If it's Sunday, it must be Curve Day for Jester

Status
Not open for further replies.

shelaghc

Member Since 2017
It's the day before I start the job and I'm poking Jester's ear continuously today.

Oh joy.

His BG, while it had been in the mid to low 200s for the last few days, hes been closer to 300 (and a smidge over 300) for the last few cycles.

AMPS was 295
+2 was 251
+4 was 159


Will update as things go. The last curve wasn't really a curve at all. The numbers barely moved all day. Hoping this one is a bit more moving, so to speak.
 
Last edited:
It's the day before I start the job and I'm checking poking Jester's ear continuously today.

Oh joy.

His BG, while it had been in the mid to low 200s for the last few days, hes been closer to 300 (and a smidge over 300) for the last few cycles.

AMPS was 295
+2 was 251


Will update as things go. The last curve wasn't really a curve at all. The numbers barely moved all day. Hoping this one is a bit more moving, so to speak.
Looks good so far.... but since you are using a human meter, I might aim to get that nadir down just slightly more.... you wanna get it under 120... maybe 2.25 would help you get there.
 
Looks good so far.... but since you are using a human meter, I might aim to get that nadir down just slightly more.... you wanna get it under 120... maybe 2.25 would help you get there.
Nope.
Can't make any changes at this point. I'm starting a job tomorrow and can't monitor.

Plus, I've been working on this for nearly two weeks now over here.
2U is set in stone unless something dramatic happens.
 
+4 159
Interesting because he's been nibbling on the same can of medium carb shreds all morning.
Planning for a fasting +6 and +8.
And possibly all the way through to PMPS as that's closer to what we're going to be dealing with starting tomorrow.

Btw @JanetNJ - that's how much Jester can drop in four hours even while eating carby foods.
 
+4 159
Interesting because he's been nibbling on the same can of medium carb shreds all morning.
Planning for a fasting +6 and +8.
And possibly all the way through to PMPS as that's closer to what we're going to be dealing with starting tomorrow.
Looks good so far.
 
It's the day before I start the job and I'm poking Jester's ear continuously today.

Oh joy.

His BG, while it had been in the mid to low 200s for the last few days, hes been closer to 300 (and a smidge over 300) for the last few cycles.

AMPS was 295
+2 was 251
+4 was 159


Will update as things go. The last curve wasn't really a curve at all. The numbers barely moved all day. Hoping this one is a bit more moving, so to speak.


Just a friendly reminder--if you update the curve numbers on the SS you don't have to update on here.
Of course it is personal preference. :cat:

I know when Gracie hypo'd once-(I was doing extra testing that day) @Djamila was looking at my SS and not at my thread, as I didn't post each number.
I know she always looks at threads. If we know you are testing more frequently on a certain day eyes will look at SS and sometimes that is a better visual for people to see the colors.
 
Just a friendly reminder--if you update the curve numbers on the SS you don't have to update on here.
Of course it is personal preference. :cat:

I know when Gracie hypo'd once-(I was doing extra testing that day) @Djamila was looking at my SS and not at my thread, as I didn't post each number.
I know she always looks at threads. If we know you are testing more frequently on a certain day eyes will look at SS and sometimes that is a better visual for people to see the colors.
I'm actually doing both.
But on the forum I can comment on what's happening between the testings.
 
Perhaps you misunderstood me. At the time I posted I could see that you were adding to SS as well.

It's okay. It was just a suggestion. Good luck with the remainder of your testing today!!
 
Perhaps you misunderstood me. At the time I posted I could see that you were adding to SS as well.

It's okay. It was just a suggestion. Good luck with the remainder of your testing today!!
Nope - I understood.

The SS always gets updated. But when I post about what the number is I'm including info on things like what Jester is eating prior to the test.
 
Jester is hitting some nice numbers today! If I forget to post it later, good luck on your job tomorrow! We'll all want to hear how it goes. :)
 
Wow! +6 fasting was 103!
Considering Jester may likely have less to eat overall and definitely be without food for longer, I think 2U is as low as I want to go right now.
 
Well now I feel like a creepy spreadsheet stalker....;):p. It's true though - I often have open tabs with spreadsheets for the kitties I'm keeping an eye on during curve days. Makes it easier to flip through them and make sure everyone is doing okay.

