Im new at this- my cat diagnosed with diabetes today

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jamie7489 said:
Should I really push the issue?
Once again, he is YOUR cat; they may support hometesting, they may not. It's not their call; but it is yours. If it were me, I would tell them that I am going to immediately start testing him and therefore you would really like someone to show you how. Let us know how the vet visit went.
 
dian and wheezer said:
hang in there jamie. deb will get in touch with you and we can come out on sunday to help you. no vets for test.
Awesome girls!!! I was going to maybe offer to help, but I believe you're closer to her than me :-D
 
Jupiter & I just got back from the vet. His BG was 236 today. (I also asked what it was on Thursday - it was 460) I asked if they would teach me how to test him and told them I had already bought a meter and they said they would teach me next week - and they want me to take him in again on Thursday.
 
Jaime, you really should let Dian and Deb come on Sun......they need a trip :mrgreen: Awesome gals and Dian is a character ;-) Even if they don't test Jupiter they can go over everything with you, explain the meter, the numbers, best way to test, etc. Lots of help and Jupiter might surprise you and let Dian test him just to show you how easy it really is. Heck, a lot of us have taught our vets because too many of them don't know squat about testing, getting blood up, etc. I brought a stuffed kitty to show one person at her place of work so she knew exactly where on the ear to test.
 
The thing you could figure out by testing at home is whether that 236 was elevated because of the stress of being at the vet. Some cats test 100 points lower at home. If so, he could be 136 at home, a great number. How many hours from the shot was that?
 
about 6 and a half hours from his insulin shot. I am really excited!! Deb and Dian are coming here tomorrow to teach me how to home test him!! I will feel so much better about giving the insulin shots if I can test him first.
 
Fantastic.......so glad they are coming and you can go to the reunion Dian always has. I'm sure she'll tell you all about it. Emmy/Dude(GA) even went with the cats and DH all the way from Oregon. Enjoy tomorrow :-D
 
I think Jupiter will be a little scared at first, but I think he will let them do the test, as long as I am holding him or something... At the vet he lets them handle him and stuff.. he is just so afraid he lays there perfectly still.
 
I'm glad Dian and Deb are going to come by and help you, tomorrow. ;-) Say "Hi" to them for me.
You will feel so much better and in control, once you can test his blood sugar.
 
we will not rush him. we can sit and talk for awhile to get him used to us. answer any questions you have. then go nice and slow. this is nothing we need to rush into.
is there anything you need that we can pick up for you?
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
I just spoke to Jamie while she was in Walmart. She picked up 26g lancets since they didnt have 28g. I said to not get the device for now as I think it's generally easier to freehand.

Here's the thing though, they had run out of the ketone testing strips so if deb or Dian go visit can you take a pack with you and she can pay you back? She doesn't seem to have frequent access to a car..

Also maybe take a lancing device just so she can see how it works..?


hey dian (or deb).....in case you didn't see this from Wendy earlier.....maybe take some ketone test strips and a lancet device?
 
wonder if the lancet devise comes with the confirm. I know it did when I bought the prime not too long ago.
ketone strips, if we can get to walmart and the pharmacy is open cause I think they are kept behind the counter. not too worried about them right now as all seems to be ok.. KWIM
 
I did end up buying a lancet device - just to be on the safe side. Wasnt going to buy it but my boyfriend said it would be better to have it and not need it.. rather then to need it and not have it. So we decided to get one just in case. I am sure I will be able to get the ketone test strips, so as long as I wont need them tomorrow, I will be able to pick them up within the next few days.

Thank you everyone for all of your help!!
 
Hi Jamie!

