Im new to PZI board. Dosing dilemma for Lucy

Status
Not open for further replies.

123joan

Active Member
Lucy began PZI 1 unit twice daily July 20, we haven't hit the two week mark yet. She is 13 years old and weighs 10.4 pounds. I am having problems with her dosing.

I had to give her shot last night one hour early, and when I tested this morning (+13) she was 109 so I didn't shoot. Her next shot will be 24 hours since her last dose. I bought the U-100 syringes and printed out the conversion chart. I am going to try 0.5 tonight. I need help! RIght now, PMPS she is 397.

I realize this is difficult to read as a sentence, that is why the spreadsheet is so FABULOUS.

I did remove her dry food on day three, she was getting some dry, some wet before that.

Here is my dilemma since last night, I've been posting on the main FDMB forum, Sue and Oliver suggested I post over here too.
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=76153

Thank you thank you thank you.
 
Hi Joan,

I'm glad you made it over to our PZI group. I havn't looked at your ss yet but I did read through yesterday's and today's threads. If you shot .6u last nigh and got a low AMPS lowering tonights dose to .5u isn't much of a decrease.

I'll go look at the ss, brb.
 
Lucy is responding well to the insulin. Sometimes it is hard to tell the difference between a dose too high or when Ms. Pancreas is paying a visit to help out.

To be on the safe side I think I'd lower the dose to .4u or less. You have the U100 syringes with the half unit markings right? with the conversion chart so you can dose by .2u increments with the markings.

Again WELCOME to our group, others will stop by soon to introduce themselves.
 
I'm happy to meet you too. I don't get over to Health much but I see that Sue took good care of you so far.

I think you'll like our little group, it's busier in the mornings and evenings.

Lucy is beautiful btw, I think that Mr. Baxter is going to be smitten when he sees her.
 
Just popping in to say "hi!" Welcome. A lot of us post daily threads, and we're busiest early morning.& evening. Good luck!
 
Good morning and welcome to the PZI Family! cat_pet_icon

Since most of us have something that takes us away from home on a daily basis, doing a curve on a day off and testing at AMPS and PMPS is all some of us can do. Having treats for testing helps kitty particpate. :lol:

If the healing of the ears is the issue, a small bit of neosporin or the like helps a lot!
 
Looks like you got a nice amps this morning. It will be interesting to see what this dose will do. Our hope is that you end up with a decent nadir around+6 and then a shootable number tonight. Paws crossed.
 
Welcome to PZI Joan and Lucy.
It looks like she is responding well to the insulin with some help from her pancreas.
Lucy is a beautiful kitty; is she a Himy or a Ragdoll? I have a male seal point Ragdoll that looks a lot like Lucy.
 
I usually test around +6, just to see how how he goes mid-cycle; any mid cycle number is helpful, but you don't have to test constantly. You may want to check more often until you figure out dosing and how she'll react. We had one guy who tested every hour--I can't believe his cat let him get away with it, and you don't have to go to that extreme. :lol:
 
Angela&Henry said:
Welcome to PZI Joan and Lucy.
It looks like she is responding well to the insulin with some help from her pancreas.
Lucy is a beautiful kitty; is she a Himy or a Ragdoll? I have a male seal point Ragdoll that looks a lot like Lucy.
My friend rescued Lucy's mom...a pregnant, very sick stray. I saw Lucy when she was a week old and had to have her! That was 13 years ago. So I don't know what her breeding is, she is beautiful, and another friend deemed her "the star of the neighborhood".
 
bookw0rm said:
I usually test around +6, just to see how how he goes mid-cycle; any mid cycle number is helpful, but you don't have to test constantly. You may want to check more often until you figure out dosing and how she'll react. We had one guy who tested every hour--I can't believe his cat let him get away with it, and you don't have to go to that extreme. :lol:
Oh that poor kitty! That guy must have been really good at testing. I'm hoping this dose works well for Lucy, so far so good: ONE DAY!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top