I'm confused by curve test results

Status
Not open for further replies.

NancyF

Member Since 2020
Just go back from picking up Georgie from the vet after his curve test. I'll input the BG numbers, but they were mostly normal. When I asked about what equipment they use, the vet's response was "Oh, all kinds of glucometers". Then he says to reduce his dose to 2 units once a day rather than 2 units twice a day. Am I doing something wrong? Is my glucometer malfunctioning? What should I do?
 
Putting in the curve numbers will be great, although we'll take them with a grain of salt since the vet wouldn't tell you what kind of meter they were using.

Honestly, unless you can start getting some mid-cycle tests, we can't really help much with dosing. If the vet said to cut the dose, maybe that's good. It's hard to tell with only pre-shot tests to go on. However, you don't want to do 2 units once a day. Better to do 1 unit twice a day, especially with an in and out insulin like Cannisilin.

Again, there's no way to tell what's going on with only pre-shot tests. George could be dropping quite low during the cycle, and than bouncing back up. That would explain the higher readings pre-test. Or he could be good on this dose, or need an increase, but his numbers were lower at the vet because he was too stressed to eat all day. Or his numbers could have been higher at the vet, and he's dropping too low mid-cycle when at home. Without the data, we're just guessing.
 
I've inputed the numbers. With all the stress we have had lately, I didn't want to put him through too many tests. Now it looks like I need to get at least every 3 hours during the day. At least for a bit. He does eat a lot more at home though. Something the vet asked me about.

Good news though. I got the head vet tonight and he's super happy about my joining this site (yes, he's heard about this wonderful community) and impressed that I've started BG tests at home. Even more impressed with the spreadsheet and how dedicated I am. So I'm now allowed to do curve tests at home and call in the numbers.

Bottom line is....test more often for now. If he's too high, give 2 units as often as twice a day. Too low, 2 units per day. And he's encouraged asking here for advice since it's faster and so much knowledge to gain here
 
I started writing this before your last post.

Caninsulin once a day? It doesn't work that way. And "Oh, all kinds of glucometers" is not exactly an answer. Smarter people will answer these questions later but for now keep using your meter and be prepared for an answer of 1 unit every 12 hours. That is NOT an answer or a suggestion, just wanted you to be prepared schedule wise.
When you said "I need to get at least every 3 hours during the day" did that mean it was suggested you need to test every 3 hours?
If your vet is happy you're here he's part of a very small group of vets, consider yourself lucky.
I don't usually come into this forum so from another Canadian I wish you good luck and safe journey.
 
I started writing this before your last post.

Caninsulin once a day? It doesn't work that way. And "Oh, all kinds of glucometers" is not exactly an answer. Smarter people will answer these questions later but for now keep using your meter and be prepared for an answer of 1 unit every 12 hours. That is NOT an answer or a suggestion, just wanted you to be prepared schedule wise.
When you said "I need to get at least every 3 hours during the day" did that mean it was suggested you need to test every 3 hours?
If your vet is happy you're here he's part of a very small group of vets, consider yourself lucky.
I don't usually come into this forum so from another Canadian I wish you good luck and safe journey.

Sorry, yes. I need to test every 3 hours for a bit and see what his readings are.

Also, I just looked at the can of food I brought with him, he's barely eaten anything! This would definitely explain the lower BG levels.
 
I know testing can be a bear, but you and Georgie can totally do it. Even if you just get a couple tests in between pre-shot tests, it really helps. As your schedule allows, you might do a +3 and + 5 one day, and a +5 and +7 the next, for example. And if you can get any done in the pm cycle, it's really helpful, because cats tend to drop lower at night. I used to set an alarm to get a +6 every night. Pain in the butt, but it was important, so I did it.

For now, I'd keep Georgie on one unit twice a day and see what those middle of the cycle tests do. You want to change doses based on the lowest reading in the cycle, not the pre-shot tests. If he's having a high bounce reading, for example, and you up his dose, he could drop dangerously low mid-cycle.
 
When I asked about what equipment they use, the vet's response was "Oh, all kinds of glucometers".
Well, that was a terribly vague and unhelpful and non-responsive answer. Sounds like he has no idea what meter was used to take tests for Georgies's curve. And yet, he refused for the second time to use your glucometer for the curve. Sounds like something "fishy" is going on there.
Then he says to reduce his dose to 2 units once a day rather than 2 units twice a day.
Caninsulin only lasts 8-10 hours in a cat. If you only give the insulin once a day, then Georgie will be without insulin for 2/3rds of the day. Not a good idea. Insulin needs to be given 2 times a day, roughly 12 hours apart.

