Increase dose or still bouncing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily

Member Since 2014
Good Morning!

Would you experts mind taking a look at Prince's SS? He seemed to be going down, but is now in the pink numbers again. Also, I noticed that he was drinking this morning (all the cats had stopped drinking from the water bowl since I switched to all wet food diet). I am not sure if I should increase his dose, or keep my patience pants on.

Thank you so much, everyone!!
PS-I would link this to a previous condo, but I am still a little confused what a condo is (is it the last thread?) and how to do it, so please excuse any mistakes here.
 
Hi Emily, I don't have dosing advice but here's what Marje wrote in your previous condo addressing your question on condos and how to post them:

Marje and Gracie said:
I'm sorry, Emily. A condo is a thread like the one you did today :-D Each day in LL beginning with the AM number, we start a new topic also known as a condo. One condo per cat per day with all your questions, info, etc.

Here's a great post on Making the Most of your Lantus ISG Experience.

To get the link to the last condo (aka thread), open the last condo, copy the browser address, close it, open a new topic in LL, put your cursor in the text box, click on the "url" box above the text box. It will put in the text box. Paste your link between the two boxes:

paste link here

Then write what you want for that opening post and click submit :-D
 
Hey Emily, and sweet Prince!

To me, it doesn't look like he is still bouncing, although he may have dipped a bit two nights ago. He should have cleared the bounce from the blue you saw late last week.

I'm curious why you reduced to 2units instead of the 2.5 he was on, although that may have been addressed in a previous condo.

To link a previous condo, copy the URL. You'll see a button at the top of a new post that says URL. Click that and then put the web address [color=#FF0000]HERE[/color]. Hopefully that makes sense.
 
It looks to me like you can increase Prince's dose to 2.25u. Bounces usually take not more than 72 hours to clear.

From the note on your SS from 3/1, I want to make sure that you are not feeding prior to getting your pre-shot test. Most of us test, feed, and shoot -- in that order. Gabby gets her shot when her head is in her bowl.
 
i agree with sienne that the bounce has cleared - i suspect the 200's that you saw the morning of the 4th (yesterday) were the end of the bounce. He does look like he needs a little more insulin. With nadirs in the 200's, the protocol suggests increasing by 0.25u (see below) so your new dose would be 2.25u.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Next time you see a preshot number that is lower than you are comfortable shooting and you give a reduced dose (like you did on 3/1, which was fine), you would want to return to the regular dose with the next shot. There wasn't any reason to reduce Prince's dose to 2.0 and stay there. You only want to reduce the dose if he goes below 50, unless there is some other unusual circumstance.

I'm just letting you know for next time, because there surely will be another time! that's one certainty with FD! :lol:

Hope you're having a great day, emily! cat_pet_icon hi Prince!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top