In tears after call to vet re: wanting to regulate at home

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Very Active Member
I don't even know where to begin - Quick update - Hershey is almost 10 years old and was diagnosed Nov, 2011. Within a week of learning the diagnosis we moved him to canned only. His coat is super soft again, very little dander, not gained weight (maybe an ounce or two) but seems to be feeling pretty good. I've spent hours and hours and hours reading on the forum and have 'talked' to several of you who were kind enough to try to educate us. We did a 16-hour curve last Friday and called the vet today with lots of information and a resolve to home regulate.

Now - here I sit in tears! She kept saying things like this is crazy, this is not how it's done, medicine isn't black and white, I know from years of experience - over and over and over. I told her I was trying to learn about testing for ketones and asked when we should be concerned. She said, "I need to see him. I can't tell you that." She wouldn't even discuss it! She said, you got a lot of information from the internet and while some of it may be good, not all of it is. I told her we wanted to start him on .5 - 1 unit twice a day of a long acting insulin. She said she uses ProZinc and while she doesn't think this is a good idea, if she has no other choice then write the prescription, but we're on our own. (She said both it and the syringes have to be ordered through her and they get them until Thursday. $140 for the insulin and $35 for the syringes, is that good?) After she said we're on our own several times, I asked so, do you not want me to call with questions or updates, is that what you're saying - that we're completely on our own? She said, no - you're welcome to call me, but I can't help you much since I'm not the one doing the regulating. If you'd let me get him regulated then you can take him and test him, that's fine. And, back to the this isn't how it's done....I got so tired of trying to reason with her that I would just be quiet and let her 'rant' before steering the conversation back to - ok, so we get the insulin from you and...

I asked her if there was an after hours or emergency place she recommended and she said they're all good and expensive! Without me doing the curve, I can't tell you what to start him on. Are you going to do any damage at .5 unit twice a day? Probably not. Are you going to do any good? (That kind of condensending hmm sound) probably not. Are you going to do any damage at 1 unit twice a day? Probably not. Are you going to do any good? (Same noise) probably not. But, I don't want him to hang out with a BG up around 400.

This was an almost 30 minute call, but I kept myself together. Oh - oh - get this - I asked how long insulin is good if left out of the refrigerator. She said you need to get in the habit of refrigerating it. I said, I know that, but how long is it still good if it's left out. She said, only as long as it takes to give the shot. I said, so if I walk through the kitchen :30 later and see it on the counter, I need to toss it? She said, I wouldn't think so. But, if it's room temperature, I'd toss it. (So, WHY didn't she just say that to start with???)

I told her I knew the insulin should be given every 12 hours, but asked about a time range. She said every 12 hours. I asked again, she said every 12 hours. I said, so 11-1/2 would be bad or 12 hours and 15 min would be bad? She said, no certainly :30 one way or the other wouldn't hurt. (ARRGGHH!)

She wants us to feed him twice a day. I said we're feeding him 4 times a day, seems to work better. My mom is a diabetic and it seems to work better for her, too. She said, it's not a bad idea. She kept saying we should be feeding him a DM diet. She finally asked what kind of dry food we were using. I told her no dry, only Wellness. She said we should leave dry food for him overnight so he can munch if he needs it. At that point, I didn't even have it in me to argue. We just won't.

She wanted to know when we were planning to give the insulin. I told her 2am and 2pm. She was like - what?! 2am and 2pm - then you need to keep a close check on him. Okay, people - does it really matter WHEN we give it as long as we're consistent with it??? So, then she was like, well if you're giving it at 2am and 2 pm and feeding him at 6 or 6:30 in between, it may actually have its advantages. (Of course, that part was under her breath - ugh)

Thus far, I haven't heard from anyone who has a vet recommendation close to us. So, we'll stick this out a little longer and PRAY all goes well!!

Sorry for the long vent, but thanks for 'listening' and for any suggestions you'd like to share.

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
Re: In tears after call to vet re: wanting to regulate at ho

Welcome

I went through the most of the same things with my vet. Not much of what she she told me was true. I found this board and thank goodness I did. My vet knew little to nothing about feline diabetes or dosing for that matter.
I will let the people that have been here longer answer your questions as they are much more experienced than I am, hang in there they will be along shortly. You will receive the help you need here.

