I’m new here!

Status
Not open for further replies.

lacimae11

Member Since 2022
Hi all,

I am currently sitting at the ER vet after a scare of DKA. vet thinks she does not have it, getting blood test now to rule out ketones. Will work on the spreadsheet when I get home. here is some information about Kahlua:
Kahlua, Sphynx , 6 y/o, Diagnosed approx 2018, Vetsulin 4U 2x per day, Using AlphaTrak 2 meter, Diet is SmallBatch Raw Turkey Patties. 4-5 per day. Small handfulls of low carb dry food throughout day. Asthma - takes cerenia and/or fluticasone inhaler to reduce coughing.
 
Hi Laci! So glad to see you over here from the FB group! Kahlua has sure had one heck of a day and I know you have too! Hopefully they won't find any ketones!

You might also want to ask them for a script for ondansetron (brand name Zofran). It's a human drug for people going through chemotherapy and is better for nausea. Cerenia is good too but it's more for actual vomiting.

Asthma - takes cerenia

Cerenia is for vomiting, not asthma.

Small handfulls of low carb dry food throughout day.

Which kind of low carb kibble?

I know you have concerns about Kahlua's treatment for the past 4 years and you're right to be concerned. Vetsulin isn't a very good insulin for cats and even if she was on a great insulin, if it's not dosed correctly, it's not going to work it's best and even if it IS dosed correctly, not every insulin works in every cat so after about 6 months of trying, if you're still getting lousy results, it's probably time to try something else!

Glargine (Brand names Lantus, Basaglar, Semglee) has the most research proving it's effectiveness in cats so that's what I'd try for. Other insulins that work well in cats are ProZinc (a veterinary insulin) or Levemir (human).

It is pricey though which is one of the reasons a lot of us get it from a pharmacy in Canada where it's 1/3 to 1/2 the price compared to the US. A 5 pack of pens is 1500 units which is enough to last most cats at least a year and some up to 2 years.

Sending prayers for Kahlua in hopes she's not producing ketones and can come home soon!
 
Just wanted to pop on and say hello here too! I’m more active on the FB page (as Becky) since we lost Max last year to renal failure. But this forum was key into me helping him reach remission.
 
Hi Laci! So glad to see you over here from the FB group! Kahlua has sure had one heck of a day and I know you have too! Hopefully they won't find any ketones!

You might also want to ask them for a script for ondansetron (brand name Zofran). It's a human drug for people going through chemotherapy and is better for nausea. Cerenia is good too but it's more for actual vomiting.



Cerenia is for vomiting, not asthma.



Which kind of low carb kibble?

I know you have concerns about Kahlua's treatment for the past 4 years and you're right to be concerned. Vetsulin isn't a very good insulin for cats and even if she was on a great insulin, if it's not dosed correctly, it's not going to work it's best and even if it IS dosed correctly, not every insulin works in every cat so after about 6 months of trying, if you're still getting lousy results, it's probably time to try something else!

Glargine (Brand names Lantus, Basaglar, Semglee) has the most research proving it's effectiveness in cats so that's what I'd try for. Other insulins that work well in cats are ProZinc (a veterinary insulin) or Levemir (human).

It is pricey though which is one of the reasons a lot of us get it from a pharmacy in Canada where it's 1/3 to 1/2 the price compared to the US. A 5 pack of pens is 1500 units which is enough to last most cats at least a year and some up to 2 years.

Sending prayers for Kahlua in hopes she's not producing ketones and can come home soon!

i am concerned about her lack of progress on Vetsulin. I will look into getting a script for lantus. She is eating N&D ocean fish kibble and gets only a small amount per day when she is screaming at me and has already had her raw food.
 
Welcome Laci and Kahlua
This was from one of our members whose cat was on lantus which is very expensive in the US
Basaglar has worked wonderfully, we were using Lantus and when we switched there wasn't even a blip. Hendrick did not seem to notice at all.

Check this out also
https://www.goodrx.com/insulin-glargine?dosage=five-3ml-prefilled-pens-of-100-units-ml&form=carton&label_override=insulin glargine&quantity=1
The 5 pens will last about a year

Basaglar is also Insulin Glargine, it acts the same way.

Here is a saving card for basaglar for 5 pens
Check it out just put in where it says set your location
https://www.goodrx.com/basaglar

I see some members will call CVS, Rite Aid, Costco to get the price for 5 pens
If you switch you will need U-100 syringes with half unit markings
We use the syringes with pens because with the pens you can only change the dose by full units so we use syringes with half unit markings
You just stick the syringe in the rubber stopper on the pen and draw out the insulin from there
Call some supermarket pharmacy's too

If the Alpha Trak strips become too expensive for you most of us use human meter ,the text strips are so much cheaper ,if you live in the US. Our numbers are based on human meters anyway
In case you ever want to switch and have a Walmart by you or you can order them on line
You can buy The Relion Premier Classic for 9 dollars
17.88 for 100 tests strips
 
Thank you for this info! It looks like for 5 pens is about 250. I spend 70$ each month for Vetsulin so it would even out. If I got the basaglar, would the same Lantis script work?
 
