IDB and Diabetes

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lenah

Member Since 2018
Hello, my cat Meg got diabetes for overuse of corticoids on June 2018, her glucose was constantly over 300 mg/dL and she had all the symptoms: increased appetite, weight loss, excessive thirst, and increased urination. We tried to solve with food diet but it wasn't enough. So I did by myself her treatment with Lantus because on my city the veterinaries all wanted to use NPH for cats and thanks to this forum I got the knowledge that tight management protocol with Lantus was the best way to remission. And we archived the remission in September 2018. That diabetic cat food caused her IDB, now she is allergic to regular food and she only eats hypoallergenic food with hydrolyzed protein.
Around March this year, I paid attention she was drinking more water, but regular weight and urination. So I checked her glucose and it was 125 mg/l.
Today I checked again and it is 218 mg/l. No symptoms, just little more water drinking. If she wasn't allergic to protein I would try food management. But I don't know if it is an option for us.

So what do you suggest to me? Back to Lantus? Is there a diet for IDB and Diabetes?

There is no endocrinologist veterinary in my city and the veterinaries I went to in 2018 seemed to have no idea about how to deal with feline diabetes. This forum saved my cat in 2018, I am really thankful for you all and I hope you can help us again.

Thank you so much!!!
 
WELCOME BACK! While I am NO expert on novel proteins or even foods My heart sinks to know she now cant eat a regular diet. I will leave the experts help you with this mission of remission.
I just wanted to welcome you back and say hang on for more replies...
@JanetNJ
@Alelula & Minnie
@Nan & Amber (GA)
@Bron and Sheba (GA)

I'm trying to think of others ...;)
jeanne
 
Sorry I’m running out of the house so making this short but I’ll post more later. First, yes back on Lantus but start with a low dose like maybe .5 unit. Do you have 1/2 unit marked syringes?

Minnie has IBD too have you discussed budesonide with your vet? It can raise the bg a bit too as it’s a steroid but it’s a localized steroid designed to work on the GI tract only. That’s been helping Minnie eat well for me.
 
  1. @Sienne and Gabby (GA) hi Sienne I came across this @Lenah was asking about foods for IBD and Diabetes. Do you think she can try what you mentioned. Thank you

  2. Sienne and Gabby (GA)Moderator
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    The Stella & Chewy's is fine.

    If you need novel proteins, check out the ZiwiPeak line. It's pricey but there are no gums or carrageenan in it. They make a canned food variety and a freeze dried that looks like kibble (or jerky-type treats) but isn't.
 
Sorry I’m running out of the house so making this short but I’ll post more later. First, yes back on Lantus but start with a low dose like maybe .5 unit. Do you have 1/2 unit marked syringes?

Minnie has IBD too have you discussed budesonide with your vet? It can raise the bg a bit too as it’s a steroid but it’s a localized steroid designed to work on the GI tract only. That’s been helping Minnie eat well for me.

Thank you for your reply!!!
The hypoallergenic dry food solved her IDB symptoms (vomit and diarrhea), so I didn't try medicaments for it. Today her limitation is not to get snacks or try my food.
But now with her glucose getting higher, I would like to know if there is an option of homemade cat food that works with IDB and Diabetes to try to lower her glucose with diet change only.

I don't know what would be better to give her:

food for diabetic cat + budesonide
or
keep her hypoallergenic diet + Lantus.

I would be so happy if there is an option to feed her with a diet that works with diabetes and IDB, so I could keep her free from medicaments.
 
  1. @Sienne and Gabby (GA) hi Sienne I came across this @Lenah was asking about foods for IBD and Diabetes. Do you think she can try what you mentioned. Thank you

  2. Sienne and Gabby (GA)Moderator
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    The Stella & Chewy's is fine.

    If you need novel proteins, check out the ZiwiPeak line. It's pricey but there are no gums or carrageenan in it. They make a canned food variety and a freeze dried that looks like kibble (or jerky-type treats) but isn't.

Thank you for your reply!!!
I live in Brazil, we have very few options for industrialized cat food. The only hypoallergenic for cats is from royal canin, and for diabetic there is 3-4 brands, and they are all of dry food.
 
We really need to see more information in your User Id Signature, to help you better.
Also, a spreadsheet where you record the insulin doses and test results is super helpful to us.

There are instructions on how to do that setup here>>>>>> Simply click on the blue highlighted text and it will take you to the introductory thread.
Sticky New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
This would help so much :cat:
I can make it. But she is insulin-free for 2 years, so I don't have recent records for insulin doses or test results.
 
Thank you for your reply!!!
I live in Brazil, we have very few options for industrialized cat food. The only hypoallergenic for cats is from royal canin, and for diabetic there is 3-4 brands, and they are all of dry food.
I will tag @Sienne and Gabby (GA) and she if she has any suggestions about feeding raw food, I have no idea about raw food
 
Last edited:
I would stop the dry food as that would be sending up the BGs.
Could you feed a raw diet, home made?
Sheba had chronic diarrhoea and I put her on the hypoallergenic food for a fortnight against my better judgement. I swapped to a raw diet and that solved her diarrhoea but unfortunately the dry food and a bout of pancreatitis tipped her out of remission.
I would try stopping the dry food and see if that lowers the BG before I restarted insulin.
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom and @jt and trouble (GA)

I tried it, I used the world template because I live outside the USA, but here we use mg/dl too. So I think I should have used the Us spread.
I see your spreadsheet now, thank you, if you can just set up your signature now that would be helpful

Make sure your signature is up-to-date.
  • On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
    • There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
    • Add any other text, such as
    • Caregiver & kitty's name (optional)
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.
 
