Cindy L
Member Since 2016
Hi there, I just posted my intro on the newbie board, I'm Cindy and my diabetic male cat is Lucky. He was diagnosed mid February of this year. I have a few questions, I am feeling very overwhelmed as am sure so many of you were at first too. Thank you in advance for any help I receive here.
When first diagnosed, BG 585, my vet prescribed Lantus insulin, 2 shots per day, 2 units per shot.
Two weeks later Lucky's number had dropped to BG 300, Vet was not happy with that so she increased the Lantus to 3 units per shot, two shots a day.
I posted on the Facebook diabetes board then as his BG jumped to 485 and they thought this could be a bounce. They felt Vet shouldn't have increased insulin by an entire unit. If it were a bounce, would it not have straightened out by now? As this was 2 weeks ago, he is still on the 3 units Lantus 2 shots per day, and numbers are still running high. Or maybe I think they are high? I test once a day, I have not done the curve yet. It takes all I have to prick his ear, he hates it and is not trusting me. I have poked through his ear into my finger at least twice now. His BG is running on average of 375-400.
My question, is this Lantus helping, since it's not in the high 500s, that is an improvement...will it take time to become lower? or it should be lower by this amount of time.
I have removed all dry food. He eats Fancy Feast Classic, and Friskies pate. I have 4 cats, no longer free feeding. They all eat the canned food now. I feed them every 5 hours. Does this seem ok? Is it ok to give Lucky Fancy Feast for breakfast, Friskies for lunch? etc. Should I be consistent with the food brand. I felt like when I was only using Fancy Feast he became finicky and stopped eating. I did buy the Purina DM from the Vet, again he ate it for a couple of days, then stopped. He seems to like the variety. He has a healthy appetite for the most part and not constantly at the water bowl as he was when first diagnosed.
I am beginning to second guess everything I am doing, am I shooting properly, had a tutorial from vet plus watch Utube videos to be sure. The pharmacist said not to shake, mix, etc the Lantus so I try not to even disturb the bottle much. I keep it refrigerated. It is just beyond 28 days old, could this be the problem? I am using a regular human meter, Prodigy pocket meter. So the number that shows is the correct number, no difference from human to kitty number right? whatever it reads that's what it is, correct?
sorry for all the questions, I appreciate any input. Lastly, I'm guessing I need to make another appointment with the vet, (she did not want me home testing him btw). Would the next step be to increase the lantus? and feed nothing but the Purina DM? I really don't know what to do to get the numbers lower.. Thanks Cindy and Lucky
When first diagnosed, BG 585, my vet prescribed Lantus insulin, 2 shots per day, 2 units per shot.
Two weeks later Lucky's number had dropped to BG 300, Vet was not happy with that so she increased the Lantus to 3 units per shot, two shots a day.
I posted on the Facebook diabetes board then as his BG jumped to 485 and they thought this could be a bounce. They felt Vet shouldn't have increased insulin by an entire unit. If it were a bounce, would it not have straightened out by now? As this was 2 weeks ago, he is still on the 3 units Lantus 2 shots per day, and numbers are still running high. Or maybe I think they are high? I test once a day, I have not done the curve yet. It takes all I have to prick his ear, he hates it and is not trusting me. I have poked through his ear into my finger at least twice now. His BG is running on average of 375-400.
My question, is this Lantus helping, since it's not in the high 500s, that is an improvement...will it take time to become lower? or it should be lower by this amount of time.
I have removed all dry food. He eats Fancy Feast Classic, and Friskies pate. I have 4 cats, no longer free feeding. They all eat the canned food now. I feed them every 5 hours. Does this seem ok? Is it ok to give Lucky Fancy Feast for breakfast, Friskies for lunch? etc. Should I be consistent with the food brand. I felt like when I was only using Fancy Feast he became finicky and stopped eating. I did buy the Purina DM from the Vet, again he ate it for a couple of days, then stopped. He seems to like the variety. He has a healthy appetite for the most part and not constantly at the water bowl as he was when first diagnosed.
I am beginning to second guess everything I am doing, am I shooting properly, had a tutorial from vet plus watch Utube videos to be sure. The pharmacist said not to shake, mix, etc the Lantus so I try not to even disturb the bottle much. I keep it refrigerated. It is just beyond 28 days old, could this be the problem? I am using a regular human meter, Prodigy pocket meter. So the number that shows is the correct number, no difference from human to kitty number right? whatever it reads that's what it is, correct?
sorry for all the questions, I appreciate any input. Lastly, I'm guessing I need to make another appointment with the vet, (she did not want me home testing him btw). Would the next step be to increase the lantus? and feed nothing but the Purina DM? I really don't know what to do to get the numbers lower.. Thanks Cindy and Lucky


