RyanAmy02 said:
Could it happen to be that changing his food might make the numbers drop enough to not need to up the insulin? If we can use less insulin just by switching food wouldnt that be better?
Grr. Ive never not agreed with a vet or doctor or whatever. I think we should be doing a curve based on the 3 units before we up it to 4 units. Why would we up it before knowing for sure how the 3 is working?????? :?
You are ABSOLUTELY right!!!!
Changing the food can dramatically lower their insulin needs, and though they almost always do still need some insulin for a while to get back on track, that gives them the best chance for going OTJ.
And yes, it makes 0 sense to raise the dose when you don't know what the current dose is doing. We also do NOT raise in 1u increments - that's old school, and just too much room to miss the right dose and overdo it.
It is hard to disagree with your vet. Many if not most of us have been in the exact place you are, and stuggled too with how to handle it. I would say the short version is do NOT do something unsafe, which is what the dose increase would be. If your vet knows you got a reading around 100 they may well even say not to increase the dose. They are basing it on something like 300 earlier today, right? So if you need a spin to put on it when you talk to them, I would say "that number was lower than I expected, so I wasn't sure if it was safe to raise the dose, so I decided to wait until I could discuss it with you" or whatever. Ultimately I found it easier not to confer with my vet on specific doses, and just discuss the general picture. Or nod and smile and then go home and do what I wanted.
Suggestions for now, as others have said:
- NO SHOT if the BG is under 200. If it is that low, wait and retest, and then once it is over 200 shoot a reduced dose.
- NO DOSE INCREASE
- No food change until you can reliably test, and/or drop the dose to 1u when you change foods.
Testing can be up & down for a while until you get the routine going. Sounds like you are off to a good start (minus the kicking & screaming, LOL!), and have a good head on your shoulders. Trust your instincts, and don't feel like you have to do what the vet says simply b/c they are a vet. Remember, you are hiring them to be your consultant, so they're like your employee. Hehe. We all struggle with this. ;-)