Terri
 
Re: In tears after call to vet re: wanting to regulate at ho

cat(2)_steam

I'm sorry you're dealing with this. :( I have a friend who's DH used to live in NC (though I'm not sure where) I'll see if it was your area and if he rec's his old vet. He had a dog though, but if it's a good vet then maybe at least it's a lead.
 
Re: In tears after call to vet re: wanting to regulate at ho

I'm so sorry this happened. This experience should be a partnership between you and your vet. The good news is that she will prescribe a good, mild, long lasting insulin. And we can help you with the rest. Hometesting will guide your dosing and someone can help when you have questions. Diabetes is a home managed disease, with humans and cats. Diet plays a big part as does testing and correct dosing. It can no more be done only at a vet's office than it can be done only at a doctor's office.

Here is a long document on ProZinc including dose advice, how to care for it etc. Read it in small doses as it has way too much information but it will provide a good foundation for you: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=32799

About the only thing I agree with your vet is that this is probably NOT the way it is done in her practice. I wonder how many cats have died from diabetes in her care and how many were regulated or in remission. When Oliver was diagnosed, I had a friend whose cat was diagnosed at the same time. She stuck with her vet (no home testing, dry food and increasing doses per vet curves) I went with the protocol here. After 6 months, Oliver was in remission. In 8 months, her cat was dead. I would guess from organ failure - too much stress on the pancreas, too much insulin required by high carb food. What a waste.....
 
Re: In tears after call to vet re: wanting to regulate at ho

I'm sorry you are dealing with this .. We left our original vet in place of our second vet to help deal with mocha's diabetes. But before mocha became OTJ, that vet left and we were dealing with a third. We got to listen to her speech on how she JUST went to a diabetes convention and wasn't familiar AT ALL with our protocol, blah blah blah .. Not to put her down, or what she was saying down, but we at that point, had been taking care of mocha daily for nearly two years! I think we had a grip on things ..

When mocha became OTJ we printed off her entire SS and took it up to the vet .. she was very concerned with how "low" mocha was .. so concerned in fact she e mailed the SS numbers to several of her fellow vet friends .. Since I never heard back from her after that, my assumption is, most of them thought it was pretty impressive!

Now mocha is a happy healthy diet controlled kitty who at one point or another in the 22 months she was on insulin had shots that were late or early .. had insulin that was left out .. had thousand's of tests done on her ears .. had insulin that was gifted to us and insulin that was bought from multiple pharmacies .. had syringes that were bought at different pharmacies .. We dealt with trace ketones and food changes ..

Somehow, someway, it all worked out ... :YMHUG:
 
Re: In tears after call to vet re: wanting to regulate at ho

how far away is chapel hill? there's an old time member who lives there and maybe we can track her down to see if she has a vet recommendation for you if it's not too far away. i want to say she really liked her vet if i remember correctly.
 
Re: In tears after call to vet re: wanting to regulate at ho

Sorry you are frustrated and having a hard time finding a vet to work with you. Some vets just are not willing to relax their protocol. If you were diagnosed what looks like a month or two ago, I can see a vet wanting at least another checkup before writing the prescription. Maybe not a full curve, but at least an office visit, it is a liability to them if they prescribe and then find out something has changed since they last saw him.

It sounds like this vet is an expensive vet that does a lot of testing to protect themselves, I know it didn't cost us that much to get the initial diagnosis on Smokey even though our vet's rates are not cheap. Hopefully someone can help you find another vet that will work with you and be less expensive. Though switching vets would most likely cost another initial workup as most won't take another vet's diagnosis or home testing to start treatment.

Its odd that your vet is saying they will sell you something beside ProZinc that is long lasting, isn't that the only long-lasting vet insulin? Or is it also PZI (I never know if those refer to the same insulin)? Lantus and Lev are human insulin, I didn't think a vet could dispense them.
 
Re: In tears after call to vet re: wanting to regulate at ho

What a bunch of un-needed stress.
She isn't the only vet in your town. The freedom of living in the USA......GO ELSEWHERE! Find a vet that is supportive. Dealing with FD is enough stress on its own. You don't need the stress from someone whom you are paying to suppose to get your furry friend better.

My PZI was $140 from my vet & needles were $35. When it comes time for more you bet I'm ordering online.

