I'm new - Somebody please help me

Status
Not open for further replies.

WorriedMom

Member Since 2010
Hello,
My cat has been having hypoglycemic episodes. I don't know how to home test and it seems like the vets just want me to go away (she's a diabetic that has apparently become difficult to control). I can't get the answers I'm looking for and I feel like my cat and I are on shaky ground every minute, with me not knowing what her BG is unless I run her to a vet.

I need to find out exactly how to home test ASAP. I feel like I'm on my own. No vet has offered to show me or even tell me where to get the stuff. I'm under an extreme amount of stress each day not knowing what's going on with her BG. This is unbearable.

Here is her situation for anyone who cares to read thru it (thank you in advance).

On PZI for 3 years no problems. On 3 units Lantus for 1 year. Had a hypo incident back in May - caught it quickly and was sent home and told: No insulin for the next 2 days. 2 days later she had DKA. While in the hospital they noticed a gallstone and her liver was enlarged. When she was released gallstone and liver were fine (bloodwork, ultrasound, etc).

Back on her 3 units but laying around and not herself, with increased hunger and weight gain. Had her back to the vet and got no answers. Bloodwork for her liver, etc was fine, and vet didn't feel liver was enlarged or any sensitivity in the stomache area.

Another hypo incident late August, this one more serious requiring hospitalization. Thought there might have been a mistake made with the amount of food given.

Another hypo incident last weekend. Caught in time only overnight hospitalization at the emergency place. At this point I'm thinking there's an underlying condition.

BG was 38. Glucose was given orally and BG went to 122. Emergency docs expected it to continue to rise, however a few hours later it dipped to 89. She was placed on iv glucose and it continued to rise until she was realesed. Told to give only 1 unit Lantus until I get to her to her specialty vet. Vet suspected she was creating her own insulin.

Specialty vet was unconcerned with the fact that her BG dipped on its own after receiving glucose. She remains unconcerned. Took her to her regular local vet last night for a BG reading and she too was unconcerned that her BG had dipped on its own. Both vets believe she just doesn't need as much Lantus anymore - it happens.

That's it. They're not suggesting anything more. I feel completely on my own with this and right now I think she looks hypo. Fed her but she dosn't seem right.

This is unbearable. I don't know what to do.
 
Hi and welcome.

We can teach you to hometest, you don't need permission from your vet to keep your cat safe.

Here's a link to hometesting videos that show you exactly how we do it.
viewtopic.php?f=14&t=287

I use a meter from Walmart, the Relion meter. There are many great choices.

Are you giving the Lantus 1 per day or 2 times per day.

I've just learned myself that Lantus hypos can last longer than the original drop in BG.

There's a support group for Lantus users, you can post there as well. If you go to the Lantus support group (ISG - insulin support group) there are some stickies with great info on Lantus.viewforum.php?f=9
 
Hometesting tips and tricks: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=287

Hypo reference sheet: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1122 and http://felinediabetes.com/hypogly.htm

Things to keep at home to use in case of a hypo: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=2354

Any Human blood glucose meter sold at the local Human pharmacy will work. Wal Mart's Relion brand meters is inexpensive and works well. A meter is like $10 and a box of 50 test strips (sold separately) is like $20. Lancets are inexpensive but I don't know exactly how much (less than $10?). A basic meter is all you need.

Are you using U100 insulin syringes with Lantus?

Are you measuring the dose correctly?
 
I feel completely on my own with this and right now I think she looks hypo. Fed her but she dosn't seem right.
did you feed her regular, or higher carb food? higher carb foods are better at raising blood sugar quickly, if she's low. do you use syrup?

there are some really good hometesting links here, even some videos too of how to hometest viewtopic.php?f=14&t=287

you'll need a glucometer, lancets (with or without lancet pen) and test strips. you can pick those up at any pharmacy.

where do you live? town/state? we may have members close by who can stop in and help you learn, or even recommend a more helpful vet.
 
Hi so sorry to read your story.

Your absolutely right-hometesting is the only way your going to know what is going on with your cat.
Vets sound extremely irresponsible and have possibly dosed based on what numbers they have seen in vets. If she suffers from vet stress her bg could go through the roof and that has heck of an impact on what dose she needs.

Lori has newbie kits-this is a strater kit, though may take a few days to get to you.
Otherwise, you can get one from walmart, relion I think it is. cheap and so are the strips. Plenty of people here who will talk you through it. Also vids on internet. I had no chance of anyone helping me but even I managed it (after 35 goes!! :lol: )
You could also post your state and see if someone is near you. (then you go to private message for exact address details-have to remember this is a public forum and can get phishing type stuff)

Here are the homestesing links:
viewtopic.php?f=14&t=287

and although you sadly sound like you have had plenty of experience hypo toolkit:
viewtopic.php?f=14&t=2354

We need to remember (so remind peeople) that you've had DKA.

