If cat doesn't eat, still give insulin?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Desi Mom

Member Since 2021
Destiny was full of energy and wanted to run around and play this morning instead of eat. My vet said that if she doesn't eat, I shouldn't give her the shot. I finally tempted her to eat a little bit with DM kibble (which I have been avoiding as much as possible). Then I figured since she is only getting .5U, and her BG was over 300, it was still safe to go ahead and give her the shot. So I did.

I was reading various things on this forum and came across the Think Tank forum with the bad advice post about "no food no insulin" and saw that even if they don't eat and their BG is elevated, it is best to give them a lower dose versus no dose. Since that post is rather old, I just want to verify that is still the best advice (which would be good, since that is what I did this morning).

Thanks!
 
Since that post is rather old, I just want to verify that is still the best advice (which would be good, since that is what I did this morning).

You did the right thing. Sometimes people here get so focused on preventing hypo's that they lose site of the problem of DKA's. Just because the cat doesn't eat doesn't mean it doesn't still need at least a token dose of insulin.

Good job!

Now it'll help if you can get some mid-cycle tests...somewhere between +5 and +7 if you can and then on the PM cycle, after the PMPS, get at least a "before bed" test in.
 
Her ear is starting to bleed easier which helps. She still struggles a lot though so it is hard to hold on to her. It is amazing how slippery a squirming cat can be. I am positive she will get better at it the more we keep doing it though so I will get to the point of being able to get more readings.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top