I'd like to see what his curve numbers are before commenting on the dose.
Am I doing something wrong? Is my glucometer malfunctioning? What should I do?
It's not you, it's him. I don't think your glucometer is malfunctioning, I think your vet is malfunctioning.

He's talking "down" to you. Treating you with a lack of respect and dignity and professionalism.
Good news though. I got the head vet tonight and he's super happy about my joining this site (yes, he's heard about this wonderful community) and impressed that I've started BG tests at home. Even more impressed with the spreadsheet and how dedicated I am. So I'm now allowed to do curve tests at home and call in the numbers.
Vets that have heard of our group. Wish there were more of them. How generous of the head vet to "allow" you to do your own curves at home. Where they will be more accurate anyway, since Georgie will be relaxed and in his familiar surroundings of home.
 
Yes, do your curves at home. My first sugar cat Nigel would follow me out the door and leap into the car, then prance around the vet's office. Sounds stress free yes?
His numbers would be a mess, just useless. Testing can be the hardest part to get over emotionally but it's not that hard, then you pick the right day and do a curve at home. He's your cat, if you know what you're doing it will indeed be more accurate, and so much cheaper.
 
@Deb & Wink I did input the BG results from the vet, but how can they call 4 readings a curve test? They stopped at his +6!

I think everyone here is right. I need to do more bg tests at home and a 12 hour curve test every week or so.

He barely ate while there, and this explains his low BG readings, right? He was famished when he got home.

I'm so glad I was referred to this site. I'm 100% certain that Georgie would end up in bad shape without all of you.
 
Ok, please put 0 (zero) in the dosing column for 3/4/2020 AMPS.
Then put whatever dose Georgie got for 3/4/2020 PMPS in that U (units) column.
If you were able to do a test on 3/4/2020 for the PM pre-shot, please put that in the correct column.

Have you tested Georgie yet this morning?

Did the vet say that Georgie still needs insulin?
 
I'm on my way home from work now. I'll test him in about 30 mins.

The vet was unclear. The one that took the curve said yes but maybe no. The head vet seems to disagree and felt my readings were more accurate. Even asked if Georgie gained weight and if he eats/drinks at home.
 
Ok, please put 0 (zero) in the dosing column for 3/4/2020 AMPS.
Then put whatever dose Georgie got for 3/4/2020 PMPS in that U (units) column.
If you were able to do a test on 3/4/2020 for the PM pre-shot, please put that in the correct column.

Have you tested Georgie yet this morning?

Did the vet say that Georgie still needs insulin?

19.7! He definitely needs insulin. I have no idea what happened at the vet. He didn't eat? No clue.
 
Please don't drive and text. Your answer can wait until you are safely home. I was waiting for your reply before sending this post.

Ok Nancy. I see that you have updated the SS. Thank you for doing that.
Forgot that you worked night shift, even though it's right there in your signature. :banghead:

Agree, he definitely needs insulin. I'd still give him the 2 U of Caninsulin you are using now.
I'm on my way home from work now. I'll test him in about 30 mins.

The vet was unclear. The one that took the curve said yes but maybe no. The head vet seems to disagree and felt my readings were more accurate. Even asked if Georgie gained weight and if he eats/drinks at home.
Well, those 2 different opinions from 2 different vets is not very helpful for you.
Did the vet clinic vets at least suggest a dose?

I see you have a question mark after the 2 unit dose last night 3/4/2020, for PMPS. Was that because you thought you did not get all the insulin into Georgie? Did you do what we call a "fur shot", where some or all of the insulin gets into the fur and not inside your cat?

By the way, never give more insulin if you think that is the case. Because you can never tell how much insulin did get in, and you do not want to over dose your cat.

The Ascencia Contour line of meters are good ones. (Bayer changed name and is now Ascencia Diabetes. You'll still see the old Bayer name in places.) Your Contour Next One meter is a good one for testing a cat's blood glucose at home. It gets good reviews and ratings from most of the websites I checked this morning. The second chance sampling feature is a very useful one, if the blood drop is not big enough on your first try, you can add more blood within 60 seconds to the same strip.

I'd trust it to give you enough information to gauge Georgie's BG levels at pre-shot and to do other mid-cycle testing and to do a curve at home.
 