Thank you for your reply!!!
The hypoallergenic dry food solved her IDB symptoms (vomit and diarrhea), so I didn't try medicaments for it. Today her limitation is not to get snacks or try my food.
But now with her glucose getting higher, I would like to know if there is an option of homemade cat food that works with IDB and Diabetes to try to lower her glucose with diet change only.

I don't know what would be better to give her:

food for diabetic cat + budesonide
or
keep her hypoallergenic diet + Lantus.

I would be so happy if there is an option to feed her with a diet that works with diabetes and IDB, so I could keep her free from medicaments.
Thank you for your reply!!!
I live in Brazil, we have very few options for industrialized cat food. The only hypoallergenic for cats is from royal canin, and for diabetic there is 3-4 brands, and they are all of dry food.
Eu também sou brasileira Lenah!!! Infelizmente realmente as comidas no Brasil são limitadas. Raw food may be the best option and you can make that at home. Sienne should be able to give you more info on that! Aonde você mora no Brasil?

bem vinda e bjs!
 
There are a number of us here who made our own food for our cats, and chose novel proteins to do so. A couple of websites for you to look at : Raw Feeding for IBD Cats, IBDKitties.
I used the FoodFurLife premix they mention. Add premix plus water to raw food and you are have low carb novel protein food. You can also do cooked if you want to. Dr. Lisa Pierson's website also has a section on making your own cat food, where you source the additions, instead of using a premix.
 
There are a number of us here who made our own food for our cats, and chose novel proteins to do so. A couple of websites for you to look at : Raw Feeding for IBD Cats, IBDKitties.
I used the FoodFurLife premix they mention. Add premix plus water to raw food and you are have low carb novel protein food. You can also do cooked if you want to. Dr. Lisa Pierson's website also has a section on making your own cat food, where you source the additions, instead of using a premix.
Do you think the premix would be available in Brazil? :bookworm:
 
I would stop the dry food as that would be sending up the BGs.
Could you feed a raw diet, home made?
Sheba had chronic diarrhoea and I put her on the hypoallergenic food for a fortnight against my better judgement. I swapped to a raw diet and that solved her diarrhoea but unfortunately the dry food and a bout of pancreatitis tipped her out of remission.
I would try stopping the dry food and see if that lowers the BG before I restarted insulin.
I will do it, thank you so much for your help. On some weeks I come back to let you know the results! I am really hopeful that changing her diet will work!
 
I see your spreadsheet now, thank you, if you can just set up your signature now that would be helpful

Make sure your signature is up-to-date.
  • On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
    • There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
    • Add any other text, such as
    • Caregiver & kitty's name (optional)
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.
I didn't understand the meaning of "DX" and TR or SLGS. TR is tight regulation?

Her treatment was very short because it was caused by corticoids, and I did the tight regulation, so her BG would go as low as 48 mg/dL and we archived remission very fast, thank God and thank to you all that gave me information and courage to do it on my own.
This is the information I have:

She got DM around June 2018, but first, we tried to manage only with diabetic cat dry food.
She received Lantus from 13/08/2018 until 26/08/2018.
I used a human meter called: Accu Chek Active by Roche
She eats Dry Food right now.
She was dosed on "Tight Regulation"
 
Eu também sou brasileira Lenah!!! Infelizmente realmente as comidas no Brasil são limitadas. Raw food may be the best option and you can make that at home. Sienne should be able to give you more info on that! Aonde você mora no Brasil?

bem vinda e bjs!
Oii, que legal que você também é brasileira. Eu sou de Brusque-SC. Eu contatei o site da foodfurlife e perguntei se os correios estão entregando normalmente por conta da Covid. O valor total com o frete é US$ 49,45. Estou confiante que não vão segurar na receita federal!
 
There are a number of us here who made our own food for our cats, and chose novel proteins to do so. A couple of websites for you to look at : Raw Feeding for IBD Cats, IBDKitties.
I used the FoodFurLife premix they mention. Add premix plus water to raw food and you are have low carb novel protein food. You can also do cooked if you want to. Dr. Lisa Pierson's website also has a section on making your own cat food, where you source the additions, instead of using a premix.
Thank you so much for your information, I am studying these websites and I just contacted FoodFurLife, they ship to Brazil but I asked them if there is any board restriction because of Covid pandemic..

I am really hopeful that changing her diet will work, I hope to come back in some weeks to give you all good news!
 
Oii, que legal que você também é brasileira. Eu sou de Brusque-SC. Eu contatei o site da foodfurlife e perguntei se os correios estão entregando normalmente por conta da Covid. O valor total com o frete é US$ 49,45. Estou confiante que não vão segurar na receita federal!
Eu sou do Rio. Minha mãe era de Curitiba e meu pai do Maranhão. Talvez não segurem já que não é comida. Vamos torcer!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top