If I got the basaglar, would the same Lantis script work?

Yes, it's a bio-similar and most vets write the scripts as "substitution permitted".

She is eating N&D ocean fish kibble and gets only a small amount per day when she is screaming at me and has already had her raw food.

That's too high in carbs. She'd do better getting more of her raw if she's hungry. You can also get auto-feeders like the Cat Mate 500 that comes with ice packs. You can program it to open up to 5 times and offer a fresh meal (great for those middle of night snacks!) and then you want it to rotate to an empty space at least 2 hours before shot time so that when you do your Pre-shot test, it's not influenced by food.

Which raw is she on? Believe it or not, there are some out there that are full of fruits and veggies that cat's don't need.

As for syringes, if you have a Walmart near you, you can get U100, 3/10ml, 30 or 31 gauge insulin syringes (the 3/10ml syringes ALL have half unit marks no matter what they might tell you). They should hold a maximum of 30 units. Either one of these is fine (and can be 30 gauge or 31) They are $12.58/100
upload_2022-7-12_20-33-38.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-7-12_20-33-38.jpeg
    upload_2022-7-12_20-33-38.jpeg
    60.9 KB · Views: 1,779
Hi and welcome to the group. So Kahlua was diagnosed with FD when she was just 2? That may be the youngest I've ever heard, so sorry that this happened. I am not one of the experts but from my own personal experience, Lantus or Basaglar and following the Tight Regulation dosing method is the way to go. I had great success with it, and so far this year there have been 17 cats here at the FDMB that have gone into diabetic remission following TR, dosing Lantus/biosimilars, and getting expert daily guidance from the FDMB gurus.
 
Will work on the spreadsheet when I get home.
That would be great if you can set up a spreadsheet so we can follow along and see how the vetsulin is working especially if you switch to generic lantus .
I'm sure if you ask Chris she would be happy to do it for you , we also have another member who will be happy to set it up for you also. Just ask :cat:
 
Hi and welcome to the group. So Kahlua was diagnosed with FD when she was just 2? That may be the youngest I've ever heard, so sorry that this happened. I am not one of the experts but from my own personal experience, Lantus or Basaglar and following the Tight Regulation dosing method is the way to go. I had great success with it, and so far this year there have been 17 cats here at the FDMB that have gone into diabetic remission following TR, dosing Lantus/biosimilars, and getting expert daily guidance from the FDMB gurus.
Hi there. yes she was diagnosed shortly after she was given steroids to treat her asthma. It’s been a horrible ride so far……
 
Yes, it's a bio-similar and most vets write the scripts as "substitution permitted".



That's too high in carbs. She'd do better getting more of her raw if she's hungry. You can also get auto-feeders like the Cat Mate 500 that comes with ice packs. You can program it to open up to 5 times and offer a fresh meal (great for those middle of night snacks!) and then you want it to rotate to an empty space at least 2 hours before shot time so that when you do your Pre-shot test, it's not influenced by food.

Which raw is she on? Believe it or not, there are some out there that are full of fruits and veggies that cat's don't need.

As for syringes, if you have a Walmart near you, you can get U100, 3/10ml, 30 or 31 gauge insulin syringes (the 3/10ml syringes ALL have half unit marks no matter what they might tell you). They should hold a maximum of 30 units. Either one of these is fine (and can be 30 gauge or 31) They are $12.58/100
View attachment 64779

she is eating SmallBatch Raw Turkey. Thanks for the info about the syringes…I was wondering if I could get them from a regular store!
 
Hi all, finally got the Lantus script.
advice on best place to get it? GoodRX says I can’t order if it’s for a pet. I’ll admit, I’m feeling a little overwhelmed.
 
