In need of help!!

Crystal&Hendrix

Member Since 2020
my kitties BG is at 10.8(195) I’m just wondering if he still gets his shot or not.... he usually has it around 11:30 and it’s already 11:24am so I need help. This morning I tested him six hours after his night time shot it was 4.8 then I re tested him after feeding him and it was 6.0! This morning before his shot his BG was 10.8(195) so I’m just wondering if he gets his shot this morning or do I skip it???? Thank you
 
Crystal -

I'm very hesitant to answer your question. We are very dependent on seeing the big picture when it comes to how a cat is doing at a dose and when it comes to offering any input. Is there any way you can get a spreadsheet set up (this is the link to our template), what the current dose is, letting us know when your kitty was diagnoses, if there are any health issues -- especially a history of ketones, what you are feeding your cat and probably more but the spreadsheet is very important.
 
Thank you for getting your spreadsheet pulled together so quickly!

I realize it's too late to likely be helpful but it looks like the AM preshot test was a shootable number. I'm assuming since you filled in the dose, that you shot. If you can get another test or two during this cycle, it would be great. Hendrix's numbers are looking good.

I'd encourage you to start reading through the sticky notes at the top of the board. They will provide you with a solid overview of how Lantus works, our dosing methods as well as an overwhelming amount of other information. For some reason, it looks like the board hasn't been especially busy today. I'm surprised that more people haven't stopped by to say hello.

Please let us know if you have questions. We're here to help.
 
Hi there !
Congrats on shooting that (195) ! Good call. :D

One thing that helped me was getting some test before my next test was due and an hour after I gave a shot. With the +10 and/or the +1 information, I was able to see that my cat typically was on his way up towards shot time and even continued to rise after his PMPS time. This made it earlier to shoot numbers that were above ( 150) , but were new and a bit unexpected for me.

Becoming Data Ready:
Are you data ready to handle a lower preshot number?

Everyone focuses on the +6 spot check to find the cat’s nadir, but there is a reason to collect data in the very early and very late part of the cycle. The +10s and +11s and +1s and +2s are often the “neglected spot checks,” but they can be almost as important as the nadir.

Why the +1s and +2s? Let’s say you have a lower than usual preshot. If you have collected the data to know what usually happens after you shoot and how long it usually takes for the insulin to start having an effect (onset), you may see that shooting low is actually very safe for your cat. If your cat typically rises through +1 and +2 before the insulin starts to work between +2 and +3, then you can feel comfortable knowing that your cat will actually be much higher before the insulin starts to work. If your cat typically has little to no food spike or an early onset, then you may need to be more conservative with low preshots. You are not shooting the number your cat is at now – you are shooting the number your cat will be at when the insulin kicks in. You need to know what that number will be. You are then using the lag time (aka overlap and carryover) to your advantage. It is important to note that while Levemir may typically have a later onset than Lantus or Basaglar, that is not true for every cat. Know thy cat.

Why the +10s and +11s? These spot checks will help keep you out of trouble. Again, let’s say that you have a lower than usual preshot. If your preshot is higher than +10 or +11, you know the insulin from that cycle is waning, the cat is on his way up, and the number is probably shootable. If you have a preshot that is much lower than your +10 or +11, knowing why will help you decide whether or not to shoot. Some Lantus, Basaglar, and Levemir users notice a dip at the end of the cycle, meaning that the preshot is always a bit lower than +10 or +11 (but usually still higher than the nadir – the cat dips to a nadir at mid-cycle, then rises, then dips again). If this is your cat’s pattern, then this type of dip is not a reason to delay a shot. On the other hand, if your cat has a bounce clearing and is still careening downhill at shot time (usually characterized by numbers that drop for the whole cycle, without a clear nadir), then you will want to take that into consideration as you make a decision about shooting. Know thy cat.

You'll learn how to read the data trends and see where Hendrix looks like he is headed. Keep asking questions.
 
Hi there !
Congrats on shooting that (195) ! Good call. :D

One thing that helped me was getting some test before my next test was due and an hour after I gave a shot. With the +10 and/or the +1 information, I was able to see that my cat typically was on his way up towards shot time and even continued to rise after his PMPS time. This made it earlier to shoot numbers that were above ( 150) , but were new and a bit unexpected for me.