My name is Stacey and my cat Diego was diagnosed last week with diabetes. Luckily I am a diabetic so I had the testing meter and insulin already. I picked up syringes to make it easier to give Diego his insulin (his fur got it the first time!). I also found it was sometimes difficult to get blood out of his ear after I had been testing there previously and I found a video that said a good alternative site is the back pad of his foot. I use the lancing device because I'm too slow and shaky to do a fast stab and Diego doesn't even flinch. After I test his blood he gets his canned food and I inject him while he's scarfing down the food. His health is complicated by the fact that he has had a runny, stuffed nose for about 3 months now, and he is extremely anxious and high strung. My vet agreed because of his temperment that the less he comes to the vet's the better it is. So I will be doing his first curve in the next few days.

The people here are FANTASTIC. I've already given Diego a fur shot (gave the insulin to his fur), pierced his ear (put the needle through by accident), and accidentally jabbed myself with the needle. Most people on here have had similar problems starting out, so don't feel shy to talk about any problems you may be having. I'm often reassured by the fact that there are actual terms for the screw-ups I have been making - means many other people did the same things!

In my signature there are links to Diego's spreadsheet with his blood glucose readings and his profile. Feel free to see what kind of values are possible when first starting your cat on insulin. Every cat reacts differently, but you will see one example of a newly diagnosed cat's tests.

Hang in there! You can do this. It is tough, and stressful, and overwhelming at first. BUT you can do this. And people here will help you.
 
I havent done any home testing yet. Deb and Dian are coming here tomorrow to show me how!! I am too scared to try without someone showing me. I am still scared to do it even if they do show me how to do it. I am not good with blood. Blood really grosses me out. Even if it is my own blood, it grosses me out. I dont know how I am going to do it - but I am willing to try my best. I am really scared to hurt him - I am even scared when giving him his injections (I gave him his 4th injection earlier). Even though I have given him a few shots already I still cringe when I am doing it. I always worry that I am not doing it right, or that I will hurt him. I am willing to do anything I can to help him though - I want to do whatever I can to keep him at home instead of taking him to the vet. His anxiety is so bad (he is on anxiety meds which help but his anxiety is still really really bad) his heart is pounding the whole way to the vet and the whole time we are there. I feel like a horrible person when I take him to the vets but I know I am usually doing the right thing for him. For the injections and tests though I know the right thing for him isnt going to the vet - thats why I am excited for Dian & Deb to come teach me how even though I am really scared to do the testing by myself.
 
Stacey - Goodluck with Diego - and I am sure the more you do it- the better you will get. Thanks for telling me your stories, I like that others can relate to how I feel, I dont feel alone in this, like I did the first few hours after he was diagnosed (I have my boyfriend but we felt like we were alone). I feel so blessed that I have found this site and have met all of the kind people here.

I dont know much about how to read the spreadsheet. I dont really know much about the numbers either. I am going to keep learning and reading about things as much as I can.
 
I still wonder how everyone here does it, I feel so stressed and overwhelmed. I know it must get a little easier as everyone here seems very positive and so knowledgeable about diabetes. I feel like ever since he was diagnosed I have done nothing but worry about him. I feel so bad for him - I dont want him to have to suffer in any way, I just want him to live a good and happy life. Its already bad enough that he has been suffering with really bad anxiety for his whole life. Hes just had a rough past few years - Had to go to the vet quite a few times and ended up needing an emergency surgery on his colon. He just started anxiety meds a few months ago and I was soooo happy to see him improving. I really hope the insulin will help him start feeling better again soon.
 
Okay....you need to calm down because Jupiter will pick up on vibes from you and may become even more anxious. Hometesting does not hurt the cat in any way......if it did, none of our cats would let us do it several times a day and at least before shooting insulin. I've been testing Mishka's right ear for almost 9 1/2 years and no vet would be able to tell what ear. I test MC several times a day also and I always test before shooting. None of my diabetics have ever been given insulin without me testing first and none of us would have gone on and adopted other diabetic cats if it was hard, stressful, etc.
 
dian and wheezer here. deb and I arrived but we did get lost. sigh ... and deb was driving. we have not seen jupiter yet cause he is hiding in the couch. been having a nice discussion about insulin and sheds. hopefully I did the spread sheet right.
her other cats seem to LOVE the catnip sock I brought.
going to try and him out and test. wish us luck
 