Good Luck!
Jenn & Baxter
 
Re: In tears after call to vet re: wanting to regulate at ho

Libby,

Your vet conversation pretty much echoed my last vet visit, and I've been using that vet office for years prior to Poopy being diagnosed diabetic. Sometimes I find it surprising how much effort someone with a higher education can put into convincing others only they can be right. Funny thing is, I don't recall the vet asking about my degrees or my background in research before trying to rip off my head. I was read the riot act and told I shouldn't be doing my own research, and shouldn't believe everything I read on the internet. Okey dokey Smokey.

I've been calling around, "interviewing" vets, to find one at least open to working with me in caring for Poopy. No such luck yet. I have a few feelers out with co-workers (they happen to be nurses and understand diabetes and what I am doing) and have a couple of leads. (There's tons of vets in my area because it's a huge area. There's got to be at least one!)

Anyway, I've been finding there seems to be a standard protocol with vets for feline diabetes. Either the vet keeps the cat for a few days to test and dose, what they term "regulate", and wants to see the cat every two or so weeks to recheck or they send the owner and cat home with a dose regime with the same expected two week or so return visits for checks. No home testing. No changes in dose other than prescribed. Prescription foods. And add another dollar to the till.

To answer your question about the insulin...leaving it out accidentally will not harm it (as long as it's under 86 degrees). It's kept in the refrigerator so it lasts longer.

Keep in mind (here's my favorite saying about doctors in general) 50% of doctors were in the bottom half of their graduating class. Food for thought, isn't it?

Knowledge is power.

You do what you feel is best for you and Hershey. For myself and Poopy, I get more knowledge and support here. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: In tears after call to vet re: wanting to regulate at ho

Hi.. I am in Wilson, only about 30 mins from Raleigh. I am on my phone, so this will be short, but I use Prozinc and have been treating my complex diabetic cat, Kitty, for a year. I will be glad to offer you help. There are vets in the Raleigh/Durham area that will work with you. If you are interested in my assistance, please send me a private message.

Relax..... It will be okay.

Kim
 
Re: In tears after call to vet re: wanting to regulate at ho

I just helped a friend who lives outside of Ithaca find a new vet, because her vet was giving her awful advice and after 4 months of his treatment her poor cat was getting worse and worse. I just googled "Syracuse, NY Veterinarians" and a long list popped up. So I started calling vets--and my spiel went like this.

I'm looking for a new vet. My cat is diabetic so I really need someone who is up to date in their feline diabetes treatment. (Then I ask these questions:)

1. How many diabetic cats are you currently treating at your practice?

2. Do you recommend home testing with a glucose meter (It's ok if they say yes, but we want you to buy the alpahtrak--you don't HAVE to buy it from them, it's just good that they recommend home testing).

3. What types of insulins are the cats in your practice using? Do you have any cats on Lantus? (If the vet says they have their cats on Humulin N--stay away)


If they recommend home testing and have their cats on slow acting insulins, then the odds are that they are a vet you'll be able to work with, even if not all of their recommendations are 100% right. Even good, up to date vets may be off about a few things, but what is important that they are willing to learn and work with you. None of the first 4 vets I called were acceptable in my book--all had their cats on Humulin N and did not want patients home testing. I was getting really discouraged until my 5th call--that vet encouraged home testing unless the owner absolutely refused, had all of their cats on Lantus, and recommended a low carb, canned commerical diet.
 
Re: In tears after call to vet re: wanting to regulate at ho

All I can say is Get a real vet.

Shame on that person claiming to care about animals; that's no way to treat an owner.
The people on this site know more than most vets about feline diabetes. Telling you to feed only twice a day is proof that this 'vet' knows next to nothing about diabetes.

When i went looking for a better vet, I made a list of questions and statements.
For example, ask what type of insulin usually rx for cats, what sort of food should they eat and frequency, what about home testing, etc. Ask how the insulin is used and dosed as well. You will learn a great deal about the vet by the answers you get.

Now don't be upset; you're doing fine by being on this site. You just need to get yourself a decent vet.
 
Re: In tears after call to vet re: wanting to regulate at ho

It may also be useful to ask about life expectancy of a treated diabetic cat for each vet that you talk to.

Keep in mind that we have healthy, happy, active diabetic cats who have been treated for many years. My adopted guy Tiggy has been diabetic for 7 years. You would never know he was "sick" if you met him.