Please don't drive and text. Your answer can wait until you are safely home. I was waiting for your reply before sending this post.

Ok Nancy. I see that you have updated the SS. Thank you for doing that.
Forgot that you worked night shift, even though it's right there in your signature. :banghead:

Agree, he definitely needs insulin. I'd still give him the 2 U of Caninsulin you are using now.

Well, those 2 different opinions from 2 different vets is not very helpful for you.
Did the vet clinic vets at least suggest a dose?

I see you have a question mark after the 2 unit dose last night 3/4/2020, for PMPS. Was that because you thought you did not get all the insulin into Georgie? Did you do what we call a "fur shot", where some or all of the insulin gets into the fur and not inside your cat?

By the way, never give more insulin if you think that is the case. Because you can never tell how much insulin did get in, and you do not want to over dose your cat.

The Ascencia Contour line of meters are good ones. (Bayer changed name and is now Ascencia Diabetes. You'll still see the old Bayer name in places.) Your Contour Next One meter is a good one for testing a cat's blood glucose at home. It gets good reviews and ratings from most of the websites I checked this morning. The second chance sampling feature is a very useful one, if the blood drop is not big enough on your first try, you can add more blood within 60 seconds to the same strip.

I'd trust it to give you enough information to gauge Georgie's BG levels at pre-shot and to do other mid-cycle testing and to do a curve at home.

No worries about texting and driving. I take public transportation. And not something I would ever do when I do drive. Or talk on the phone like that woman that hit us. I'm still furious about that.

I put a question mark because it was the vet tech that gave him his insulin and she didn't say how much. Though the vet did say 2U as a dose. Head vet seems to agree with me and says 2U every 12 hours. I got the impression he didn't like or trust the other guy. The joys of a teaching vet, I guess.

Is there something I can mark to show when I think I may have gotten a fur shot? And * or ! maybe?

Thank you so much for researching my glucometer. I've been really questioning myself and it. It's a relief to know you approve. And oh boy how I love that second chance strip. It has been so useful.
 
Is there something I can mark to show when I think I may have gotten a fur shot? And * or ! maybe?
A question mark after the dose in the U column is perfect! You should also make a comment in the Remarks column that says something like "Fur shot?"

Some very nice features with that Contour Next One meter. And it uses the Contour Next test strips. Amazon has them in a bundle for 300 strips for a price of $96.30. That is 32 cents a piece. So if you did a curve yourself at home, that is 7 times .32 = $2.24 for doing the curve yourself. Of course, you have to have the time available to do that curve yourself.

There may be better prices out there, for buying in quantity. ADW diabetes has the Contour Next test strips also, but they are a bit more expensive. 100 for $50.49 but they have a minimum shipping charge. So free shipping doesn't apply until you are over $89.

After looking at the Contour Next One meter, it's definitely one I'd recommend to other people here. Cost of test strips is a bit more than the Relion Prime or the Relion Premier line of meters we often recommend. But all the human diabetes websites I've checked give better accuracy to the Contour Next line of meters.

This independent review of meters from 2017 gave the Contour Next flying colors for accuracy. The Relion Prime meter actually failed the accuracy tests, being accurate only 92% of the time. So that means at least 8% of the BG readings are wrong. Not as bad as some of the meters out there, but does not meet the FDA 95% accuracy standards.
 
Wow! So I really lucked out in buying that meter. Unfortunately all those prices you quote are for US. Amazon won't deliver to CA from their US website :(

Another question...How much should Georgie be eating? And how do I know which canned foods are carb acceptable? Labels here show protein, fat and fibre. No carbs.
 
Should have checked the Amazon Canada website for you. Sorry. Yes, test strip prices in Canada are much higher, even on the Amazon.ca website. Too bad you don't live close enough to the border to shop in the US for test strips.:( Or have a friend that can ship them to you. Some members close to the border even got a post office box in the US and had shipments sent there. Drove over once a month or so.

Ebay? but check the expiration dates?:bookworm:
And how do I know which canned foods are carb acceptable? Labels here show protein, fat and fibre. No carbs.

Food labels in the US don't show carb content either. But a wonderful vet has put together a chart, link is here for you >>>>Food Chart that lists the carb content of many foods. The list is a bit outdated, 2017 but it's the best we have right now. I know all these foods may not be available in Canada, or may have slightly different names. So ask if in doubt. You want to look in the 3rd column for appropriate lower carb options.

