I'm going to need help with PM shot! Thumper 8/2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Member Since 2011
:shock:
PMPS - 422
so I increased to 1.6 from 1.4
+4 - 208
wasn't really worried since she's been so high lately - went to bed
AMPS - 131 WHAT??
I'm just gonna list the times here
6:25 - 131
6:39 - 126
7:08 - 119 REALLY?
7:19 - 124

I kept thinking she was gonna shoot up if I waited then I got that 119 & thought ok this has to be a wonky # but I still decided to wait 10 mins. nope I guess it wasn't??? I had to feed them....their breakfast was an hr late by now. I've gotta go to work but DH will be here for a little while. I've totally forgotten how long the food will play a part & when should I test again? AND WHAT THE HELL SHOULD I SHOOT? ohmygod_smile

:dizcat :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat

And I think I need a drink already today!!
 
Re: Thumper 8/2 What the heck??

You just can't be happy, can you? You don't like 400s, 100s.....and you really don't like those dreaded 150s!!!

Bloody Mary's normally work for me in the mornings!


You could get a food spike for about 2 hours, assuming the pancrease is not working. If you continue to see a drop after eating, then the pancreas is sputtering.

I would definitly reduce if you shoot---
 
Re: Thumper 8/2 What the heck??

Yikes. I looked back at what you were dosing at numbers like this but most of the bg's were higher than this.

You can skip the shot or go with a reduced dose like .4u or .5u.

I'm sure I'll get flamed for this but that is what I would do.
 
Re: Thumper 8/2 What the heck??

If DH doesn't get a number above 180, then I agree with Yang...just skip and regroup tonight!
 
Re: Thumper 8/2 What the heck??

I've gotta leave like now...already a bit late. DH will be here another 30 mins so he can test then. That will be about 1 hr after food. When will the food quit effecting her #? And at that point she will be an hour & a 1/2 late, but I can adjust tonight. I'm gonna wait till then to decide & will check back here when I get to work. UGH......
 
Re: Thumper 8/2 What the heck??

So a little over an hour after food she's at 119! Sounds really great but I'm waiting for the bomb to drop. DH has to leave so I told him no shot. This girl is a big mystery!
 
Re: Thumper 8/2 What the heck??

Barbara--- just to clarify... I say 180, because I assume that the food will give you about a 30 point increase, which would make your true bg 150. I have found with Kitty, that about 30 points is the increase we get off of food--- I realize ECID!
 
Re: Thumper 8/2 What the heck??

Good on not shooting!

She has had some long surfs before in the greens-- hopefully this will be another one!

Interesting---looks like no food spike....maybe her pancreas is sputtering.
 
Re: Thumper 8/2 What the heck??

I'm really scared though what I'm gonna get tonight! So, I guess this answers the question about my insulin pooping out? I would not get a drop like this if that were the case, right?
 
Re: Thumper 8/2 What the heck??

Geez, this girl really scares me...wonder how low she went last night? nailbite_smile
 
Re: Thumper 8/2 What the heck??

Oh my! Shaikha does this sometimes to me. Like her pancreas suddenly wakes up and decides to work or something. I'd skip a dose if she's still that low, but if she's higher (>180 after food spike is done) a reduced dose like Robin suggested would probably hold her until tonight so she doesn't zoom too high.
 
Re: Thumper 8/2 What the heck??

Correct---NO insulin poop!

I am thinking she probably didn't go too much lower last night. If so, I would think you wouldn't be surfing in the low 100 range. If she went lower, and she then increased to 119 (your test), I would expect the increase to continue--and not give you the surf you are getting. It seems to me that once they start increasing, it is a continual upward movement.
 
Re: Thumper 8/2 What the heck??

That's what Shaikha does... she is continuing to drop sometimes when I do a rising number test in the AM. If I can wait a little, I'll continue to retest. If she is still falling, I either 1) skip the dose, or 2) give a reduced dose, depending on her numbers. You have to have nerves of steel for Option #2 and understand typical patterns if you use it, though. I haven't done so often (but did this AM, in fact).
 
Re: Help! Reduced dose? Thumper 8/2 What the heck??

She's at 317 now...last time she got insulin was 6:30pm. What should I give her? I can shoot a couple of hours late tonight...say 8:00 pm?
 
Re: Help! Reduced dose? Thumper 8/2 What the heck??

I would go with a reduced dose to compensate for the early shot tonight. Like 1 unit or maybe a hair less. You want a shootable number tonight. Shoot what you are comfortable with.
 
Re: Help! Reduced dose? Thumper 8/2 What the heck??

Crap...I had no idea what to do & DH needed to leave so he was pressuring me...couldn't think so I told him .6 I was thinking about having to shoot again tonight & how long I could hold off without messing up tomorrow also. So, here's the deal...
+18.5 - 317
gave .6
her normal shot time will be in 5 1/2 hrs but I can wait a bit so how long should I wait? I know it will all depend on BG but I have a feeling she will be high enough to shoot. I would need to try to shoot by 7:30 am tomorrow morning. OMG...I'm probably not even making any sense!
And it's DH's birthday so we are going out to eat.....ugh....
 
