Immediate advice needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ramon's mom

Member
I posted this in the Prozinc forum but haven't received any responses yet. Any chance someone here can give me some advice?: My cat Ramon's BG has registered normal today. This am it was 130, then 2 hours later it was 227 so I gave 1 unit of Prozinc. At the +8 hour time he was kind of lethargic so I tested then and it was 276. Now at the 12 hour mark from when he got the 1 unit I have tested and its 161 (and he even recently ate). What do I do right now about his insulin? Do I give .5 unit or nothing? Or wait 2 hours and retest to see if its back in the 200's? Please advise. This rollercoaster of levels is confusing.
 
I would wait at least 1 hour and check his BG again. You have about an hour of flexibility in shot times with ProZinc.

When you get a reading that is too low to give insulin, don't feed Ramon and stall for 20 to 30 minutes and retest again to see if he is rising and at a BG level that is safe to give insulin. If you are unsure, post for assistance. If you have to skip a shot, it's best to just wait till the next normal shot time than to give it somewhere in the middle of the cycle which just messes up your schedule. I know it's tempting to shoot when you see their BG rising but if you don't give the insulin, there is really no need to test mid cycle other than curiosity. :)
 
This am it was 130, then 2 hours later it was 227 so I gave 1 unit of Prozinc. At the +8 hour time he was kind of lethargic so I tested then and it was 276.

Just a little housekeeping note....the number you actually shoot is always your Pre-shot....so if you stalled for 2 hours this morning, your AMPS should be 227 @ +14.

You can also put the 130 into the AMPS cell....just put 130 @ +12, 227 @ +14.....then all your "+ cells" still correspond to the number of hours since the last shot.

Also, if you didn't shoot until +14 this morning, you need to take that into consideration on tonight's shot....It should be 12 hours after the morning shot (or close since ProZinc is a little more forgiving on shot times)
 
Thanks. Yes I tested tonight at 12 hours after the time he got the shot earlier. But that's when it was 161. Its about 1 hour later now so I will test again. But it does sound like I can just skip doses when this happens (am I correct?). I'm new to the protocols suggested here so I'm trying to understand. But I'm grateful to have specific advice and protocols to follow since the vets have been next to useless in helping me manage this.
 
As you get more experience and data on your cat, those "no shot" numbers can come down, so it won't always be 200.

Let's see where he's at when you re-test.

Also on your spreadsheet, the 161 should be in the PMPS cell....like this "161 @ +12"......then whatever your next test is (since it's an hour later), you'd put "### @ +13" …..also in the PMPS cell

Just like this mornings should have "130 @ +12, 227 @ +14" in the AMPS cell. You'll have to color code it yourself so I'd choose yellow since that's the actual number it was when you shot.
 
I think that's probably close enough to go ahead and shoot the 1U if you can test tonight.

His number is rising....that's a pretty good indication that the last shot is wearing off (as long as you didn't feed him when he got the 161)
 
I'm going to bed after this, so I guess I should not shoot then? The meter is the Alpha Trak with the Freestyle strips which run a little higher than the AT strips.
 
If you can't test tonight, you might want to give him a little (to keep him from going really high by AMPS)

How would you feel about doing .5? Or even .25?
 
On your spreadsheet, to get all those numbers into your PMPS cell, click on the PMPS cell and then go here and choose "text wrapping" and then "wrap"
upload_2018-12-13_23-42-32.png
 
Its actually 3 hours difference since I tested 12 hours after the dose he got 2 hours late this morning. Normally he gets it at 8 am and 8 pm. TOday it was shot at 10 am, tested at 10 pm (161) and 11 pm (193). I just gave him .5 unit. 8 am will be 8.5 hours from now.
 
OK yeah.....that's a little too early.

How about testing him at 10am and if he's high enough, shoot

Good job on your spreadsheet too!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top