One vet that I heard rumor of ... his diabetic cat patients lived about 6 months after diagnosis, and usually had siezures and went blind. This screams OVERDOSE! --> Severe Hypoglycemia. Not a vet to keep!!!!
 
Re: In tears after call to vet re: wanting to regulate at ho

Well, I started typing a response and got called away, so I hit 'save draft.' Came back and it said I didn't have any drafts, so let's try, again. :-)

Thank you for taking the time to offer words of encouragement to me. I felt much better after reading your posts.

@ Terri - I'm super glad I found this board, too. I really feel I was led here. I don't even remember what I typed in the search bar when this forum came up. :-) Y'all have been so welcoming and so generous with your time and sharing of information. It has been a huge blessing already!

@ Sabrina - Thanks, I'd appreciate you checking with your friend :-)

@ Sue - I feel like we've become friends already and so appreciate your input. Considering how long we've been with this vet (about 13 years or so) I was really kind of surprised at how she acted - hurt, too. Thanks for sending the link for ProZinc information. I look forward to reading it! Oh, I'm sorry to hear about your friend's cat, losing a kitty is so hard. :-(

@ PeterDevonMocha - Thank you for your encouraging words and for sharing your success story. In Nov, when I started learning about the differences in cat food, I called the vet's office and told them I wanted to give Hershey a few weeks on a low carb diet before thinking about insulin. (My mom is diabetic and was able to get hers under control by lowering carbs and losing weight. So, I figured it was worth a shot!) They said, well you can *try*, but don't expect a miracle. Well, I'm sure praying for a miracle, either diet controlled or a low dose of insulin. The bet's receptionist told me they have some animals on 3 or 4 units twice a day. After reading on the forum, that sure sounds like a lot to me. But, I have a lot left to learn!!! I'd love for you to share some of your ketone experience, if you don't mind - or point me in the right direction. I was trying to ask the vet today, but like I said, she didn't want to discuss it with me. I know there are different amounts and you compare the strip to the key, but I was trying to find out when to get concerned or what I needed to do for each level. For example, if it's 'trace' does that mean I do something like say - hydrate more or does he need to see someone if it reads anything but negative?

@ Cindy - Chapel Hill is about 30 - 40 minutes from us, but if you can track down the member you mentioned, I'd be happy to hear of a lead. Thanks!

@ Melanie - Yes, Hershey was diagnosed just before Thanksgiving and I've made several calls to the vet since then asking questions, sharing diet change information, etc. In Dec, we talked about waiting to make an insulin decision until Jan to give him time on the lower carb diet and to get us through Christmas. Doug and I didn't want to take him and maybe have a problem or questions during the time they were closed and not be able to reach them. She didn't mention wanting an office visit, only doing the full curve. She got kind of an attitude from almost the beginning of our conversation - guess I wasn't as prepared as I thought I was. I've never compared prices with another vet, but I wouldn't say she's cheap, by any means. Hershey broke his hip years ago and had to have surgery. It was $1500, but they let us make payments. When we took them in in Nov (Oreo just a regular check-up.) it was about $300. Then, she said regulating would be close to $500 and said their accountant would no longer let them accept payments. One income family of four with two kids in college, who have patients for ~13 years and just paid $300 for a visit at Christmastime? Yeah, I was afraid changing vets might mean starting all over with tests/payment, etc. She said she only uses ProZinc.

@ Jenn - Are ProZinc and PZI the same thing? From some of the posts I read, it sounded like they were, then I read that they were just very similar - like I need something else to be confused about. Thanks for the encouragement, no, I certainly need added stress - I'm sure none of us do! Having raised 3 kids, I've gotten much more 'assertive' ;-) when dealing with people doctors, but I'm not so confident when it comes to Hershey because I'm not as experienced and he can't give me a lot of specific feedback. So, you paid the same thing she quoted. I didn't really feel like I had time to shop around while I had her on the phone, you know? And, I was hoping she'd see it as kind of a compromise that I was trusting the type of insulin she said and even ordering it from her. I don't know...

@ BJM - I believe you sent me some information in response to my intro post. Thank you. I had it ready to share, but she was NOT ready to hear it today. Maybe it was too soon. She didn't act like she had ever faced this before. Maybe I can share with her soon.

