Irish Pat
Member Since 2020
Good morning everyone....So being new to this and reading a lot of posts on this forum I have developed a few questions, some may be stupid but im learning, as I indicated before we really don't have any clue about diabetes because its not in our family, we are still reading up on it but its a learning process. So if you could help me out I would really appreciate it. It appears a lot of people get inconsistent answers from their vets which doesn't really help the unknown. The help you are supplying us, words cant express how much it means to our family. Well here goes, Thank you
1. How much food should a cat consume before a shot is given?
2. What is the goal of insulin? Is it to try to maintain a consistent level of BG, meaning do you want to try to reach a certain BG number and that's where it should be everyday all the time or is that even possible? Like say below 100 or in the 100's, 200's, etc?
3. The vet wanted me to give him 2U of insulin, that appeared to be fine for a 24 hour period but his BG dropped to the lowest its been since he was diagnosed. My question here is, is it ok to keep changing his dosage from day to day? I feel if I did not home test and gave him 2U on the day his AMPS was 67 we may have had an issue that day with his BG dropping to low so we didn't give him any insulin that morning, or would that have been fine to give him 2U because this was prior to him eating?
4. How long does injected insulin stay in the felines body? Is giving insulin every 12 hours being given to maintain a constant level of insulin in the body?
5. Will cats still drink and urinate as much no matter what their BG readings are? Brady is doing a lot better in both, but im just curious if this is something that can happen because of the diagnosis?
6. This is a forum question..Is there actually any vets or vet techs in this group?
7. One other question, what does Dosing Method (SLGS or TR) stand for on the SS?
Lastly, Brady and his family want to thank all of you, it honestly has been the best thing we did joining this forum. The knowledge and support given by this group is priceless. With all that is going on in this world, I hope all of you remain safe and healthy. Thank you again, Brady, Pat and Von
1. How much food should a cat consume before a shot is given?
2. What is the goal of insulin? Is it to try to maintain a consistent level of BG, meaning do you want to try to reach a certain BG number and that's where it should be everyday all the time or is that even possible? Like say below 100 or in the 100's, 200's, etc?
3. The vet wanted me to give him 2U of insulin, that appeared to be fine for a 24 hour period but his BG dropped to the lowest its been since he was diagnosed. My question here is, is it ok to keep changing his dosage from day to day? I feel if I did not home test and gave him 2U on the day his AMPS was 67 we may have had an issue that day with his BG dropping to low so we didn't give him any insulin that morning, or would that have been fine to give him 2U because this was prior to him eating?
4. How long does injected insulin stay in the felines body? Is giving insulin every 12 hours being given to maintain a constant level of insulin in the body?
5. Will cats still drink and urinate as much no matter what their BG readings are? Brady is doing a lot better in both, but im just curious if this is something that can happen because of the diagnosis?
6. This is a forum question..Is there actually any vets or vet techs in this group?
7. One other question, what does Dosing Method (SLGS or TR) stand for on the SS?
Lastly, Brady and his family want to thank all of you, it honestly has been the best thing we did joining this forum. The knowledge and support given by this group is priceless. With all that is going on in this world, I hope all of you remain safe and healthy. Thank you again, Brady, Pat and Von
Last edited:
