Increase now or wait?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & China (GA)

Member Since 2013
China is due for her insulin now, and we've been discussing going from .75 to 1 unit Lantus BID...need your opinions

SS updated...AMPS 416
 
In your other thread, people were saying to wait another day or so.
There's no real harm in giving a dose up to seven days to settle in.
 
With China being so new and just starting out on Lantus- give it a week to level out.
It is hard, I know, but my reasons are:
1) the 'shed' is filling and can take up to 3 days to be completely full
2) cats react to change in insulin levels differently. Early on it took my Sneakers a full 5 days for a dose to have any effect at all and with the shed fill you don't really have that yet.

You are seeing some movement which is great- now just let it settle in and just get data.
 
Tomorrow is day 7. Lets see how he does tomorrow and then maybe we go for an increase.

Anyway I think at this point you might want to start posting on the Tight Regulation board to get more experienced members looking at China and giving dose advice http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9
It has a strong sense of community. I post there every other day to ensure they keep an eye on my boys ;) Many people post daily to ensure they get eyes on their cats and are keeping on top of things. You are welcome to continue to post here, I just think that they might be able to help you more over there.

Heres how to post
Every day ( or as often as you can) you open a new thread/post. We call them "condos"
- The subject has the date/cats name and BG readings ie 06/10 China AMPS 416 +3 332 + 6 294. You add a ? icon if you have a question. You can update your subject as you get a reading, or whenever

- The contents of your post have a quick update on how China is feeling as regards the 5Ps ( peeing. pooing, preening, playing and purring) and any questions and a link to your previous post ie : Today China was in a good mood, playing and eating well. But she is peeing a lot and her BG is really high and its been 7 days since we started.... Should I increase the dose?

For your first post put "newbie" also in your subject so everyone can welcome you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top