A lot of people order from Canada , it's much cheaper they are very nice people
Call them and tell them you want the price for glargine or basaglar 5 pens
https://canshipmeds.com/medication/lantus/

I see some members will call CVS, Rite Aid, Costco, Walgreen's, to get the price for 5 pens

You will need U-100 syringes with half unit markings for lantus , just insert the syringe into the pen and draw out the insulin.
13.47 for a box of 100 Here is the link to buy them from
If they say you need a script from you vet they will call the vet to fax it over 'ask for refills and give your vets office a heads up . I know that some member didn't need a script at all ,I did I live in N.J. So I guess it depends on where you live

https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/1316/surecomfort-u100-syringes-half-unit-31g-3-10cc-5-16in-100ct

One members posted this
I get the generic version of Semglee which is simply called "Insulin Glargine". It's a biosimilar to Lantus. I paid $175 for a box of 5 pens at Walmart pharmacy, but GoodRX coupon says you can get it for around $90 if you have a Rite Aid pharmacy near you
 
You really should set up our spreadsheet so you can track your cats BG. We need to see this so the members can give you advice about the dose to see how the vetsulin has been working , then if you switch to generic lantus they can tell you what dose to start with
See if you can set it up ,if not I can ask Chris to set it up for you
How is Kahula doing ?
Do you have all the BG numbers so you can fill in the spreadsheet?


https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/

As Chris said in post #10

As for syringes, if you have a Walmart near you, you can get U100, 3/10ml, 30 or 31 gauge insulin syringes (the 3/10ml syringes ALL have half unit marks no matter what they might tell you). They should hold a maximum of 30 units. Either one of these is fine (and can be 30 gauge or 31) They are $12.58/100
 
Last edited:
she is eating SmallBatch Raw Turkey. Thanks for the info about the syringes…I was wondering if I could get them from a regular store!
Only Walmart would have the U-100 syringes with half unit markings Chris posted the pic of the boxes above. You have to go into the store to buy them


Open the box and make sure they look like the ones on the left

30-unit-insulin-syringe-markings.jpg
 
Hi all, finally got the Lantus script.
advice on best place to get it? GoodRX says I can’t order if it’s for a pet. I’ll admit, I’m feeling a little overwhelmed.
In GoodRx select the generic glargine, not Lantus. See:
glargine Screen Shot 2022-07-30 at 3.49.46 PM.png
 

Attachments

  • glargine Screen Shot 2022-07-30 at 3.49.46 PM.png
    glargine Screen Shot 2022-07-30 at 3.49.46 PM.png
    136.9 KB · Views: 492
I see @Chris & China (GA) asked what you ate feeding above

Is this what you are feeding
I see you can feed it to cats also
https://smallbatchpets.com/turkeybatch
88% humanely raised and harvested turkey, 10% organic produce, 2% natural supplements
turkey, turkey necks, turkey backs, turkey livers, turkey hearts, turkey gizzards, organic squash, organic celery, organic cauliflower, organic green beans, salmon oil, organic bok choy, organic apple cider vinegar, organic kelp*, organic dandelion, organic cilantro, organic bee pollen, organic wheat grass, organic bilberry, organic garlic, organic thyme, organic oregano, vitamin e supplement

I have no idea if this is good to feed Kahula
SmallBatchPet_18.jpg
Yes that is what I feed but it is the cat version
 
97% humanely raised and harvested turkey, 1% organic produce, 2% natural supplements
turkey, turkey necks, turkey livers, turkey hearts, turkey gizzards, salmon oil, organic dandelion greens, organic apple cider vinegar, organic kelp*, organic bee pollen, organic barley grass, organic cranberries, vitamin e supplement

she also doesn’t even want to eat this….
 
This is it right
1923621481_360x.png



97% humanely raised and harvested turkey, 1% organic produce, 2% natural supplements
turkey, turkey necks, turkey livers, turkey hearts, turkey gizzards, salmon oil, organic dandelion greens, organic apple cider vinegar, organic kelp*, organic bee pollen, organic barley grass, organic cranberries, vitamin e supplement
 
Last edited:
You really should set up our spreadsheet so you can track your cats BG. We need to see this so the members can give you advice about the dose to see how the vetsulin has been working , then if you switch to generic lantus they can tell you what dose to start with
See if you can set it up ,if not I can ask Chris to set it up for you
How is Kahula doing ?
Do you have all the BG numbers so you can fill in the spreadsheet?


https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/

As Chris said in post #10

As for syringes, if you have a Walmart near you, you can get U100, 3/10ml, 30 or 31 gauge insulin syringes (the 3/10ml syringes ALL have half unit marks no matter what they might tell you). They should hold a maximum of 30 units. Either one of these is fine (and can be 30 gauge or 31) They are $12.58/100
Yes I have a spreadsheet. I am working on getting better at doing tests throughout the day. I haven’t been able to as I’m always at work. But I am working on it this weekend. Where do I upload it here? It says I don’t have permission to upload a file.
 