I still think there's a negligence issue here on the part of your vets-grrrrr

You have come to the right place, we can and will help you-hang in there :mrgreen:
 
Nothing like being told the same thing 3 times :lol:

I'll leave the other guys to carry on as they are on the right side of the sea.
Take your time, think things through and just keep asking questions as they occur to you.

Good luck :mrgreen:
 
Lantus 1 unit 2x a day. Glad to see I can get the stuff need at WalMart with no prescription.

I'm attempting to get a urine test but of course she's not going to the bathroom.

I can't imagine how I'm going to do the blood test without someone to hold her. She was a stray and 10 yrs later still won't really even let me pick her up. I can't imagine being able to pull it off. But I'm desperate.

Fed her a wet can af Fancy Feast. She ate 1/3 which is typical for her. The syringes hold 30 units and I'm certain I'm measuring correctly.

Thanks so much for answering.
 
i'm new, so others can give you advice...but let me reassure you...now that you've found the fdmb, you are no longer alone in this.

these folks have been guiding, educating and supporting me for 2 months...and will do the same for you.

there is more knowledge and caring here than you can imagine...

so, welcome!!

celi & binks
 
Hi Worried Mom. I'm so glad you found this forum because you can get a lot of help here.

Lantus is a very good insulin, but hometesting is going to help you figure out the proper dose and how your kitty reacts to it. You can catch a hypo before it happens in many cases and if you're testing, the chances of hypo are less because you're going to be prepared to handle lower numbers.

How much lantus is your kitty on and how many times a day? It's usually given twice a day.

What foods is kitty on?

Do you test for ketones? This can be done with human ketodiastix from your local pharmacy. Until you are hometesting, these sticks can test for both ketones and glucose levels.The glucose readings will be not be in real time, though, because the urine has been sitting in the kidneys for a while, but it's better than nothing. I urge you to start trying to hometest, immediately, in view of the issues you've been having.

Hometesting will give you so much peace of mind and will alleviate a lot of the stress you're having right now in addition to helping you keep kitty feeling good and safe.

Hometesting is not difficult. It can be awkward, at first, but once you get into the habit, you'll be able to do it quickly and it will simply become habit.

Under insulin support groups, you'll see "lantus". Read the stickies on it. Within the stickies, you'll see some links for being prepared for the low numbers and how to handle those at home. We call it they hypo toolbox.

Stay here and ask questions. People here know how you feel and will help you calm down and assist you in keeping both you and your kitty much happier and much less stressed!
 
I'm in New Jersey - Middlesex County.

Thank you everyone for answering. And yes, I am very concerned about DKA as a result of me withholding her insulin while I assume she has low BG ( but who knows?..) I have the BG - Ketone testing sticks but can't get her to urinate...
 
For a difficult kitty I'd suggest you start playing with her ears now, get her used to you touching them. Once you get the lancet device with the kit, you could try clicking it near her ear a few times, at different times of the day to get her used to the sound.

It's not loud, but if she's not used to you handling her ears, clicking around them before you start hometesting may help.

If she's really tough, you can make a kitty burrito. Basically, wrap her up tight in a towel so all her paws are secured and just her head is showing.

Always, always, always give her a fantastic treat at test time. She'll start to associate pieces of turkey, or freeze dried chicken or salmon with her test and that makes things a lot smoother.

We have a few folks in NJ, hopefully someone nearby can help. I'm in CT, not really close enough.
 
I just wanted to say, I knew exactly how you feel. So long ago, I felt so frustrated trying to find a vet that would help me. and I finally found this board. We will help you. You will be okay,. You will need to learn to home test. My vet probably thinks I'm crazy to do it (because so few of his patients do) and very thorough. I am also in N.J., Hunterdon County.
This board is a life saver. You will get the answers and support you need to get through this. If you need me, PM me. I have Saturday off, and can come help you, if you need me.
 
WorriedMom said:
Lantus 1 unit 2x a day.

The syringes hold 30 units and I'm certain I'm measuring correctly.

1 unit is the teeny first line right under the needle, not including the bold line which is zero. It's probably easiest to start at the line marked as 5 and count the lines backwards (that is, up towards the needle) to get to 1 unit.

The line marked 10 is 10 units, not 1.0 units.

resource.aspx


Do your insulin syryinges have half unit markings? If, not you should buy some. The half units makes is easy to measure tiny doses like half units and even quarter units which some cats need. But that's assuming your cat will continue to need some insulin.

