I'm new with questions

Status
Not open for further replies.
Welcome to the FDMB Gay and extra sweet Skippy!!

I'm really happy you made it over here from the Facebook group! This is where the real miracles can happen!

I'm really glad you're going to switch from Vetsulin to Lantus...it's a much better and gentler insulin than vetsulin

Where are you on the switch to low carb canned food? I know we've talked some about it, but with all the other crazy things that have been going on, I'm not sure where you are.

What are you currently feeding?

I'm so glad that you've been able to get the supplies to home test, and some help showing you how to do it....now we just need to get Skippy feeling better!

How much does he weigh? Is he overweight, underweight or about right? This will help determine his starting dose on Lantus

Let us know any questions you can think of, and again, welcome!
 
If anyone can give her some testing advice for lantus, that would be great. She will be able to check in about an hour! ;-)
 
I'm a big fan of a +2 anytime you can get it. I call it my "crystal ball" test.

That +2 can give you an early warning if they're going to go lower later in the cycle.

Now of course ECID, but generally:

if the +2 is lower than the Pre-shot, it's a really good idea to get more tests later in the cycle..even if it means setting an alarm to get them. The bigger the difference, the more important to get more frequent tests.

If the +2 is about the same as the Pre-shot, then it generally means a more "normal" cycle, with a gradual lowering of the numbers until somewhere mid-cycle, then gradually heading back up

If the +2 is higher than the Pre-shot, it could be a sign that the cat is starting to bounce, or that there's still a food spike going on (can depend some on how carb sensitive the cat is) but it's usually OK to not test quite so often....but until you have a lot of data and really know how each cat responds to both food and insulin, there are no absolutes ....and even when you think you have them figured out, they have an annoying tendency to change the rules....lol

As for tonight, I'd get the +2 and let's see where he's at and go from there

Edited to add..Don't forget to keep the spreadsheet updated :-D

It will be helpful if in the subject line if you'll go back to the first post here and "edit" it....put the PMPS number, and then as you get new test results, go back again and add them

It would look like this:
PMPS 268, +2 ???.....and just keep editing that first subject line to add new numbers. If the post includes a question that hasn't been answered, add the ? icon to that first post's subject line, then when the question has been answered, remove the ? mark. If you think of another question later, you'd just re-add it!
 
Hello Gay and supersweet Skippy,

Just wanted to say 'Hi' and 'Welcome to FDMB'.
You're already doing really well, and will feel at home here in no time at all. :smile:

Eliz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top