I'm a big fan of a +2 anytime you can get it. I call it my "crystal ball" test.
That +2 can give you an early warning if they're going to go lower later in the cycle.
Now of course ECID, but generally:
if the +2 is lower than the Pre-shot, it's a really good idea to get more tests later in the cycle..even if it means setting an alarm to get them. The bigger the difference, the more important to get more frequent tests.
If the +2 is about the same as the Pre-shot, then it generally means a more "normal" cycle, with a gradual lowering of the numbers until somewhere mid-cycle, then gradually heading back up
If the +2 is higher than the Pre-shot, it could be a sign that the cat is starting to bounce, or that there's still a food spike going on (can depend some on how carb sensitive the cat is) but it's usually OK to not test quite so often....but until you have a lot of data and really know how each cat responds to both food and insulin, there are no absolutes ....and even when you think you have them figured out, they have an annoying tendency to change the rules....lol
As for tonight, I'd get the +2 and let's see where he's at and go from there
Edited to add..Don't forget to keep the spreadsheet updated
It will be helpful if in the subject line if you'll go back to the first post here and "edit" it....put the PMPS number, and then as you get new test results, go back again and add them
It would look like this:
PMPS 268, +2 ???.....and just keep editing that first subject line to add new numbers. If the post includes a question that hasn't been answered, add the ? icon to that first post's subject line, then when the question has been answered, remove the ? mark. If you think of another question later, you'd just re-add it!