I'm getting confused.

Status
Not open for further replies.
So lately there seems to be a few people getting really worried if their +9 and up are around 100. Isn't that good? I am still pretty new to this, and I am definitely not criticizing...just trying to understand.

It would seem to me that unless they hypo-ed mid cycle, that a low/normal number later (+12)means their bodies are starting to work for them. This is the goal, right? I know there would be a problem if it means skip shot and then they spike...that's not ideal. But overall, a normal number at amps or pmps that isn't a climb back up from hypo...isn't that a great thing?
 
Yes it is a good thing if they are getting fairly normal numbers as they get closer to their next shot-time but it also can make dosing difficult depending on which insulin they are using, so that the cat doesn't drop too low on the next cycle. Levermir and Lantus both work off a shed, while PZI doesn't have that shed. Most of what I have seen lately at least on Health of people that are worried about those lower +9 and up numbers are like you and fairly new to the sugardance. Those of us that have been at this awhile usually know what our cats are going to do on a given dose at a certain BG reading and many of us are pretty comfortable shooting low to stay low.

Hopefully that at least answers your questions for the most part.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Mel is right. For those of us that have been doing this sugar dance for a while, we realize that while ECID (Every Cat Is Different), every shot is different also. BG readings will fluctuate from shot to shot. A great example is my cat Ricky. Usually his preshot number is upper 100s to upper 200s, but yesterday morning his preshot was 82. So he skipped his shot yesterday morning and was a lot higher last night. This usually happens for me about once a week. I don't know when it will happen, but I expect it. Unless I get a number around 50 or below, I don't worry about it - I just skip the shot.

When you are new, you are still trying to get your routines established and dealing with a lot of new information. Plus what you read here on this board may contradict what your vet is telling you. So that adds to the confusion. Your cat is unique and you will soon learn what is normal for your cat.
 
That was the one thing that confused me the most in the beginning also was the differing reactions to numbers. I would see people frantic over shooting a 195 and others calmly shooting a 100. It took a while to realize that there were different types of insulins that have completely different 'delivery' methods. Mel mentioned those above. I have zero medical term knowledge so I think of it sort of like the difference between 'immediate release' versus 'timed release'. That makes a difference in the shooting approach. Each person knowing their cat's reaction to their world helps tremendously. That comes from testing. Hope I made sense... :?

Hugs!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top