Good luck you ANGELS! and Jamie and BF...It DOES get easier. Honest to God in a few days, you will be an old hand at this and helping newbies. Mark my words. ;-)

jeanne
 
Hi Jamie,

I'm a newbie too! Mego had his first vet visit last week Monday and it took until Friday for me to get a good urine sample to take to the vet to confirm the diagnosis. But even before that, when I got home from work on a Friday night, I thought he was acting strange. Needless to say, that was the moment I went into completely worked up mode. I didn't sleep but 2 hours that night because I kept getting up and checking on him. I was relieved that I had the next day off. Starting last week Sunday, I had an awful work week as well and I was completely stressed out! The night I brought him home from the first vet appt, I cried my eyes out probably for a good 3 hours. I had no idea what to do, what might be involved and especially how much was this going to cost.

Fast forward a few days and I found FDMB and all of its wonderful family members here who are more than willing to help. To say I've been doing a bit of reading on this sight is the understatement of the year! What I can tell you, is that I have found everyone here to be so helpful. And I bet if you asked yourself if you're more comfortable today than you were the day of diagnosis, you'd say yes. I know I am. I went out last night and bought the necessary items to begin home testing as I could tell from everyone here that it would save me a lot in vet visits. I live alone and there isn't anyone here to help me so I was quite nervous. I did my first test last night with great success (meaning I got the meter to read and give me a result) and so far today I've done 3 tests. Yes that sounds great, but I also have pierced his ear, had to poke a few times, had to change test strips because one was faulty or I was faulty. So you name it, I've already done it wrong but I'm learning and you will too. Each time gets easier and easier. I take 3 deep relaxing breaths before I start and if I find I'm getting nervous, I stop and do it again. I've even had to walk away and come back a few minutes later. Mego and I already have a routine when it's time for testing which includes lots of petting, praise and of course treats for positive reinforcement. It sounds like you've got some help which is wonderful. Just know I'm here for you too as I'm in the same boat you are. If you ever need to talk, just send me a message. Us newbies have to stick together if we're going to get through this!

YOU CAN DO IT!!! Just keep trying.
 
Deb and Dian just left here. I feel sooo much better about everything after talking with them. They showed me how to test Jupiter, and now I will feel so much more comfortable giving him the insulin shots. I felt really bad pricking Jupiters ears - So I tested myself to see what it felt like.. It didnt hurt so now I dont feel bad testing Jupiter.

Thank you so much Deb & Dian for coming here and helping me and teaching me!
 
ok cool! I see you have a spreadsheet in your signature now _ i assume thats not yours and you need to edit it? It seems to have data in it already!
 
So happy to hear you're feeling better and more confident about it all. You are lucky the ladies came by - I just had to wing it by watching videos and stiffening my backbone. :shock: Keep it up and you'll be a pro in no time. At least that's what I'm hoping for.
 
I just tested Jupiter a few minutes ago and I did it by myself!! YAY! Thanks to Deb and Dian for teaching me. I also put this number onto his spreadsheet. Hoping I put it in the correct place
 
yes. sorry I screwed up. now to rename it type in this
text

so the link part would be copy and past the link from ss then where it says text write in jupiter's ss. go to control panel. profile and under sig to put all this

clear as mud

PS. fantastic on your first test.wasn't so bad, now , was it? you will be a pro in no time :thumbup
 
I posted to that forum for RAGS that was just diagnosed. Wasnt too sure how I could help or what I could say but I tried my best.
 
link works great.
was so nice meeting you and Dane and you are very lucky to have a guy so willing to take part in Jupiters care
Thank you Dane for being you
the 300 number is ok for now cause still might be some stress from us being there. do not forget to call your vet
 
It was very nice to meet both of you as well!! We really appreciate you taking the time out of your day to come here and help us. YOU BOTH ARE GREAT! I feel so much more comfortable about everything now. Last night I was so stressed out about everything, but its really not too bad (and I can deal with that teeny tiny drop of blood). You reassured me that I can do this, I can help Jupiter.