@ Teresa - I feel like I know you! Thank you for so freely sharing with me and I'm sure many others. I'm sorry you've experienced similar problems. I know what you mean about highly educated people always having to right (some not so highly educated people, too ;-) She said I had gotten my information from the internet, but had not asked me where I got it. I hope you find a vet SOON! Thanks for answering about the insulin, too. I just know that at some point we'll forget to put it back right away and wanted to know beforehand what to do. And, thanks for sharing your favorite doctor saying - I don't know where you got it, but I'm sure I'll be use it, again!

@ Kim - THANKS for the offer of assistance - be careful, I might take you up on it! It's sad for me to think of starting over, we've been with that practice so long...and she really was so good with Smokey...and Smokey (died from feline leukemia), Hershey and Oreo's paw prints are on the wall there...but, the most important thing is having someone who can help Hershey NOW. If you hear of potential vets closer to us, please let me know. Thanks!!

@ Julia - Thank you for sharing your 'vet interview' questions. I think that may be the way to go - can compare apples to apples. Oh, yay - maybe vet #5 will be a winner! I keep reading that a lot of cats on here are using Lantus. What's the difference in Lantus and ProZinc. Obviously, not every insulin works for every cat - or there'd be only one - but she said ProZinc is all she uses, so I was curious.

@ Gayle - Thanks for sharing my pain. I agree this site seems to be full of people who 'know their stuff' - experience is a great teacher. Looking forward to a time when I can help others the way y'all are helping me! Good vet questions - I'm going to borrow from you and Julia and make a list to use. :-)

@ Phoebe_Tiggy_Norton - Good call on asking about life expectancy; thanks! Such a sad thing to think of them living only 6 months after diagnosis. That's like my worst fear!

Y'all just don't know how much I appreciate your taking the time to reply to my posts. It means more to us than I can say. Thanks, again.

Libby
 
Re: In tears after call to vet re: wanting to regulate at ho

As far as ketones go, anything over a trace needs to be seen by a vet as DKA can come on very quickly and be life threatening. My Musette is a DKA survivor, however, I never had to deal with it as it happened before I adopted her. But I do know that because she is a DKA survivor that I need to hyper vigilant about testing her for ketones. So far <knock wood> she has always tested negative for them since she has been with me.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: In tears after call to vet re: wanting to regulate at ho

Julia & Bandit said:
I just helped a friend who lives outside of Ithaca find a new vet, because her vet was giving her awful advice and after 4 months of his treatment her poor cat was getting worse and worse. I just googled "Syracuse, NY Veterinarians" and a long list popped up. So I started calling vets--and my spiel went like this.

I'm looking for a new vet. My cat is diabetic so I really need someone who is up to date in their feline diabetes treatment. (Then I ask these questions:)

1. How many diabetic cats are you currently treating at your practice?

2. Do you recommend home testing with a glucose meter (It's ok if they say yes, but we want you to buy the alpahtrak--you don't HAVE to buy it from them, it's just good that they recommend home testing).

3. What types of insulins are the cats in your practice using? Do you have any cats on Lantus? (If the vet says they have their cats on Humulin N--stay away)


If they recommend home testing and have their cats on slow acting insulins, then the odds are that they are a vet you'll be able to work with, even if not all of their recommendations are 100% right. Even good, up to date vets may be off about a few things, but what is important that they are willing to learn and work with you. None of the first 4 vets I called were acceptable in my book--all had their cats on Humulin N and did not want patients home testing. I was getting really discouraged until my 5th call--that vet encouraged home testing unless the owner absolutely refused, had all of their cats on Lantus, and recommended a low carb, canned commerical diet.

These are pretty much the exact questions I asked, too. Most didn't recommend home testing, or recommended Caninsulin, or other alarming things. I called all of the offices in town, and some out of town. The *only* doctor who called me back to talk to me personally was the one I ended up taking Scooter to, and I'm so glad I asked the questions before I paid a lot of money for the tests. He encouraged me to home test, started Scooter on a nice low dose of Lantus, and did not push Hills food or an Alpha Trak. He was very respectful and willing to listen to my opinion and work with me. What I find really amusing is he was born and raised in Israel and studied veterinary medicine in Slovakia. Looks like the USA/Canada is falling behind on their research :lol:

So I guess the moral of the story is - ask questions, talk to the vet about treatment options, etc. before you pay big amounts of money just to find out they want you to endanger your cat's life, or act like you have no idea what you're doing when you know your cat better than anyone else. I'm so sorry you have to go through that, but it will be sooo much easier if you have a vet whos advice you know you can rely on and are willing to work with you, especially in an emergency, when FDMB or others might not be around to help.
 
