In desparate need of help! What dosage to shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hadaza

Member Since 2023
Hi,

Had my first possible hypo scare. Gave insulin 2 units of PZI at 9:30pm then went to work. Thankfully my daughter was next door to help. At 11:30 BG dropped to 300mg, by 12:44 am it was at 102mg. At 1:05 am, BG at 88mg. I had her give him high calorie food, and samll amount of kibble. His numbers began rising and at times would drop slightly (using freestyle libre 14). At 2:25am bg @ 175mg, then @ 2:45 it dropped to 155mg.
It's 3:07 am and I will continue to monitor levels all night.

My question about how much insulin to give him tomorrow morning (9:30am central)?
Will someone please look at my spreadsheet and help? Did I do the right thing by feeding high calorie food? By the way his numbers were dropping I didn't want to risk an emergency room visit. But I new to all this so I'm just not sure.

I'll keep updating spreadsheet throughout the night.
 
Last edited:
He was breaking the bounce from the yellows the day before.
With SLGS, a reduction is earned under 90. (The 87 was a lovely number by the way. You could have fed LC. Next time, save the higher carb for under 68 on the AT or 50 on the human meter.)
The new dose should be 1.75.
 
He was breaking the bounce from the yellows the day before.
With SLGS, a reduction is earned under 90. (The 87 was a lovely number by the way. You could have fed LC. Next time, save the higher carb for under 68 on the AT or 50 on the human meter.)
The new dose should be 1.75.
He still had 3 hours left till his half time and the BG was dropping fast. So next time wait till BG approaches 68 the feed LC, correct?
 
He was breaking the bounce from the yellows the day before.
With SLGS, a reduction is earned under 90. (The 87 was a lovely number by the way. You could have fed LC. Next time, save the higher carb for under 68 on the AT or 50 on the human meter.)
The new dose should be 1.75.
Quick question: For human readers you are referring to both he Freestyle libre 14 and ReliOn?
 
Quick question: For human readers you are referring to both he Freestyle libre 14 and ReliOn?
All human meters. Just so you know, there can be a variance from one brand of human meter to another. The Libre, especially, seems to read lower than most human meters at low numbers. If you get a low number on the Libre, double check with the Relion.
 
The Libre, especially, seems to read lower than most human meters at low numbers. If you get a low number on the Libre, double check with the Relion.
The last Libre 2 I had read significantly HIGHER that Relion meter. That made the low BG alarms worthless since they would not alarm unless the Relion would show a dangerously low BG. Thus one should always periodically compare earstick BG w/human meter with a Libre BG.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top