Reward kitty with treats after testing, even if it was not a successful test. You want kitty to learn to accept testing without fussing. A list of suggested low carb treats is here: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=9172
 
I'm attempting to get a urine test but of course she's not going to the bathroom.

I had trouble with this, as well, before I was able to test Calliope. I got a disposable litter box and I lined it with a liner. I put just a wee bit of litter in it, so the urine would puddle up. I put Calliope in my bedroom where the bathroom was with the litterbox. I put food and water in with her. Then, I stalked and waited for her to go to the litterbox, checking it all the time. As soon as she peed, I tested with the dip stick. Then, I removed that liner and repeated the next time I needed to test. It worked very well.

WorriedMom said:
I can't imagine how I'm going to do the blood test without someone to hold her. She was a stray and 10 yrs later still won't really even let me pick her up. I can't imagine being able to pull it off. But I'm desperate.

Calliope was not cooperative AT ALL when I tested her, ever. I had to try all kinds of things and finally, I was able to wrap her in a blanket burrito style to get it done. I also sprayed the blanket with catnip, which helped. I had treats ready for afterward and they can be given before, as well. She liked Halo Liv a Little chicken treats. She was mad at me during and for a little while, after, but she got over it.

Every time you try to hometest, you'll be closer to getting it done. You can report here and people can give you tips. There are lots of folks here who have had difficult kitties and people have a lot of things to suggest that you try. Don't ever give up!
 
Ok so I'm still here :roll:

She should pee, if only a bit. Can you stalk her and put clingfilm over the LB? Or no litter in her box at all if you think she will use it. (needs to be clean)

As for holding her-Lucky was extremely fractious. Have you got a small blanket/throw? That is what I used for Lucky (beach towel would probably work too). I popped it over her back and scooped her up. Just had her head peeping through so helped with the claws!
I then sat on floor (you can sit on chair, setee wherever comfrtable for you) with her on my knee, using one hand to keep her on me and the other hand for getting test.
So need all your testing bits ready by your side.

After a few days, Lucky didn't always need the throw but it became a sign of what was coming and I think she found it reassuring.
Give a treat after too so starts to associate the test with something nice (freeze dried treats are popular) I used a bit of fresh bolied chicken (cos I couldn't get the freeze dried).

You'll probably be nervous too, so talk to kitty whilst your doing this, will help keep you calm too (kitty can pick up on your worries too).
It might take a few goes, but you will get there.

1u is a good dose.
If your really worried, sounds odd but if you think this may be too much (but still concerned about DKA) add a smidge of karo to the food your giving (which is also spot on btw for carbs) so that makes it a bit higher carb, still has insulin but should stop kitty dropping low.(This is not the norm)
Could be that the food change has dropped numbers enough, but you need to get to the bottom of the DKA and best way for now is hometesting.
 
I have some plastic liner over the LB and I've been stalking.....

Do not have half unit marks on my syringes but I am correctly giving one unit - according to the pic.

Everybody is SO helpful. THANK GOD.

Gotta go close my car windows, it's gonna rain....
 
You've gotten excellent advice. If you can get the meter and lancets, watch the video, try the meter on yourself, we can help you get this done tonight. One of the things you will probably need is a rice sack. We use it to warm the cat's ear. (thinnish sock filled with raw rice heated in microwave until very warm but not hot).

If you are worried he won't sit still for this, and you do need to get a reading soon, try the clothespin trick. It mimics the mother cat holding the kitten still by the scruff of the neck, and it has worked for some of our most difficult cats: http://www.felinecrf.org/giving_sub-qs_ ... _peg_trick
 
Best place to be with DX cat. This place is great. I only had my cat on Lantus for 2 months .People here are awesome. Sending Angels Prayers and beautiful glowing green light to both of you. Once you start hometesting you are taking control of your cats health and you two will be great.... :mrgreen: ~O) make sure when you start testing you have to BREATH before you test ;-) I was a wreck for 2 weeks now I can do almost anything. You will be great...If anything I can do just ask ok Big welcome aboard....Kath
 
Oh that clothespin trick is interesting...

I'm really hoping I don't have to get a hometest/bloodtest tonight. I'm hoping that I can get a urine sample. I can't imagine her sitting there wrapped in a blanket without fighting to get off my lap and out of the blanket, screaming, etc. If I have to though, I will. WalMart is open another 2 hrs.

It's time for her insulin. I'm not going to give it though without at least a urine test or blood reading to see if she's hypo. Right?...