Re: In tears after call to vet re: wanting to regulate at ho

Doug N Libby said:
I keep reading that a lot of cats on here are using Lantus. What's the difference in Lantus and ProZinc. Obviously, not every insulin works for every cat - or there'd be only one - but she said ProZinc is all she uses, so I was curious.

The three insulins that are good to use for cats are Lantus, Levemir, and ProZinc. Lantus and Levemir are synthetic human insulins that you get in a pharmacy (the vet writes you a script). Studies have shown an 84% remission rate when used in conjunction with a low carb canned diet and regulation via home testing. Lantus is more popular than Levemir because more studies have been done using it so it's more familiar to vets, but the two insulins work pretty much the same.

Prozinc is synthetic bovine insulin that you get through your vet's office. It has about a 50% remission rate in cats when used in conjunction with a low carb canned diet and regulation via home testing. Lantus and Levemir are a bit more popular than Prozinc because of the higher remission rate and they tend to last longer in cats (who have very fast metabolisms), making it a little easier to regulate them. However, Prozinc is not a bad insulin and many cats do well on it, too. Some people prefer it because you have more flexibility around shot times--Lantus works best if you shoot on a 12/12 schedule, but Prozinc allows you some wiggle room in your shooting schedule.

I always use the Lantus question because if a vet knows and is prescribing Lantus, then chances are they've probably read up on feline diabetes at some point in the past 3 years. It's extremely rare to find a vet who gives the correct dosing advice, but a vet who has most of their ducks in a row and has done some research is most likely will be open to working with you and will be ok with you making dose adjustments on you own. The vets you want to avoid are the ones that want total control over your cat's treatment. Like with type 2 human diabetics, feline diabetes is best treated at home, with dose adjustments based on your daily home testing values. A vet who is against testing daily, is not up to date with insulin recommendations, and doesn't understand the connection between diet and blood glucose has either not done their homework or they want the $ from the office testing.

It always gets me when a professional in a medical field tells a patient not to believe anything they see on the internet. This isn't 1997--I like to think that most people can tell the difference between a scientific study or a wiki page with references and some random blog written by a conspiracy theorist somewhere. The web allows the public access to information that you formerly would have had to travel to a veterinary college library to read--now search engines like Google Scholar allow anyone access to citations for articles that they can take to their local library and request, or even full text access to open source articles. In fact, most scientific and engineering journals aren't even published in print anymore! A medical professional who is a afraid of the internet is NOT someone I'd want treating me or my cat. How on earth do they stay current in their field if they don't know how to utilize the web?
 
Re: In tears after call to vet re: wanting to regulate at ho

Ry & Scooter said:
These are pretty much the exact questions I asked, too. Most didn't recommend home testing, or recommended Caninsulin, or other alarming things. I called all of the offices in town, and some out of town. The *only* doctor who called me back to talk to me personally was the one I ended up taking Scooter to, and I'm so glad I asked the questions before I paid a lot of money for the tests. He encouraged me to home test, started Scooter on a nice low dose of Lantus, and did not push Hills food or an Alpha Trak. He was very respectful and willing to listen to my opinion and work with me. What I find really amusing is he was born and raised in Israel and studied veterinary medicine in Slovakia. Looks like the USA/Canada is falling behind on their research :lol:

So I guess the moral of the story is - ask questions, talk to the vet about treatment options, etc. before you pay big amounts of money just to find out they want you to endanger your cat's life, or act like you have no idea what you're doing when you know your cat better than anyone else. I'm so sorry you have to go through that, but it will be sooo much easier if you have a vet whos advice you know you can rely on and are willing to work with you, especially in an emergency, when FDMB or others might not be around to help.

I am spoiled rotten with vets living in Ithaca (we have Cornell here). At diagnosis, before I had done any research on the subject, my vet had me home testing with a human glucometer, handed me a list of commercial low carb canned foods in different price ranges, and had Bandit on a nice low dose of Lantus. She was really, really firm about home testing--she told me that I was risking my cat's life if I wasn't testing his blood because urine strips could not detect hypoglycemia. Basically I left that day with the idea that if I didn't home test my cat was going to die--either slowly from the diabetes or suddenly from a hypo, and I marched myself straight to the store and bought a meter. The only thing I could really complain about was that she was a bit off with her dosing recommendations--she owned diabetic dogs and was dosing Bandit as such. I remember being angry with her when I found the feline protocol and realized we were doing it wrong.