Becoming Data Ready:
Are you data ready to handle a lower preshot number?

Everyone focuses on the +6 spot check to find the cat’s nadir, but there is a reason to collect data in the very early and very late part of the cycle. The +10s and +11s and +1s and +2s are often the “neglected spot checks,” but they can be almost as important as the nadir.

Why the +1s and +2s? Let’s say you have a lower than usual preshot. If you have collected the data to know what usually happens after you shoot and how long it usually takes for the insulin to start having an effect (onset), you may see that shooting low is actually very safe for your cat. If your cat typically rises through +1 and +2 before the insulin starts to work between +2 and +3, then you can feel comfortable knowing that your cat will actually be much higher before the insulin starts to work. If your cat typically has little to no food spike or an early onset, then you may need to be more conservative with low preshots. You are not shooting the number your cat is at now – you are shooting the number your cat will be at when the insulin kicks in. You need to know what that number will be. You are then using the lag time (aka overlap and carryover) to your advantage. It is important to note that while Levemir may typically have a later onset than Lantus or Basaglar, that is not true for every cat. Know thy cat.

Why the +10s and +11s? These spot checks will help keep you out of trouble. Again, let’s say that you have a lower than usual preshot. If your preshot is higher than +10 or +11, you know the insulin from that cycle is waning, the cat is on his way up, and the number is probably shootable. If you have a preshot that is much lower than your +10 or +11, knowing why will help you decide whether or not to shoot. Some Lantus, Basaglar, and Levemir users notice a dip at the end of the cycle, meaning that the preshot is always a bit lower than +10 or +11 (but usually still higher than the nadir – the cat dips to a nadir at mid-cycle, then rises, then dips again). If this is your cat’s pattern, then this type of dip is not a reason to delay a shot. On the other hand, if your cat has a bounce clearing and is still careening downhill at shot time (usually characterized by numbers that drop for the whole cycle, without a clear nadir), then you will want to take that into consideration as you make a decision about shooting. Know thy cat.

You'll learn how to read the data trends and see where Hendrix looks like he is headed. Keep asking questions.
This confused me a bit but I keep reading it over and over. Lol I will eventually understand :). So I should start testing 1 or 2 hours after giving him his shot and 10-11 hours after?? Thank you all so much for your help it means a lot to me.
 
Thank you for getting your spreadsheet pulled together so quickly!

I realize it's too late to likely be helpful but it looks like the AM preshot test was a shootable number. I'm assuming since you filled in the dose, that you shot. If you can get another test or two during this cycle, it would be great. Hendrix's numbers are looking good.

I'd encourage you to start reading through the sticky notes at the top of the board. They will provide you with a solid overview of how Lantus works, our dosing methods as well as an overwhelming amount of other information. For some reason, it looks like the board hasn't been especially busy today. I'm surprised that more people haven't stopped by to say hello.

Please let us know if you have questions. We're here to help.
Thank you !!! I will be sure to read as much more information as I can. I usually wake up at 1030 and test him , feed him and give him his shot around 1130ish depending on how grumpy he is with me sometimes it does take me a bit. Then some days depending on his numbers I wait 2-3 hours after giving that shot to test again or I wait 4-6 hours to test. And I’m super proud of him and myself for how well he’s getting it, makes me happy. I gave him his test, feed, shoot at 1130pm and his BG was 12.3 before his shot. Then I usually wake up around 530am (6 hours after) to test him to see where he’s at. This morning (5:30am) his number was 7.4. Then I fed him. Then I wait until 1130am to test feed shoot again.

He’s been fussy lately with me I think his ears are tired of being pricked lol. So after I give him his test feed and shot for 11:30am today(later) should I test him 1-2 hours after that? Then again 10-11 hours later? Is that correct? I will definitely read up on it more. When it says + it confuses me sometimes with all the numbers lol. My brain gets overloaded sometimes as well trying to do as much learning as I can.
 