There is an ever older list that has a very limited list of cat foods in Canada. Food Chart

Really old, hasn't been updated since 2015. It was also compiled by someone that did not like particular ingredients in the food such as artificial colors or carrageenen.

Only canned/wet/pouched foods are listed as well as the foods sold only at vets, "veterinary prescribed". Newer foods are not on the list. Cat food manufacturers come out with new products all the time, to tempt cat owners to buy them. Not necessarily better. Simply marketing to consumers. So are those "veterinary prescribed" foods, and you'll see when you look at the food chart, how high in carbs many of those foods are.

You want to look for foods that are lower in carbs. Here, <= to 10% is recommended. (2018) AAHA Diabetes Management Guidelines for Dogs and Cats. AAHA diabetes guidelines say <= 12 %. Some cats actually do better on a bit higher carbs than the absolutely lowest carb foods available. ECID Every Cat is Different.

How much to feed. In general, 6.8 to 9 calories per kilo (15 to 20 calories per pound) of ideal weight. Hopefully I did the conversion to kilos correctly. :) So what is Georgie's ideal weight? Too skinny now? Too fat? Just right?

Weighing your cat once a week or so, holding him in your arms and stepping on a scale with him is close enough to judge. Weigh the both of you, note the weight, let Georgie down, note your weight, subtract first number from the second number to get a rough idea of Georgie's weight.

p.s. As you can see, I like to be thorough. Succinct I am not.
 
Should have checked the Amazon Canada website for you. Sorry. Yes, test strip prices in Canada are much higher, even on the Amazon.ca website. Too bad you don't live close enough to the border to shop in the US for test strips.:( Or have a friend that can ship them to you. Some members close to the border even got a post office box in the US and had shipments sent there. Drove over once a month or so.

Ebay? but check the expiration dates?:bookworm:


Food labels in the US don't show carb content either. But a wonderful vet has put together a chart, link is here for you >>>>Food Chart that lists the carb content of many foods. The list is a bit outdated, 2017 but it's the best we have right now. I know all these foods may not be available in Canada, or may have slightly different names. So ask if in doubt. You want to look in the 3rd column for appropriate lower carb options.

There is an ever older list that has a very limited list of cat foods in Canada. Food Chart

Really old, hasn't been updated since 2015. It was also compiled by someone that did not like particular ingredients in the food such as artificial colors or carrageenen.

Only canned/wet/pouched foods are listed as well as the foods sold only at vets, "veterinary prescribed". Newer foods are not on the list. Cat food manufacturers come out with new products all the time, to tempt cat owners to buy them. Not necessarily better. Simply marketing to consumers. So are those "veterinary prescribed" foods, and you'll see when you look at the food chart, how high in carbs many of those foods are.

You want to look for foods that are lower in carbs. Here, <= to 10% is recommended. (2018) AAHA Diabetes Management Guidelines for Dogs and Cats. AAHA diabetes guidelines say <= 12 %. Some cats actually do better on a bit higher carbs than the absolutely lowest carb foods available. ECID Every Cat is Different.

How much to feed. In general, 6.8 to 9 calories per kilo (15 to 20 calories per pound) of ideal weight. Hopefully I did the conversion to kilos correctly. :) So what is Georgie's ideal weight? Too skinny now? Too fat? Just right?

Weighing your cat once a week or so, holding him in your arms and stepping on a scale with him is close enough to judge. Weigh the both of you, note the weight, let Georgie down, note your weight, subtract first number from the second number to get a rough idea of Georgie's weight.

p.s. As you can see, I like to be thorough. Succinct I am not.

Georgie is a big boy, used to weigh in at about 30lbs. We missed the early symptoms of diabetes due to the fact that had been trying to get him to lose weight.

I'm asking because he's always so hungry! I tried the fancy feast, but he'd eat through 4 or 5 of those a day and that's when his BG went into the red. Now I have him on the IGA store brand, Compliments. When he's on those, he can get into the yellow or lower. But he's eating through a full can and a half a day. He's always wanting food and I'm scared to deny him since he's putting some weight back on but can still use a few pounds and I don't want to starve him either.
 
Concentrate on getting him somewhat stabilized for now and be glad he's eating anything. Not eating would be much worse. The rest will follow but will take time. We've had a 28 pound cat who should have been diabetic but defied every vet's expectations. And don't feel guilt over missing the early symptoms, very few of us ever expected this.
How much should he eat? Their are guidelines for the mythical "ideal cat". Have you ever seen an ideal cat like something in a textbook? It doesn't happen, you're more likely to see a Unicorn.
 
