Ideal range?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ShannonP

Member Since 2016
Wesley was diagnosed a little less than a month ago at that time, his BG was 480. He has been on ProZinc however we have been 5 days without insulin because his numbers have consistently stayed under 200. Is under 200 an acceptable range or should we be striving to get it under 100 consistently?

From a behavior standpoint, the excessive water consumption has stopped entirely. He is also much more active and able to climb his cat tree to get in my son's loft bed. He has always been very vocal but prior to his diagnosis, that stopped quite a bit and he is back to talking up a storm.

I guess I am wondering if this is "good enough" or can we do better. His spreadsheet is in my signature.
 
You really want below 120-150 without insulin. I would get a BG before eating and then no insulin and then BG at about 5-6 hours to see what is happening.
 
A cat is considered to be in remission if the majority of their numbers are in the "normal" range, which is 50-120 on a human meter. It looks to me that Wesley is running a bit higher than that, so you may want to keep him on insulin a bit longer. I've always used Lantus with Bandit, so I can't really give dosing advice (I hope an experienced Prozinc user will see this!), but I can generally recommend that you try out a lower dose for some time, possibly .5u? Cats possibly going into remission typically do best if weaned off insulin with smaller and smaller doses.

Good luck! Those are good numbers to get without insulin! :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top