; the turkey w/giblets Classic (she has that one under "miscellaneous") is @ 4%, too (the one I use). I was just wondering, because if there's a FF formula that's at 1% carbs that isn't all fish, I'd sure like to try it!:)
Hey Robin, I called the company and they told me FF Kitten Turkey Feast was 1%. I did notice that Pierson chart is different. Her chart is older and maybe they changed the formula? If you find out different, please let me know. Hoping they wouldn't lie to me. Peek at Bubba SS for tonight, his pre-shot is coming down, YEAH! At what lower number would I want to reduce the dose? I shot at 180 before with a smaller dose, think it was 1.8. Just in case in the AM he's lower yet and no one is around at 6Am EST. to advise me. How are you and BB doing?
 
Since you saw a nice yellow @ PMPS (a significant difference from this morning's pre-shot #), let's see how he's trending later tonight & we'll try to figure it out from there (I'm 3 hrs. behind you, so I'll be around.) Which hours are you planning on testing tonight? Give me your local time for the first one, so that I know when to be looking for your updates ...
 
What lovely blues and a yellow pmps. That's the direction we want, Bubba. Robin and I are both on the West Coast so give us a before bed number and maybe we can come up with an idea for you tomorrow am.
 
I'll be around tomorrow morning about 5:15 or so CT. I get up at 5 and after the cat feeding and coffee making, I hop on. So if something wonky happens and you need some help, I SHOULD be around. Just tag me if you need me...I tend to jump on, check for 911s and then start at the earliest post...but if you tag me, I'll usually look at that as soon as I've checked for 911s. This was probably way more info than you needed on my early morning habits....but I'm very tired tonight lol. I tend to ramble when that happens.

Anyway, I'm sure Sue and Robin will give you something good for tomorrow morning, but like I said, if you need anything, I'll be here a little after 6 your time. :)
 
Since you saw a nice yellow @ PMPS (a significant difference from this morning's pre-shot #), let's see how he's trending later tonight & we'll try to figure it out from there (I'm 3 hrs. behind you, so I'll be around.) Which hours are you planning on testing tonight? Give me your local time for the first one, so that I know when to be looking for your updates ...
I will test at 10 pm and around 1 -2 am EST. That is if my small game hunter comes squandering back. He darted out and I was just out to try to get him in to no avail. He did this to me last week and came waltzing home at exactly ten of ten when I needed to test. Hope he's back soon.
 
I'll be around tomorrow morning about 5:15 or so CT. I get up at 5 and after the cat feeding and coffee making, I hop on. So if something wonky happens and you need some help, I SHOULD be around. Just tag me if you need me...I tend to jump on, check for 911s and then start at the earliest post...but if you tag me, I'll usually look at that as soon as I've checked for 911s. This was probably way more info than you needed on my early morning habits....but I'm very tired tonight lol. I tend to ramble when that happens.

Anyway, I'm sure Sue and Robin will give you something good for tomorrow morning, but like I said, if you need anything, I'll be here a little after 6 your time. :)

Thanks Rachel, and I always ramble so no need to apologize. Thanks for the heads up. Now, when you say tag what exactly do you mean? To put @Rachel so that it shows up blue?
 
Ummm...I think? Lol, I have never figured out the tagging thing to be honest...I just gave up. Try it and I'll also just keep an eye out for you in the morning just in case you need to post. I'm the early bird on this board which is why I'm not around in the evenings usually. ;)
 
Ummm...I think? Lol, I have never figured out the tagging thing to be honest...I just gave up. Try it and I'll also just keep an eye out for you in the morning just in case you need to post. I'm the early bird on this board which is why I'm not around in the evenings usually. ;)
Okay will do, I will post on this thread and put @Rachel to catch your attention. And thanks!
 
What lovely blues and a yellow pmps. That's the direction we want, Bubba. Robin and I are both on the West Coast so give us a before bed number and maybe we can come up with an idea for you tomorrow am.
Sounds like a plan and thanks. Glad to see better numbers. He has a vet apt Wed for pre-cleaning blood work. I wanted to rule out any infections.
 
Regarding the carbohydrate content of the Fancy Feast - was that % carbohydrate by weight or by calories? It makes a difference.
We use % calories from carbohydrates, not weight.
 
I will test at 10 pm and around 1 -2 am EST. That is if my small game hunter comes squandering back. He darted out and I was just out to try to get him in to no avail. He did this to me last week and came waltzing home at exactly ten of ten when I needed to test. Hope he's back soon.
That blue @ +6 is lookin' good! Will take a peek @ Bubba's SS later tonight to see what else you got (as I'll likely still be wide awake @ 1 - 2 am your time). :)
 
That blue @ +6 is lookin' good! Will take a peek @ Bubba's SS later tonight to see what else you got (as I'll likely still be wide awake @ 1 - 2 am your time). :)
I just realized that it's in the wrong block. The 176 belongs in the _4 block, better yet! I'll get another reading at +7 or 1 am EST/Thanks Robin !:)
 
Wow! What lovely numbers you had last night!
Yes they were. He didn't bounce too badly this AM either. Wish I could have gotten another reading beyond +7 but I was just too exhausted to get up again. :arghh: But happy with this progress. On Sunday when I increased nothing happened! Then yesterday it kicked it. Hope today is as successful.
 
Last edited:
I know. This happens to me a lot lately - waking up around 2 or 3 for a little while. Weird; just comes & goes.:confused:

ETA: Of course, the cat's sound asleep!:rolleyes:
 
Wow Robin you are up early! I tested, fed and shot and went back to bed for another hour. I feel like a zoobie. Will you go be able to go back to sleep? Coffee time over here.
 
Regarding the carbohydrate content of the Fancy Feast - was that % carbohydrate by weight or by calories? It makes a difference.
We use % calories from carbohydrates, not weight.
Good question BJM, I will call them back and have them clarify. That could be the discrepancy in the number difference.
 
Edited to add. She posted then came back to edit the post and add more. Lol I thought the same when I first arrived here!

My first attempt at coffee was aborted today...a stupid fly drowned himself in my cup! Had to go dump it out and get a new cup. Sigh.
 
Edited to add. She posted then came back to edit the post and add more. Lol I thought the same when I first arrived here!

My first attempt at coffee was aborted today...a stupid fly drowned himself in my cup! Had to go dump it out and get a new cup. Sigh.
Well that is just rude of the fly! Picturing the fly all jacked up on coffee flying kamikaze into the wall. Thanks for the Robin's definition of ETA.
 
@Rachel - When I hit "like" re: your post about the fly who drowned in your coffee, just want you to know that I didn't like you having to deal with a fly who'd perished in your cuppa joe. I just liked your post: It was funny, as was Bobbie's imagery about a fly, jacked up on coffee, hitting the wall so hard it killed him.:D (Had the fly not already drowned, that would have served the little bugger right!:p)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top