Jmo625
Member Since 2017
Hi! My name is Jenny and my 12 year old cat, Lulu, was diagnosed with diabetes in January. After many trips to the vet to get her regulated, we finally settled on 7 units of Vetsulin, twice a day. She's appeared to be fine...until two nights ago. Around midnight, when I was getting ready for bed, I noticed as she was eating, she couldn't hold herself up and kept falling down or into the bowl. When she walked away, she was swaying and having problems staying upright. I immediately picked her up and put maple syrup on her gums, but it didn't seem to do much. I rushed her to the 24hr vet and they kept her overnight. When I brought her in, they said she had a bg of 31. Very low. After I picked her up the next morning, I brought her straight to my normal vet who couldn't really answer why she had low blood sugar. He suggested I reduce her insulin to 5 units and to buy a glucometer. I did and tried to use it today a few times. I have read so many articles and have seen so many videos of people testing their cats and they make it seem so easy! It's not. Maybe it will get better in time, but I am sad and frustrated right now. It makes sense to actually see the numbers before I give her insulin, but I don't know if the readings I get are accurate. I also work during the week and can't test her four times a day. I am feeling overwhelmed and bad for Lulu. I want her to be happy and feel good and I don't know that I am doing enough. Sorry for the long story, but I appreciate the forum! I'm glad I found this site!

I must have poked the poor guys ear about 12 times over the day but he was awesome about it