Increase? By how much?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vyktors Mum

Member Since 2011
Tomorrow's AMS will be five days for Vyktor's at his starting dose of 1U. I think the numbers are showing he needs an increased dose - assuming he remains in yellow and above with pink or red PS numbers today and tomorrow.

Should I wait a couple more days to make it seven days at his starting dose before increasing or do people agree that we should begin an increase on tomorrow's PMS?

If you think an increase how much? I am wavering between 0.25, 0.5 or 1U.

I have not been able to find syringes with half units marked in Australia so am concerned that measuring 0.25 may get a little inaccurate. I'm definately not saying that's a reason not to make the change in dose 0.25 if that's thought to be best but if anyone has tips on how to accurately measure that amount that would be helpful or do people find that it is easy enough to measure just by eye?

Appreciate all views,

Serryn
 
Hi Serryn:

He's now had six cycles since his low numbers and so I would increase him .25u to 1.25u on his next cycle which, according to your SS, is his PM cycle 12/27. The TR protocol states:

"General" Guidelines:

Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Vkytor is having high, flat cycles and has had ketones.....so I'd give him more insulin. I know you don't have the 1/2 unit markings making it difficult but do the best you can at estimating 1.25u. The main thing is that once you decide what it is, be consistent with it. Your 1.25u doesn't have to look like mine as long as you know what yours looks like and you stay as consistent as you can considering the syringes you have.

I wouldn't increase him .5u or 1u; it's too much and his nadirs are between 200-300. Good luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top