? If the AMPS is low why do you still shoot?

Kylee and Her Mom Renee'

Member Since 2018
I have been looking at others SS and for example kitties AMPS is 100 and 3.5 units are given. The afternoon tests show kittie BS is high. The PMPS is high too. Isn't that dangerous? I am new and am able to watch my kittie for any unusual signs. I have seem them the first week of her on insulin.
Now if she is low I will not shoot. Is this wrong. I am reading all the info here. I know I have a lot to learn so this is why I am asking.
Thank you
 
First, you haven't had a chance to collect much data yet. We don't encourage someone who is still new at managing their kitty's diabetes to shoot low. However, once you have a good grasp on how Kylee responds to insulin, you can start lowering the point at which you opt to shoot.

Because Lantus is a depot type of insulin with a gentle action, it's possible to shoot low numbers I would routinely shoot any number above 50. A typical Lantus cycle is flat. With shorter acting insulin, you can't risk doing this since these types of insulin yank down numbers.

When you see a low number followed by an upward spike, this is what we refer to as a "bounce." Numbers that are lower than what your cat is used to, truly low numbers, or a fast drop in numbers are reasons that trigger a bounce. Bounces are the result of the liver and pancreas "panicking" and releasing a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones as a means of getting a cats blood glucose levels up. It's an overreaction that most people find annoying but, it's a normal response..

If I may offer a suggestion... It's a good idea to get spot checks during the PM cycle. Many cats experience lower numbers at night. We encourage at minimum, a before bed test every night.

 
Last edited:
Hiya Renee! These depot insulins work slowly and usually peak later in the cycle. They try to give you nice flat cycles instead of the big dives and rebounds of those quicker-acting in-and-out insulins. The idea is you shoot low to stay low. While you're still new and collecting data, we do say to not shoot at lower numbers as you're learning Kylee's reaction to insulin. We usually have you stall without feeding and post for assistance. As you get more data and experience, you'll shoot those lower doses to keep Kylee's BGs lower. If you're skipping a lot of doses, it might be an indicator that your dose is too high. I'll let someone more experienced look at that aspect. I do not see any PMPS BG checks. You'll want to always check prior to giving insulin both AM and PM to ensure the BG is safe to shoot.

PS - no need for apologies or explanations. We were all new once and we're here to help! We love questions, haha.
 
Renee, I’m so glad you asked this question because I was of the understanding (and I’m still pretty new at this) that you shouldn’t administer insulin if BG was 200 or less. As much as I read I keep finding there is so much more to learn! Boots has been under 200 since the 4th so I haven’t been giving insulin. I’ll be keeping an eye on the thread :)
 
Renee, I’m so glad you asked this question because I was of the understanding (and I’m still pretty new at this) that you shouldn’t administer insulin if BG was 200 or less. As much as I read I keep finding there is so much more to learn! Boots has been under 200 since the 4th so I haven’t been giving insulin. I’ll be keeping an eye on the thread :)
Thank you for responding. It is a lot to learn. read and read, and trying to get it all straight in my head. I looked at your SS for Boots, Why do does your SS say and hour after (+1) but I don't see any AMPS numbers? Do you shoot before you feed or after? I try to get a AMPS in before I shoot. Then I feed, then test 4-6 hours after. It is is mind boggling huh. Take care.
Boots is a cutie.
 
I see Kylee showed you a couple tests in the 40's two nights ago. That means her insulin dose of 1.0 units is too high. You should reduce to 0.75 units.

Yes, always get an AMPS and PMPS test so you know it is safe to give insulin.
 
Hi Renee, I haven’t been dosing Boots on insulin for a couple of weeks since he’s been running lower than I’m comfortable shooting, but I’m still using the spreadsheet to track his BG readings. The +1 to me is +1 after food is given (I know most ppl dose
at meal time) - I probably made it more complicated by using the spreadsheet at all... when he was getting regular insulin I dosed after he ate to make sure he ate at least half his food. I’m bringing his numbers into the vet again tomorrow and I’m looking forward to hearing her feedback. Thank you for taking the time to respond and again for the good question. It got me thinking!
 
I have been looking at others SS and for example kitties AMPS is 100 and 3.5 units are given. The afternoon tests show kittie BS is high. The PMPS is high too. Isn't that dangerous? I am new and am able to watch my kittie for any unusual signs. I have seem them the first week of her on insulin.
Now if she is low I will not shoot. Is this wrong. I am reading all the info here. I know I have a lot to learn so this is why I am asking.
Thank you
With Lantus being slow acting, you are not shooting the PS number, but rather a number 2-3 or so hours down the road,when the insulin kicks in - this is called onset
This can be hard to wrap your mind around at first.


So determining when onset occurs for your kitty is critical to evaluating whether to shoot a lower than ever PS.
The PS is important in that when you look at data from the previous cycle, particularly the second half of the previous cycle relative to the PS it can help you figure out if numbers a re going up or down and ultimately if it is safe to shoot.

This is all part of becoming data ready, which takes some time. :cool:
 
I see Kylee showed you a couple tests in the 40's two nights ago. That means her insulin dose of 1.0 units is too high. You should reduce to 0.75 units.

Yes, always get an AMPS and PMPS test so you know it is safe to give insulin.
Thank you. I will see how her numbers are in a few minutes if I can get her. I hate to wake her up. She didn't sleep much today. Hubby was vacuuming for me. So her schedule was upset. I always check before her evening meal.
I will re-read all the info provided for us. Thanks again. I appreciate everyone's help so much.
 
Back
Top