Speaking of doing well, Jester looks great today! What a nice curve!!!

Are you already for work in the morning? Lunch packed? Clothes picked out? So excited for you starting a new job!!!
 
Speaking of doing well, Jester looks great today! What a nice curve!!!
It is, but it's a tad concerning as it doesn't take into account that Jester's normal foods are medium carb. Once I get home after a long non-standard day of Jester's not eating, I do wonder how low his BG might be. That's sort of why I'm keeping him fasting today.

btw, his +8 was 116. I refrained from giving him any shreds - just low-carb pate. He ate maybe 1/3 can of that and has been moping around me ever since.

I don't want to give him too low a dosage when he normally eats higher carb food. I'm still in a dilemma about all of this. He's likely to go up a *bit* on +10, but I'm tempted to give him some of his regular food now and check him at +11 instead.

Thoughts?

Are you already for work in the morning? Lunch packed? Clothes picked out? So excited for you starting a new job!!!
Clothes are easy - this is a really casual office. I'll wear something low-end business casual for my first day just because. Lunch won't be packed for a bit. Still trying to figure out what to have since I don't know what the kitchen setup is.

I'm less excited and more anxious. Over the past 10 years I've had more than my share of jobs and none of them have worked out for multiple reasons - the two most recent were because they were high-pressure jobs with a short learning curve and they felt I wasn't learning fast enough.
To stay sane, I have to sort of decide not to get my hopes up about it working out.

On top of that, I'm going to be trying not to think about Jester being hungry all day.
 
Great curve today. There's no easy answer for tomorrow. You'll need to take a leap of faith with this dose and see what happens. Odds are he'll be fine and you'll feel more comfortable about leaving him as days go by.
 
Great curve today. There's no easy answer for tomorrow. You'll need to take a leap of faith with this dose and see what happens. Odds are he'll be fine and you'll feel more comfortable about leaving him as days go by.
I feel like a bad Mom experimenting with him like this.
He's sitting outside of the kitchen waiting for me to come and feed him.

And I just realized that I *can't* feed him after his +10 because the next testing is his PMPS!

Crap..... Should I just give him his shreds now? +10 is in less than an hour.

@Kris & Teasel @Djamila
 
Last edited:
I feel like a bad Mom experimenting with him like this.
He's sitting outside of the kitchen waiting for me to come and feed him.

And I just realized that I *can't* feed him after his +10 because the next testing is his PMPS!

Crap..... Should I just give him his shreds now? +10 is in less than an hour.

@Kris & Teasel @Djamila
As hard as it is you should stick to your guns to simulate what will happen on a work day.
 
As hard as it is you should stick to your guns to simulate what will happen on a work day.
Thing is, I would have been home by about 5:00PM at the latest so going until 8:00PM would have been pretty rough on both of us.

Translated - I caved. And he inhaled over 3/4 of the can in about twenty minutes. Even before he was diagnosed he never ate that quickly.

And, of course, it bumped him up to a number closer to what I'm used to seeing - 235.
 
Well, the good thing about putting him on less frequent meals is that he will likely eat faster now which should ease the pressure on you to keep the other kitties away and get him to eat. It might also help move him towards the pate if he's feeling some hunger at meal times. He might even start defending his own food!

Definitely don't think about him being hungry all day. You'll feed him before you leave in the morning. You'll feed him as soon as you get home. He'll be just fine. Lots of kitties eat on a schedule like that. It will take him a little while to adjust to it, but he will adjust. And he won't starve to death, I promise. He'll still be getting all of his calories, just on a different schedule.

I think the dose right now is good. He's still got a big margin of safety from his nadir number today. And that was a textbook perfect curve today. Good amount of drop from PS to nadir, and a nice gentle smile shape to the curve. You really couldn't ask for a better curve on the day before you start work. It shows that he'll be safe while you're gone, but also be getting some time in really good numbers.

Fingers crossed you have a great co-worker who will help you learn the ropes and guide you through these first few days. It is scary to start a new job, but we'll all be sending you good thoughts tomorrow! :bighug:
 
I know it's tough! But as Djamila said he WILL be fine. Lots of kitties eat on that schedule. And back when mine did, they only seemed upset about not getting food more often when I was home to see it! When I was at work, I'd come home and find them sleeping comfortably...and they only jumped up to eat because I was there to feed them! I bet if you could watch the when you aren't home, they'll all just relax and chill and not be too upset about food.
 