Re: Help! Reduced dose? Thumper 8/2 What the heck??

Breathe ......

I didn't realize that it was only 5 1/2 hours until PMPS I thought it was more like 8 hours, so you were absolutely right to reduce more I'm really glad that you did.

You don't give yourself enough credit, you've learned the sugar dance very well. dancing_cat

Happy Birthday to DH party_cat drinking24
 
Re: Help! Reduced dose? Thumper 8/2 What the heck??

I actually think you are fine with the .6. It should assure you a shootable number tonight. You need to be sure you are shooting a rising number tonight--to me,the rules would resemble those of tid. You must wait 6 hours--never shoot before 6 hours from the last shot--too many uncertainities and she could continue to drop. I think if you wait until + 8 and make sure you are shooting a rising number you will be okay. I would then base my dose on what the bg was at +8. Then tomorrow morining you will be back on your +12 schedule.



Just my thoughts!
 
Re: Help! Reduced dose? Thumper 8/2 What the heck??

Is the whole family having Birthday's this week?!

And, by the way....I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night! :-D

I am waiting to give Kitty her 3 pm shot before heading out.
 
Re: Help! Reduced dose? Thumper 8/2 What the heck??

That's good advise Kim, your tid experience is helping everyone.

Have a great trip, I'll be sending Ms. Kitty no curve ball vibes.
 
Re: Help! Reduced dose? Thumper 8/2 What the heck??

kse said:
Is the whole family having Birthday's this week?!

And, by the way....I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night! :-D

DH found the whole litter of kittens in the bushes at work....soooo he brought himself a birthday present! :lol: They just happened to be born the day before his birthday!

Did I miss something? Why did you stay @ the Holiday Inn?
 
Re: Help! Reduced dose? Thumper 8/2 What the heck??

So if I shoot around +7 tonight AND assuming she's rising would I go back to 1.4 since this is where 1.6 landed us? That is if she's back in the 300's ...guess I don't know where to go from here. Her +7 will be about 8:00 EST...hopefully someone will be on when I test! I'll probably post a BG around 5:30 before we go out to eat. That will be before +6 so no matter how high it is should I still wait?
 
Re: Help! Reduced dose? Thumper 8/2 What the heck??

Unless, your +6 reading is higher than your preshot...I can't imagine it will be, you should wait until +8 to shoot. Prozinc can nadir until +8 and you want to know what you are shooting into. You do not want insulin overlap--especially with a cat like Thumper. I would shoot a reduced dose tonight irregardless--- because you are shooting at the least 4 hours early in a cat that has shown to be very insulin sensitive at times. I would not shoot 1.4 at +8--not for Thumper.

Prozinc can stay in the body for 12 hours, so when you shoot early, you have to assume there is some insulin still in Thumper. If you had data to show differently, like with Kitty, it would be different. But, unless you have a crazy high number at +8-- I would shoot a reduced dose, for the reasons I have stated.

There is no way I would shoot before +8.

Does anyone agree or disagree?




I thought the Holiday Inn Express comment might be regional.......Have you ever seen the commercials where the guy knows something about everything and he was diagnosing someone and they asked him if he was a Dr? And, he replied --No, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night! Stupid commericial---but, Cute! It is a slang saying around my part of the woods! whatever...
 
Re: Help! Reduced dose? Thumper 8/2 What the heck??

I agree, I wouldn't shoot before +7 and I would shoot a reduced dose.

I havn't seen that commercial. I was wondering where that was going.
 
Re: Help! Reduced dose? Thumper 8/2 What the heck??

kse said:
I thought the Holiday Inn Express comment might be regional.......Have you ever seen the commercials where the guy knows something about everything and he was diagnosing someone and they asked him if he was a Dr? And, he replied --No, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night! Stupid commericial---but, Cute! It is a slang saying around my part of the woods! whatever...

I got it. It's a saying around here too, especially at work. :smile:
I liked the "I'll check back once I get to work" too. Smartphones are going to get people fired! lol
Carl
 
Re: Help! Reduced dose? Thumper 8/2 What the heck??

Barbara, remember you are reducing your dose tonight because you are shooting early. Normally when we talk about shooting early, that time (early hours) is going to extend the 12 hour period until the next shot--BUT, you intend to shoot your am shot 12 hrs. from your pm shot. You are not extending your cylce.

The early part that you have to consider tonight, is the previous shot---how much is left of the .6 you shot---- you are now shooting into that.

Make sense?
 
Re: Help! Reduced dose? Thumper 8/2 What the heck??

+4.5 - 390

She just ate, it's almost dinner time so they were hungry and I figured it would be better to give her food now since I'm waiting till after +6. I'm sure she's gonna be higher later. What should I shoot? It will be probably at least +6 before I can get back to her & that will be 1.5 hrs after food. I get that she has some insulin left BUT it's not doing much. Ugh....
 
Yikes, is no one around??
+6 - 419

I'm ready to shoot but I'm still not sure about dose. I will be ready to shoot again in about 12 hrs or I can delay tonights shot but I really don't want to considering how high she is now.
 