Concentrate on getting him somewhat stabilized for now and be glad he's eating anything. Not eating would be much worse. The rest will follow but will take time. We've had a 28 pound cat who should have been diabetic but defied every vet's expectations. And don't feel guilt over missing the early symptoms, very few of us ever expected this.
How much should he eat? Their are guidelines for the mythical "ideal cat". Have you ever seen an ideal cat like something in a textbook? It doesn't happen, you're more likely to see a Unicorn.

Ok, so in this case do what the vet said? "Georgie can eat as much as he wants".

I've developed serious trust issues with the vet since yesterday. And I already have serious trust issues with the medical community in general lol

I was just worried that eating too much may be why his BG is so high.
 
How big are the cans? 374 Grams? 156 gram? 85 gram?

Ingredients on the Compliments canned food looks ok, from what I could find. Didn't see any starchy ingredients in the canned food.

On the other hand the Compliments (store brand for IGA, SAfeway, Loblaws, Sobey's etc. ) dry food is full of grains - corn, corn gluten meal, wheat, rice. Not good for a diabetic cat.

1 and 1/2 cans may not be enough for Georgie right now.
Unregulated diabetic cats may need more food than a regulated diabetic cat.
He needs to eat as much as he needs to eat to stop losing weight and to gain some weight back if he is underweight. You don't want to starve him, and unregulated diabetic cats can not process all the food they eat correctly, so they will be hungry a lot of the time.

Feed him more. For now. You certainly don't want him back at 30 pounds, if he was overweight at that amount.
How much does your vet think Georgie should weigh?
 
Anything you get from me is NOT medical advice, it's a generalization mostly meant to give you hope. It's not that I don't care but we've all learned from our own practical experience and most of all no two cats are EVER the same. You're not killing him and what the medical community says comes from a few hours of vet college. Diabetes is uncommon and not well taught. Dinner is waiting, Deb will stay up with you ALL night, it's what she does. o_O
 
How big are the cans? 374 Grams? 156 gram? 85 gram?

Ingredients on the Compliments canned food looks ok, from what I could find. Didn't see any starchy ingredients in the canned food.

On the other hand the Compliments (store brand for IGA, SAfeway, Loblaws, Sobey's etc. ) dry food is full of grains - corn, corn gluten meal, wheat, rice. Not good for a diabetic cat.

1 and 1/2 cans may not be enough for Georgie right now.
Unregulated diabetic cats may need more food than a regulated diabetic cat.
He needs to eat as much as he needs to eat to stop losing weight and to gain some weight back if he is underweight. You don't want to starve him, and unregulated diabetic cats can not process all the food they eat correctly, so they will be hungry a lot of the time.

Feed him more. For now. You certainly don't want him back at 30 pounds, if he was overweight at that amount.
How much does your vet think Georgie should weigh?

It's the 374g cans. All pates no dry. Only dry stuff he gets are 1-2 "candies" Friskies brand after a bg test. But I still need to get to Walmart to find the cat treats there. Or look up on how to make my own....SAFELY!

He's a hunky boi, so about 15-20lbs is a good weight for him. He's gained quite a bit back, thankfully, but definitely not back up to 30lbs. In other words, I can pick him up without throwing my back out. He can lie on my chest (his favourite place) and I'm not being suffocated.

Ok, so food is good and he should be the one to let me know when he DOESN'T need? Within reason, of course
 
Anything you get from me is NOT medical advice, it's a generalization mostly meant to give you hope. It's not that I don't care but we've all learned from our own practical experience and most of all no two cats are EVER the same. You're not killing him and what the medical community says comes from a few hours of vet college. Diabetes is uncommon and not well taught. Dinner is waiting, Deb will stay up with you ALL night, it's what she does. o_O

I do realize it's not medical advice. But I've learned knowledge from experience outweighs a piece of paper called a medical degree often enough. It's a question of finding that middle ground between experience and medical knowledge and what's right for MY cat.
 
But I still need to get to Walmart to find the cat treats there. Or look up on how to make my own....SAFELY!
Boil some chicken thighs in water. The darker chicken meat has more flavor. Cut cooked chicken into smaller pieces. Or any other type of meat/fish. Pork, beef, fish, sushi if your cat likes raw, fresh shrimp, bits of cheese, bits of egg.
Do you think Georgie would like any of those treats?