It might also help move him towards the pate if he's feeling some hunger at meal times.
I have to laugh. I was hoping he might be more open to the pate after not having anything between around 11:00AM and 4:00PM.

Even with me pushing and cajoling him, he only ate about 1/3 of a can. And that was with a *lot* of encouragement.

But when I opened the can of shreds? You'd think he hadn't eaten in a week!
*g*
 
Lol...I'm almost certain they can read our minds and know that if they just wait a little bit longer we'll cave in and give them what they want. And it works every time! I'm such a pushover when it comes to my fur babies. They can make me do just about anything. :rolleyes:

Honestly, while the shreds aren't ideal, I wouldn't change much about diet right now anyway. You're at a dose that is managing it, and since you're going to be gone, I'd just hold steady anyway. At least she's eating some pate - even if not her full diet!
 
We finished out the curve back up to 292 - certainly because of the shreds.

While Jester would likely have had a much lower BG if I hadn't fed him anything between 4:00 and 8:00, it might not have been quite as true a number as it should have been because of the carbs he eats.
 
And the best laid plans....

Woke up today with Jester's AMPS at a beautiful 135.
Last week he had almost the same. I gave him 1U , but was able to monitor. With food he dropped to 92 at +2, without he was at 129 by +6, and by PMPS he hit 314.

But I'm just not comfortable giving him anything if I can't monitor him.

So Jester's going without insulin on my first workday.
 
And fyi - I stalled about 20 minutes - bg was 134.
Last week his original AMPS was 161.

Definitely no insulin today. At least I won't worry he'll go low...
 
The good news is that you won’t have to worry about him today! It happens to us all...they always get back on track! Good luck today and let us know how it goes.
 
Good luck today! He just wanted some last minute attention from you before you leave for the day! ;) Have a great first day!!!
 
The last time this happened I was home most of the day. I did give him 1U, but was able to monitor him and fed him throughout. His PMPS wasn't that much higher than normal.
Since I knew I wouldn't be able to do either this time, it felt safer to not dose him at all.

I'm curious what his PMPS will be under the circumstances too.
 
I bet it felt odd huh? Jester probably didn't mind either.:smuggrin:
I remember when I did my first no shot for Gracie. I was uneasy and a little worried, but I trusted these crazy cat ladies!

Did he eat the regular amount of food?
 
Boom!
PMPS 407 - highest it's been in a long while.

Suggestions for tomorrow if the low number happens again?
 
I bet it felt odd huh? Jester probably didn't mind either.:smuggrin:
I remember when I did my first no shot for Gracie. I was uneasy and a little worried, but I trusted these crazy cat ladies!

Did he eat the regular amount of food?
I've actually had no-insulin days, but it's been awhile.

He really didn't eat very much this morning before I left. I was expecting his PMPS to be high, but not *that* high.

And he positively refused to eat anything low carb, which would have helped, I'm sure.
 
I sort of wanted to do 1u this morning, but since 2-27's lower BG was *after* he'd eaten, I was hesitant. Especially since I couldn't monitor.

First day wasn't bad. It seems like a kind of low-key place.
Side note, I have an interview with a state agency on Wednesday.
Good to keep options open. ;-)
 
Last edited:
I agree, I think 1 unit would be okay tomorrow if he is low again. You know now that if he skips his shot, he shoots up pretty high. :) That's good data to have!

Glad to hear work went well! And good luck on the state agency!
 
Thanks @Kris & Teasel and @Rachel
Planning to do +5 tonight to see how he's responding. Gave him his dosage a bit earlier since he had none this morning. But that means tomorrow morning's dosage will be around thirteen hours later.

Adjusting takes time.
 
Well, giving the AM shot at +13 will likely take care of the "what if..." for the morning numbers. That extra hour should give him plenty of time to rise into normal ranges and hopefully give you a more predictable morning routine.

Glad to hear the first day went well! :)
 
And +5 was 195 - with a three hour fast. Under the circumstances, not too bad.

As @Djamila suggested, the extra hour in the morning (plus some more carbs this evening) should ensure a more standard BG for Jester's AMPS.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top