You need to link it to your signature do you see mine says Tyler's spreadsheet under my signature
I understand you work what are your shooting times
Can you at least get another test in before you leave for work and when you get home even if it's @+7 , +8 or +9?
You definitely need to get at least one test in after your PMPS ,cats usually drop lower at night
You are only seeing half the picture
That 183 you got at PMPS on 7-24 you should have gotten another test ,Kahlua could have dropped lower
A test before you go to sleep?
The more the better , without more testing I don't think the experienced members here will be able to suggest a dose . There isn't enough to go by.Try and get some in tonight :cat:
You do know to feed and wait 30 minutes then give the insulin
I see you are feeding low carb dry food throughout the day ,what is it?

Any luck with getting the insulin
@lacimae11
 
Last edited:
This is it right
1923621481_360x.png



97% humanely raised and harvested turkey, 1% organic produce, 2% natural supplements
turkey, turkey necks, turkey livers, turkey hearts, turkey gizzards, salmon oil, organic dandelion greens, organic apple cider vinegar, organic kelp*, organic bee pollen, organic barley grass, organic cranberries, vitamin e supplement

@Wendy&Neko

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@tiffmaxee

@Suzanne & Darcy

Ladies do you think this raw food is ok to feed her cat
 
You need to link it to your signature do you see mine says Tyler's spreadsheet under my signature
I understand you work what are your shooting times
Can you at least get another test in before you leave for work and when you get home even if it's @+7 , +8 or +9?
You definitely need to get at least one test in after your PMPS ,cats usually drop lower at night
You are only seeing half the picture
That 183 you got at PMPS on 7-24 you should have gotten another test ,Kahlua could have dropped lower
A test before you go to sleep?
The more the better , without more testing I don't think the experienced members here will be able to suggest a dose . There isn't enough to go by.Try and get some in tonight :cat:
You do know to feed and wait 30 minutes then give the insulin
I see you are feeding low carb dry food throughout the day ,what is it?

Any luck with getting the insulin
@lacimae11
Yes I wait to give her a shot after she eats. I have been checking throughout the day today. I will add the link to the spreadsheet. I am using the format from you guys!
 
Hey all.


Found this option which is what my prescription is actually listed as.
https://m.goodrx.com/basaglar

is this realistic/normal? Did I find the right thing? I’m so confused!!
Basaglar is fine to use
You need to link your spreadsheet to your signature do you see mine says Tyler's spreadsheet under my signature members are not going to see where you put the link for your spreadsheet
I just had to go searching for it

When you do start the Basaglar let us know , you will have to make a line on your spreadsheet
above the date you start it and write Started Basaglar and also note it on your signature so members are aware of it


I understand you work what are your shooting times
Can you at least get another test in before you leave for work and when you get home even if it's @+7 , +8 or +9?
You definitely need to get at least one test in after your PMPS ,cats usually drop lower at night
You are only seeing half the picture
That 183 you got at PMPS on 7-24 you should have gotten another test ,Kahlua could have dropped lower
A test before you go to sleep?
The more the better , without more testing I don't think the experienced members here will be able to suggest a dose . There isn't enough to go by.Try and get some in tonight:cat:
 
Last edited:
She is eating N&D ocean fish kibble and gets only a small amount per day when she is screaming at me and has already had her raw food.
Which kibble flavor are you feeding ,I see there are many different ones
They all look like they areway to high in carbs for a diabetic cat


As far as lc dry You can try
Dr Elsey's chicken flavor and young again zero will send you samples just call them
Here are some low carb dry foods ,they are about 5 or 6% carbs
None of them are cheap
You need to order them online
Dr Elseys you can buy on chewey site
https://www.chewy.com/dr-elseys-cleanprotein-chicken/dp/146269?utm_source=google-product&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=12791446238&utm_content=Dr. Elsey's&utm_term=&show-search=1&gclid=EAIaIQobChMI0PvU2Zj79wIVRIdbCh3JawEkEAQYASABEgIInfD_BwE




Young again on their web site
https://www.youngagainpetfood.com
Take a look at the young again zero or the zero mature

Dr Elsey's also at Walmart
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Dr-Elsey...ViI3ICh0suwO_EAQYAiABEgJrOPD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds

Dr Elsey's Amazon
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07FCJHDPR/ref=twister_B09GHFJY65?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

the Dr Elsey's comes in different size bags
None of these can be bought in stores

Also
Wysong Epigen 90

Dr Elsey's web site
https://www.drelseys.com

Here is their web site
https://www.wysong.net/epigen
Call then see if they will send a sample
 
Last edited:
Alright, got it all set with Lantus. But now I need help….

my roommate typically gives shot in the morning when she wakes up. She did not this morning and also didn’t check her sugars. She said Kahlua didn’t eat which is why she did not give her a shot. Now it’s noon…(shot time usually at 7:30/8am) just tested her and her bg is at 384. Do I give her a shot now? She has eaten.
Starting Lantus tonight, so not sure how it will react if I give Vetsulin right now and then Lantus before bed time. Urggg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top