i'm so confused! :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

katlady1974

Member Since 2013
Timber's PMPS was 599+ again tonight. this was day 2 of only getting a little bit of DM dry food. he was much lower lastnight and was down a bit this morning from the other morning. and then high again tonight. vet had said to increase his PM dose to 3u from 2u and i didn't lastnight because he was already lower than normal. i don't know if i should be giving different doses on different days?? so i just gave him 2u again tonight. i'm a night owl and since it's friday night i can likely get a +5 on him later on to see what's happening. ugh!!! :?
 
Looks like he is bouncing. Last night he may have even gone into green or low blue and his body is overreacting to this "low" number. It's not particularly low but his body has been so used to high numbers it forgets what normal looks like. Ie..

When a cat is first diagnosed, the blood glucose has probably been high for a while. As the insulin starts to take effect and numbers start to come down, the liver has to learn to adjust to the lower numbers. We call this "liver training school". But before it relearns that low numbers are ok, when the BG drops to a number lower than the liver is accustomed, or if BGs drop low, or if the BG drops suddenly, the liver”panics” and reacts by releasing counterregulatory hormones and glucagon. This drives the BG back up. This is what we call a "bounce". Bounces can take up to 72 hours to clear so we are generally careful about increasing doses during the bounce. Once the bounce clears, then you can see the "real" numbers and determine if the dose needs to go up or down

Because of this I would not change his dose. He could drop too low at night and Lantus works best with consistent dosing, not a different dose at night from morning. I would hold the dose and try and test to see how low he goes when he comes out of this bounce (you should see the numbers start to drop again).. Probably not tonite but maybe sometime tomorrow.


Wendy
 
i'll definitely post in the morning but then things get busy for the day. birthday party, grocery shopping, and single parenting!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top