But I've learned knowledge from experience outweighs a piece of paper called a medical degree often enough. It's a question of finding that middle ground between experience and medical knowledge and what's right for MY cat.
Absolutely. We are lay people that have lots of practical experience with managing feline diabetes for our own cats. We'll never know "everything", since that is simply impossible.

ECID Every Cat is Different is a mantra around here. Find what works for Georgie, and you.

Pass anything we say by your vet. For that second opinion.
 
Ok, so food is good and he should be the one to let me know when he DOESN'T need? Within reason, of course
Within reason.
1.5 of those 374 gram cans is about 20 ounces.

My Wink was easily eating 11-12 ounces at the beginning. For a 12-13 pound cat.
 
Boil some chicken thighs in water. The darker chicken meat has more flavor. Cut cooked chicken into smaller pieces. Or any other type of meat/fish. Pork, beef, fish, sushi if your cat likes raw, fresh shrimp, bits of cheese, bits of egg.
Do you think Georgie would like any of those treats?


Absolutely. We are lay people that have lots of practical experience with managing feline diabetes for our own cats. We'll never know "everything", since that is simply impossible.

ECID Every Cat is Different is a mantra around here. Find what works for Georgie, and you.

Pass anything we say by your vet. For that second opinion.

That's it? Boil chicken in water, cut and serve? It's that easy? I'll get right on that then! He licks cheese. He won't eat it, he just licks it lol. But he does like a bit if egg now and again.
 
Within reason.
1.5 of those 374 gram cans is about 20 ounces.

My Wink was easily eating 11-12 ounces at the beginning. For a 12-13 pound cat.

I'm seeing 1 1/2 cans eaten spread out over the day. As in 24h day. I'll give him about 1/3 of a can at a time and he gets pretty loud when he wants more.
 
Georgie always has his face in my plate. Sheesh.
So cook, chop into little pieces and freeze?
Yes.

It's that easy with some cats. I can't eat any type of meat without my civie (non-diabetic or civilian cat) trying to beg some from me. Chicken is her favorite, but she likes other meats too, and always gets a few bites.

1 and a 1/2 large cans of cat food spread out over 24 hours sounds reasonable.
If he gains too much weight, cut back a bit, if he loses, feed a bit more.
Not an exact science here. Be flexible in the food amounts.
 
Yes.

It's that easy with some cats. I can't eat any type of meat without my civie (non-diabetic or civilian cat) trying to beg some from me. Chicken is her favorite, but she likes other meats too, and always gets a few bites.

1 and a 1/2 large cans of cat food spread out over 24 hours sounds reasonable.
If he gains too much weight, cut back a bit, if he loses, feed a bit more.
Not an exact science here. Be flexible in the food amounts.

Thank you. I was worried I was messing up his BG with too much food. It makes sense that he needs to eat to gain weight back before his BG levels will settle.
 
Timing of the feedings can cause the BG levels to go back up faster. So feeding after +6, when the insulin is all used up by earlier feedings, can raise the BG levels faster in the last half of the 12 hour cycle.
 
I would like to share a bit of info for fellow Canadians using Caninsulin though. I found a web site that sells at wholesale and ships in special containers. I don't know how much shipping is, but the vet charged me $52 for a 10ml vial and the site sells that same vial for $34. So even with shipping, it will probably come out around the same, maybe even slightly cheaper.

https://thepetpharmacist.ca/product/02052474a-caninsulin-10ml-10ml-329
 
We'll never know "everything"
Speak for yourself Earth Woman.
big_head001.JPG
Fascinating Jim! Yes, but at what cost Spock? Set phasers to stun.
Reminds me of my sister who leaves her MENSA magazines laying about where you can't miss them. Oh gosh silly me, how did THAT get there?
 

Attachments

  • big_head001.JPG
    big_head001.JPG
    6.2 KB · Views: 149
There are CGM's , Continuous Glucose Monitors but they tend to be expensive, last 14 days max, can be displaced by the cat, fail before the 14 days are up. But if your cat is in DKA (diabetic ketoacidosis) or really, really sick with pancreatitis or some other illness, they may be worth it.

Libre CGM is one I see frequently mentioned. I've seen caregivers in the French language facebook feline diabetes group apply the monitor themselves. Doesn't always have to be applied by a vet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top