Or do I do the karo in some food and give the insulin? I mean, what if she's not acting right because she's feeling ill from high BG?

This sucks.
 
just saw this - I'm in Iselin - off Rte 1 and green st.

where are you?

I've got some meters with test strips that I can give you and certainly can show you how to test and even set you up with a better vet. By the way, who is your vet.

I'm going to PM you my phone number so we can talk freely and let's see how I can help you... I work during the day but can come over late afternoon, evening or even this weekend.

to check pm's go to upper left corner and you will see _ messages waiting

click there and you'll get my number - call me, I'm up and here and can talk and help you figure this out.

and which emergency did you go to....I hope not the one I'm thinking on Rt 27 in iselin?
 
OMG I'm off Green St in Woodbridge - LOL! I'm going to try to have something to eat and I will call you in a little while. Thank you.
 
ah I see you have pee issues, well I can help with that too - I have that litter box that collects pee in a container, so you can pull out and test it - you can borrow it.

it needs to be cleaned and needs the pellet things for it - I'm sure someone on here can suggest what to use instead of those pellet things.
 
The urine test will only tell you whether she had sugar in her system hours ago, since it had to make its way all through her body. It isn't a test that will tell you if you can safely give insulin or not. It can tell you if she has ketones, which would mean that her blood glucose levels are dangerously high.

No, trying to offset insulin with syrup is dangerous. You really need to test her blood glucose. Can you get a meter? The Walmart ReliOn is cheapest, but you can get any meter that sips and takes a small sample. They are not expensive; it is the strips that are expensive. You can get them on ebay for less later, but tonight you would have to pay the price if you don't get the ReliOn. Besides the meter, you need lancets and a lancet device. We can walk you through it, if you think the clothespin trick will work to keep her quiet for you.

Your suspicion is that she is getting too much insulin, right? So, if you can't manage a test tonight, I think it would be better to skip the shot. It is better for her to be too high for a day than too low for an hour.

Oh, good. Just saw that Hillary and Maui found you. Hope you can hook up tonight or tomorrow.
 
No real advice here since you already have some of the best. Just wanted to pop in and Welcome you to the FDMB family. You are now at the best place on the planet to get help with your extra sweet baby.

Mel
 
Hillary & Maui said:
it needs to be cleaned and needs the pellet things for it - I'm sure someone on here can suggest what to use instead of those pellet things.

Fish tank gravel/pebbles will probably work :smile:
 
woohoooo! i just had to map that and omg you guys really are neighbors! Hillary is great! she's donated tons of stuff to the newbie kit thing we do here on fdmb over the last couple years and has helped many people local to her. you'll be in great hands with her. and last i knew Maui was still in remission :-)
 
Hi all - Talk about a small world is right! Well Hillary was kind enough to come out right away and make a "house call". Unfortunately my cat was NOT in the mood for it. Much later on when she calmed down I got as far as holding her ear and lancing it - but she wasn't having it. She was very angry and running. Later on when she came around, I saw that it was just a teensy little blood drop, not enough for the strip even if she did cooperate.

I think whoever suggested holding her ear every day for a few days, etc and slowly easing her into it might have had the right idea for this paticular cat. I mean, at this point I can't see it ever happening, but I will try a few more times. Otherwise I will just have to do urine tests. I know it's not the same but it's better than nothing and might wind up being all I can do.

Finally got a urine sample at 3am amd her BG was the highest on the strip - but no ketones, thank God. Which sort of tells me that I was wrong in thinking that she might have been hypo earlier this evening. This is very, very frustrating and upsetting. As many of you know...

Gave her the one unit of lantus at 3am and I will rush home from work at 3pm to be sure and give her next one. (With the BG so high on the strip I was afraid to wait until 8am to give the shot.)

Thanks so much everyone. I gotta get some sleep.
 
So glad you and Hillary hooked up!

Don't give up on the testing. It can take time, especially with difficult kitties. Keep working on the ear rubbing and use the vaseline to help the blood bead up if you didn't already. Just rub it on the ear before you lance it. You got some blood and that's progress already. Try the treats before and after, too.

I had to use the pen to get blood. I couldn't freehand with the lancet since Calliope fought me so much, even when she was wrapped in the blanket. Find the way that's most comfortable for you and kitty or YOU, at least.

There are lots of tricks people can help you with if you describe the method you're using to try to get blood. Hillary probably knows most, if not all, of the the tricks!

There's a product called glucotest by Purina that I used for a few days while trying to get blood. It worked okay for me, but again, I had no way of knowing how old the results were. It gave me an idea of what was going on at some point.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top