I am so lucky to have Dane. He is amazing. He always helps care for me and all of the cats. I dont know what I would do without him!!

Dane & I both feel lucky that we have found this site and have met you both. Thank you for everything and thank you for answering all of our questions. You have no idea how much we appreciate it. I hope one day we can help someone like you have helped us.
 
you will be able to help before you know it. as for now, just telling your story may help others that were in your position
you can write in the AMPS number on jupiter and that you gave 1u. that goes in the little box after amps or pmps and before the +1 can also write in the 242? we did at whatever time that was
 
I just did Jupiters PMPS and it was 211. I guess I need to adjust the lancet device because it poked the whole way through =(

But he remained calm and let me do it. After he was done I gave him a treat. he ate THE TREAT FROM DIAN!!(surprised cause he is such a picky eater but very happy about it!) And he is still on the desk playing with the catnip sock toy Dian brought! All of my cats absolutely love that thing!!
 
oh wow!!! was that the chicken one? and playing with the sock?? awesome. OK now are you going to give 1u?? if so... can you check a +2 then maybe a +6.
someone with a little more testing experience may ask you to do something different and that is ok
 
I gave 1 piece of each kind of treat to Jupiter and he ate them both. And yep he also seems to love the sock!! I just gave him 1u of insulin. I can check in 2 hours again but I do not know if I will be able to get a 6 hour reading tonight. I should be able to get a +6 after tomorrows am dose
 
Good morning Jamie! Thought I'd check in with you first thing this morning....looks like you did an awesome job on the home testing after we left! His numbers are looking good! See what some LC food and insulin can do!! Dian and I have faith in you...you can do this...and you have done this!

I'm so happy to see that Jupiter enjoyed the treats and the nip toy! As his numbers become lower, you will notice him playing more. Awesome report...I am sitting at my desk just smiling away!!

It was also very nice meeting you and Dane and your four kitties yesterday. You certainly have a handsome/beautiful family! Hopefully we can spend time together in August!
 
Thanks Deb, it was great to meet you!! We really appreciate you both coming out here to help us. You guys were so awesome. Thanks so much!! I have started making post in the Lantus Insulin Tight Regulation section now. I really feel much better about everything now - after talking with you and Dian. Much more comfortable giving Jupiter his Insulin now that I can test his BG first
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Lantus is a great choice in insulin. Is the food wet or dry?

I am a little concerned over how he diagnosed the diabetes. Did he tell you what the number was?

I also am concerned about giving insulin without testing the blood first. If you shoot and he is low, he could have a hypo.

I would recommend that tomorrow before shooting you go to Walmart (I assume you are in the us) and pick up the below items so we can test him and keep him safe. If you pick up the keto-diastix you will know fast from testing his pee and confirm the diagnosis. With the below kit, you are able to test at home which is way more accurate and saves money doing it at the vet!

Getting started shopping list
1. Meter ie Walmart Relion prime, micro or confirm
2. Matching strips
3. Lancets - little sticks to poke the ear to get blood . new members usually start with a larger gauge lancet such as 28g or 29g until the ear learns to bleed. Optional - lancing tool.
4. Cotton balls to stem the blood
5. Neosporin ointment to heal the wound
6. Mini cheap flashlight - optional but useful to help see the ear veins in dark cats, and to press against
7. Ketone urine test strips ie Ketostix or ketodiastix - Important to check ketones when blood is high
8. Treats for the cat - like freeze dried chicken
9. karo syrup/corn syrup or honey if you dont have it at home - for hypo emergencies to bring blood sugar up fast
10. A couple of cans of fancy feast gravy lovers - for hypo emergencies to bring blood sugar up fast


Wendy
You use Tactical flashlights instead of Mini flashlight in order to get more light :-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top