Mrs.GusGus
Member Since 2014
Hi Everyone,
I made a few posts back in April regarding my foster cat, Annie. Life and time got in the way and I was unable to continuously post updates or follow through with everyone's advice.
Now I am feeling desperate. Since the foster organization funds her veterinary costs, I am limited to just one vet clinic/one veterinarian and I feel like I need a second opinion because I am at a loss right now
Brief reminder on Annie:
- Approx. 13 years old
- Diagnosed with diabetes 2-3 years ago
- For a 6 month period was overdosed on her Glargine by 10x (instead of 2u, she was receiving 20u by previous foster home)
- Suffers from brain damage from the prolonged hypoglycemia, resulting in the occasional seizure
- Takes 2 small doses of Phenobarbital every day to control these seizures
- Uncontrollable BG (reaching extreme values), constant peeing outside her litter-box, excessive thirst
- Visible symptoms of neuropathy in her hind & front legs
- Her fructosamine tests reflect an upward trend since April, her most recent fructosamine test read 489 (July 2014)
I have attached some values over the last month, these numbers are very similar to what I have been seeing for the last 4-5 months... little to no improvement over this time. Here are the protocols I have been following for the last little while:
-April to August 1st: She was receiving 2.0u of Glargine ONLY when her BG≥216mg/dL (12.0mmol/L). I was unable to achieve any control so I suggested to the vet that we try a new insulin, she has been on Glargine since her diagnosis and this was the insulin she was severely overdosed on. I'm not entirely sure of the science behind it but perhaps she has developed a slight resistance to this insulin because of that 6 month period of excessive overdoses. The vet is not ready to give up on Glargine just yet, and I understand why because it does have such great success rates. She wanted to try one more dosage change before we go another-insulin-route.
-August 1st-August 19th: I was instructed to increase her dose to 2.5u ONLY when her BG≥216mg/dL (12.0mmol/L), and a similar outcome followed. I have a hard time understanding why she shouldn't receive an injection when she is at around 180-198mg/dL, otherwise she just continues to rise and then 12 hours later she is super high.
-I spoke with a stand-in veterinarian while my regular one was on holiday and she pointed out that same logic to me: that if Annie's midday numbers show an increase before her next pre-insulin test, then I should still shoot. So as of Aug 20, she has been receiving 2u every 12 hours (with exception of a couple really low numbers).
See for yourself on the attachment!
Maybe someone else can make sense of it. Unfortunately, the only glitch I'm coming across on the worksheet is that only sometimes my midday numbers are rounded up (i.e 15.6 to 16.0). I understand that I need to get more midday values, as my schedule begins to lighten I should be able do some more throughout the next week.
Please share your interpretation of these values if at all possible, and any advice/suggestions to help with the peeing outside her box would be great as well (I'm starting to fear that I won't receive my damage deposit back now!) She received a "precautionary" antibiotic shot in July without any real evidence of a urinary/bladder infection, so I'm wondering if she simply just loses control of her bladder because she has to pee so frequently? I know that tighter diabetic regulation will help with this.... we're working on it!
Thanks in advance for looking over her data and sharing your knowledge with me. Really appreciate it!
Julia
I made a few posts back in April regarding my foster cat, Annie. Life and time got in the way and I was unable to continuously post updates or follow through with everyone's advice.
Now I am feeling desperate. Since the foster organization funds her veterinary costs, I am limited to just one vet clinic/one veterinarian and I feel like I need a second opinion because I am at a loss right now
Brief reminder on Annie:
- Approx. 13 years old
- Diagnosed with diabetes 2-3 years ago
- For a 6 month period was overdosed on her Glargine by 10x (instead of 2u, she was receiving 20u by previous foster home)
- Suffers from brain damage from the prolonged hypoglycemia, resulting in the occasional seizure
- Takes 2 small doses of Phenobarbital every day to control these seizures
- Uncontrollable BG (reaching extreme values), constant peeing outside her litter-box, excessive thirst
- Visible symptoms of neuropathy in her hind & front legs
- Her fructosamine tests reflect an upward trend since April, her most recent fructosamine test read 489 (July 2014)
I have attached some values over the last month, these numbers are very similar to what I have been seeing for the last 4-5 months... little to no improvement over this time. Here are the protocols I have been following for the last little while:
-April to August 1st: She was receiving 2.0u of Glargine ONLY when her BG≥216mg/dL (12.0mmol/L). I was unable to achieve any control so I suggested to the vet that we try a new insulin, she has been on Glargine since her diagnosis and this was the insulin she was severely overdosed on. I'm not entirely sure of the science behind it but perhaps she has developed a slight resistance to this insulin because of that 6 month period of excessive overdoses. The vet is not ready to give up on Glargine just yet, and I understand why because it does have such great success rates. She wanted to try one more dosage change before we go another-insulin-route.
-August 1st-August 19th: I was instructed to increase her dose to 2.5u ONLY when her BG≥216mg/dL (12.0mmol/L), and a similar outcome followed. I have a hard time understanding why she shouldn't receive an injection when she is at around 180-198mg/dL, otherwise she just continues to rise and then 12 hours later she is super high.
-I spoke with a stand-in veterinarian while my regular one was on holiday and she pointed out that same logic to me: that if Annie's midday numbers show an increase before her next pre-insulin test, then I should still shoot. So as of Aug 20, she has been receiving 2u every 12 hours (with exception of a couple really low numbers).
See for yourself on the attachment!
Maybe someone else can make sense of it. Unfortunately, the only glitch I'm coming across on the worksheet is that only sometimes my midday numbers are rounded up (i.e 15.6 to 16.0). I understand that I need to get more midday values, as my schedule begins to lighten I should be able do some more throughout the next week.
Please share your interpretation of these values if at all possible, and any advice/suggestions to help with the peeing outside her box would be great as well (I'm starting to fear that I won't receive my damage deposit back now!) She received a "precautionary" antibiotic shot in July without any real evidence of a urinary/bladder infection, so I'm wondering if she simply just loses control of her bladder because she has to pee so frequently? I know that tighter diabetic regulation will help with this.... we're working on it!
Thanks in advance for looking over her data and sharing your knowledge with me. Really appreciate it!
Julia
I hope you and Annie are doing well this morning.