If your AMPS and PMPS are different...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Thaiger & Katie

Member Since 2015
Would you change the dosage of the shot? I'm not sure if this is a general insulin Q or a ProZinc specific question. But if your AMPS number is higher than your PMPS number and you saw *almost* low number with the AMPS dosage, would you lower the PM dosage slightly to avoid hypo?

Just trying to understand how the insulin works really.. When I gave 1u (1st shot ever) with BG of 246, we got too low. So today I did .8 with a BG of 262 and it seemed to be spot on... So if her PM BG is 260 or more, would I still give .8 and then if it's <260, I should give less?
 
With ProZinc, as you collect data about your cat, you can develop a sliding scale that takes into account how your cat responds to it.
We have noted that many cats go lower overnight. If your cat is one of these, you can test out reducing the evening shot by small amounts and observing if it helps.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top