That was until I came here, of course, and sadly found out what the more common experience was like. After that I counted my lucky stars.
 
Re: In tears after call to vet re: wanting to regulate at ho

Doug N Libby said:
@ Sabrina - Thanks, I'd appreciate you checking with your friend :-)
I checked with him and he did used to live in Raleigh, but he didn't have any pets at the time. So, darn. :( I hope someone else can help you!
 
Re: In tears after call to vet re: wanting to regulate at ho

I'm sorry for your frustrations. I've been thinking about finding a new vet too. My vet wants to lower my cats insulin dose when I've only barely had her near normal for a few days. When I called to express my concern, I wasn't even allowed to talk to the vet and was told that he has a plan. It's as if they are saying I should just do what I'm told and not worry my pretty little head about it. I was able to get my cats numbers better regulated by following the advice on this site not the vet's advice. He should refund all the money I've given him and donate it where it could really help. I hate being treated like a moron. Aargh!!
 
Re: In tears after call to vet re: wanting to regulate at ho

Terwilliger1 said:
I'm sorry for your frustrations. I've been thinking about finding a new vet too. My vet wants to lower my cats insulin dose when I've only barely had her near normal for a few days. When I called to express my concern, I wasn't even allowed to talk to the vet and was told that he has a plan. It's as if they are saying I should just do what I'm told and not worry my pretty little head about it. I was able to get my cats numbers better regulated by following the advice on this site not the vet's advice. He should refund all the money I've given him and donate it where it could really help. I hate being treated like a moron. Aargh!!

Well said! When I try to write about it, I'm still too emotional and I start to sputter, spit, and, as honey calls it, my hair starts to frizz.

:-D
 
Re: In tears after call to vet re: wanting to regulate at ho

Hi guys .. when we told our first vet we wanted to change foods from dry to wet, she told us to hold off, don't change to many things at once. We knew we wanted to change the food first, so that started our search for a new vet. We never went back to the first vet, even though she is the one who showed us how to give the insulin. Our second vet was OK with us changing mochas food over to wet and she encouraged home testing. She recommended once or twice to bring mocha in for a curve, but we didn't find it necessary, since we were monitoring at home.

Our experience with trace ketones was very minimal. We tested her when she was consistently high and finally had one test pop up with trace ketones. We didn't take mocha into the vet, we decided to feed her wet food with a TON of water added to it. We fed her that way all weekend long and eventually the tests came back negative for any trace ketone amounts. Now, this was our choice to monitor at home and I am not saying that it is the correct way to deal with trace ketones. Thankfully, even though more often then not mocha was high, we only had to deal with trace ketones that one time.

As far as 3 or 4 units being high, it is to intially start out at that. We started low and eventually got up to over 3 units. She would come down and go back up just like all the other kitties on this board. Finally found the correct dose to get her regulated, and then eventually OTJ.
 
Re: In tears after call to vet re: wanting to regulate at ho

Sorry to hear it sounds like you have a fractious vet. I am fortunate that although my vet was not quite up to date on the latest diabetes practices she is willing to work with me. My vet also mistrusts anything that comes from "teh interwebz' and with good reason, there is alot of junk on it, and honestly, I know a frighteningly large number of people who will believe just about anything they read. So I never tell my vet "I read that blah blah blah on the internet". I tell her "I read blah blah blah and it's supported in this peer reviewed journal article, specifically see these pages of it" as I hand over the relevant article with specific bits marked. Make a strong case as succinctly as possible and back it up with journal articles. I also try to be understanding that my vet has been in practice before information became so widely available on the internet and is being forced to adapt to clients who will come at them with both good and bad information and try to only equip myself with the former. I'd never condemn a vet for ignorance on current practice in an area of medicine, especially if it's one they don't deal with regularly. Willful ignorance would be another matter entirely. Good luck with your vet or finding a new one, whatever you end up doing.

Good for you for moving to the canned food right away. Making the switch to high protein, low carb food can impact insulin requirements, so it's nice you were able to do this before you begin treatment. I wasn't, and as we made the transition it had a noticeable impact on BG levels (in a good way of course:)).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top