I'm freaking out! Should I be worried?

Status
Not open for further replies.

totallybeachin

Member Since 2011
PMPS last night was 9:30.
My alarm went off and I got up in a stupor, not realizing the time, went through the ritual: test, feed, shoot.
It's 3 HOURS early for Rocky's shot. I didn't notice the time until I went to just pop the numbers in his SS so I could go back to bed.
His isn't low or anything, in fact, he is in the 300's which is where he has been the last few days at shot time. DO you think he'll be ok?
 
Truly, I am no expert --but, I will share my thoughts.

Prozinc is a very forgiving insulin-- very flexible. In fact, I know my vet gas shot 2 hours early when Kitty has boarded-- just based on their work schedule.

Since Rocky was in the 300s when you shot, I think he will be fine. He hasn't had low nadirs on the .4-- so there is some additional room for him to drop.

Prozinc normally poops out at 12 hours-- so, I would test him the first three hours to be sure he is okay. After the first 3 hours any residual PZI from the pm shot should be out of his system.


Just my thoughts!
 
Good Morning!

First take a deep breath ....

What is Rocky's onset time after the shot normally....2 hours post dose?

You may have some overlap this morning. Take a look around your house a get your supplies ready to deal with some low numbers. They may or may not happen, but you will be prepared. At 0.4u it is hard to say how Rocky will react, you just don't seem to have enough data to gauge what to expect. As kse says PZI should be pooping out between the 10-12 hr. What I am wanting you to be aware of is there is an onset overlap that may come into play.

Karo or honey or maple syrup on hand...
High Carb canned gravy foods available.
Test strips...make sure you have enough ...if we get into low numbers you will be testing every 15-30 minutes until we're in the clear.

Take the time to print out and read the HYPO sticky at the top of the forum too.
 
totallybeachin said:
It's 3 HOURS early for Rocky's shot. I didn't notice the time until I went to just pop the numbers in his SS so I could go back to bed.


Did you go back to bed? confused_cat
 
I think he will be fine. It doesn't appear that you have built up any PZI overlap at the .4U dose. But you are going to have to plan to move him back to a 7/7 schedule. (I think that is your schedule, but it looks like it's been a bit erratic lately.) Three ways to do that. 1) A half hour or hour adjustment each shot until you are back on time. 2) A 15 hour AM cycle. 3) A reduced mid-cycle shot, maybe around +8, and then his full dose at 7pm, which would be +7 from the mid-cycle shot.

Please be sure to notate the +9 AM shot on his SS.

PZI is very forgiving and adaptable.
 
OMG what a morning.

No, I didn't go back to bed. I went to the corner store for a cappuccino, a real one, while waiting for a pot of coffee to brew. Get back from the store, only to find I had locked myself out. I DH had already left for work, so there's no one here. Neighbor has a key, so I knocked. No one came. I knocked louder, still, no one.
I'm thinking they must sleep with earplugs or something.
I figure I will see if my husband can come home from work for a minute. (Do I REALLY want to call him and tell him I'm locked out? :lol: )
Don't forget, I am waiting on responses to this thread not knowing WHAT to expect with Rocky. I gotta get in my house! I go back down to the store, beg them to let me use the phone, don't want to go into a lot of detail. They wouldn't be surprised anyway. Small town I live in.. ;-)
So, I get a hold of hubby, after laughing uncontrollably at me, I make him understand this is not a laughing matter, make him feel guilty for making fun of me, he says he can come within an hour. AN HOUR. :shock: I have ALREADY been stranded outside for almost an hour.
Freak out meter on the rise....

Sooooo, DH FINALLY gets home, laughs some more, IN MY FACE!, let's me in, kisses me, heads back to work. I'm fine now. All will be well.
Run to Rocky to immediately test him.
At 9:00 he was 246.
I am going to test him again in 15 minutes. It will then be +3.5
That's not a huge drop, nothing like his *normal* range, which usually puts him in the blues. Could it be that he dropped so low during this fiasco, that he had a sudden bounce?

Man I am so glad to be back in my house. I don't need the pot of coffee anymore, and I think I even got some sun....... :lol:
 
At 9:00 he was 246.
I am going to test him again in 15 minutes. It will then be +3.5
That's not a huge drop, nothing like his *normal* range, which usually puts him in the blues. Could it be that he dropped so low during this fiasco, that he had a sudden bounce?


Really couldn't say if it or isn't. You'll know when you test again if the numbers are dropping...likely not. If the numbers are rising we still really don't/won't know....

I am so sorry you have had such a rough start to your day....(((((((((((hugs))))))))))))).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top