Thanks everyone for your help. I may need a bit more sleep as I get up at all these times for testing I get so exhausted and learning more just overloads my brain at times. So if my kitty does his test feed shoot at 1130am I would test him again 1-2 hours after his shot to see what the insulin did?? Then test him again 4-6 hours later?? I would definitely love to do this but Lately my cat has been super fussy with me even trying to get one test done.

I usually test feed shoot at 1130am then wait 4-6 hours (5-530pm) to test him again to see what the insulin did for him. Depending on if his numbers were low before his medicine at 1130am ....then I would sometimes test 2-3 hours after his shot. If that makes sense.....

Then at 1130PM I test feed shoot again. Sometimes I just get worried as his numbers have been lowering I don’t want to risk giving him his shot if his numbers are too low. That’s why I make posts to make sure it’s safe and okay. Now that his numbers are getting lower i get confused learning new information....I will let you all know what his numbers are this morning (11:30am) and maybe we can go from there and you can let me know if its safe for his shot and/also when to test him after that(his shot) based on his number that way I could eventually learn/understand better.
 
Crystal -

If you go back to the instructions for the spreadsheet, it also supplies information so you can include it in your signature. That way, we don't need to search for the link.

The "+" times indicate how many hours after you gave a shot. The people here are from all over the world. To use the time on the clock in your time zone really doesn't mean much to someone across the globe when we're trying to figure out the time relative to the insulin cycle. How we interpret numbers at +4 versus at +8 can make a difference when answering your questions.

Just to make sure we're on the same page, with Lantus, you can test, feed, and shoot all within a few minutes. Lantus onset (when the insulin kicks in) is about 2 hours after you give a shot. Many of us would test and feed and while our cat is eating would give a shot. It sounded like you were waiting about an hour after you fed Hendrix to give him his shot.

I'd also encourage you to look over this post on helping us to help you. It will give you more info on how to set up your signature as well as some other important suggestions about managing Hendrick's diabetes.
 
Hi and welcome to the group!

As time goes by and the more data you collect ( we are very driven by data) you’ll learn Hendricks patterns and trends.

As others mentioned, getting a +10 test will help you know whether the AM or PM test is rising or falling which will help your decision to shoot or stall.

After you shoot , and especially when you have shot a lower number than you have before , get a +2 test. If that number is the same or lower than the pre shot number, it could be an indicator of an active cycle. Usually after a kitty eats a meal , we would see a food bump in the numbers. That’s why the +2 test is a good one to grab especially at night so you would know if some more test were warranted.

Eventually, you will be shooting lower numbers as you see how he responds to the insulin.

Would you link your SS to your signature for us since you will be starting a new thread each day , we won’t have the SS available to us. Also, in your signature could you put the date of diagnosis , what meter you are using, food he is eating and any other health issues.

Keep posting and asking questions as that is how we all learned. And read and re read the stickies and other people’s post as that helps you learn too.

And take care of yourself too. Sleep when you can. This sugar dance is exhausting at first. But it will get easier !
 
Hi and welcome to the group!

As time goes by and the more data you collect ( we are very driven by data) you’ll learn Hendricks patterns and trends.

As others mentioned, getting a +10 test will help you know whether the AM or PM test is rising or falling which will help your decision to shoot or stall.

After you shoot , and especially when you have shot a lower number than you have before , get a +2 test. If that number is the same or lower than the pre shot number, it could be an indicator of an active cycle. Usually after a kitty eats a meal , we would see a food bump in the numbers. That’s why the +2 test is a good one to grab especially at night so you would know if some more test were warranted.

Eventually, you will be shooting lower numbers as you see how he responds to the insulin.

Would you link your SS to your signature for us since you will be starting a new thread each day , we won’t have the SS available to us. Also, in your signature could you put the date of diagnosis , what meter you are using, food he is eating and any other health issues.

Keep posting and asking questions as that is how we all learned. And read and re read the stickies and other people’s post as that helps you learn too.

And take care of yourself too. Sleep when you can. This sugar dance is exhausting at first. But it will get easier !


I added it to my signature for you guys! I put it in my about me by accident, I have also added his SS as well! I will make sure to test 2 hours after his test for sure and study the sticky notes as well
 
Back
Top