But how much? We had been at 1.4 until last night when I shot 1.6 so I think 1.6 is too much. I'm thinking I should go back to 1.4 what do you think?
 
I agree--1.4 sounds good

I would have thought the .6 would have held her some, but it looks like it had little effect.
 
Barbara,

Good call.

If you are in doubt, shoot "low". Especially if nobody seems to be around to advise, and you're trying to get an answer right "now". It's a heck of a lot easier to deal with the consequences of a light dose than those of a heavy dose. You probably already know this but at the bottom of the screen, you can see who is currently in whatever forum you are in at this time. If nothing else, shoot one of those people a PM. They might be in this forum, but on another thread. I get a "beep" when I get a new PM, so that'll prompt me to take a look at it.

Carl
 
It's been a busy summer for me and I haven't been on as much lately. Anyway, I come back on the forum and see Thumper is still keeping you on your toes!!! Silly girl. Looks like you did good and can hopefully get back on schedule. Seems like Thumper likes to mix things up every so often. Did you say that your hubby brought home a litter of kittens?
 
carlinsc said:
I get a "beep" when I get a new PM, so that'll prompt me to take a look at it.

Thanks Carl, I didn't know about the "beep" I most always have my sound off.
 
hollyall said:
It's been a busy summer for me and I haven't been on as much lately. Anyway, I come back on the forum and see Thumper is still keeping you on your toes!!! Silly girl. Looks like you did good and can hopefully get back on schedule. Seems like Thumper likes to mix things up every so often. Did you say that your hubby brought home a litter of kittens?

Holly! I was just wondering the other day where you where! Thumper is a BIG mystery! I hope she does well on this dose tonight. We are at about +2 right now but I'm gonna give her ears a break & wait till maybe +4 to see where she is. That litter I was talking about was Thumper & her sister 15 years ago yesterday! He has brought home all of our cats except one, picks them up here & there. :smile:
 
Barbara,
You may not get one. I've got a screwed up set-up. I'm tethered to the internet through my cell phone (can't get internet service in my house otherwise). I have my profile set so that when I get a PM, a notification goes to my email. When I get that email, my phone "you've got mail" beeper goes off.
But I would think, if your PC is set up where your email program gives you an alert when you get a new email, and you've got your profile here set up to get that email when you have a new PM, then you should be able to get a sound, or a pop-up window or something that will say "HEY! YOU HAVE A NEW PM!"

Carl
 
You did good. It's my granddaughter's birthday today too. I was at her party during the excitement

I hope everything gets back on track now for you.
 
Happy Birthday to your grandaughter!

+4 - 189

So I don't know if I need to test her later or not? I was planning on going to bed shortly. Do I need to test her later?
 
Sorry I don't have the energy to read the whole thread, but it looks awesome to me! I think you got a breakthrough finally. Really, when they see good numbers their pancreases seem to start kicking pretty fast, and high numbers they snooze off pretty fast. With her of course it could be other health factors, but I would guess that 1.4 hasn't been enough to break through, and 1.6 did the trick. It's a BAM dose, though we didn't know that til we saw the results!

I strongly disagree with pulling the dose WAY back (hmmmm, was my opinion predicted? :lol: & btw I thought I was Yang, lol? No? Isn't Yin the calm one, and I can tell you when it comes to this stuff...... I'z not calm!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :mrgreen: )

Typically from what I have seen when you get a breakthrough, you only need to pull back by maybe 0.2. Rarely would I recommend someone drop the dose to under 75% of what they are shooting, unless you have an obvious case of the dose being way too high. I wouldn't *argue* with 1u though I would not expect good results from it, but I'll argue with a teeny-tiny dose!!!! [I know this is after the fact, but did anyone predict I would just let it go? :mrgreen: ]

If you don't get results again on the 1.4 Barbara, I might try 1.5 or a skinny 1.6. You can always back down again quickly if she gives you a blue PS, but I'm thinking you may need the higher dose to get back there. hopefully maybe though now 1.4 will work, who knows.

The only other thing that comes to mind is if she wasn't eating or something, that could explain the wonky cycle. Other than something liek that though, hopefully it's a breakthrough!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Joanna, my main issue was she was only 5 hrs from PM shot. I know you said you didn't read the whole thread so I wasn't sure if you saw that. I felt like if I only pulled back a little she wouldn't be shootable till later tonight & while that would have been ok for tonight I just couldn't swing it for tomorrow. Also after the shot @ +18.5 no one was going to be back with her till at the earliest +4.5....not really disagreeing with you ....just explaining a little where I was coming from. Thanks for your input...I really appreciate each & every one of you & value all your opinions!

Now it looks like we might be good with 1.4....I'm almost afraid to say that though!
 
Oh darn no I didn't realize that, I thought people were advising you to reduce her dose that much for BID. Darn, and just when I was having a good time up on my soap box!!!! :-D

Sorry for yelling everyone, my bad! :oops:
 
:lol: :lol:

Yeah, I had to leave for work & she was still @ 119. I got DH to stop by & test her when she was @ +18.5 and he didn't have long to be here & we had to make a decision quick. I knew it was just a token dose and as you can see it didn't do much for her.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top