I want to introduce my cat Zoe and me

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah and Zoe

Member Since 2023
Hi everyone, I wanted to get an account set up on the message board, "just in case." Zoe is a little senior sugar kitty; she turned 15 in July. She had always been healthy and large and in charge, at one point weighing 13 lbs. I realized in June that something was wrong. Before that I had been dealing with my yellow lab Lucky's declining health due to a large tumor. It was removed but I ended up having to have Lucky put to sleep since she wasn't going to recover from the surgery. At that point I looked at Zoe and thought "Oh my God Zoe's been sick" but I had been unaware. Our sugar journey began after that, and I think she's doing pretty well. I have 9 other cats so feeding has been an issue but we have a routine and they all are respectful of Zoe. I'm retired, which is lucky since the cats require a lot of time ;)
 
Hi Sarah and Zoe
Great job setting up your SS
Here is the link so you can set up your signature
Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly..

The signature is at the end of everyone's post in gray ,information about our cats
Tap in your name up top then tap in signature ,add the info then tap in save
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.
 
Hello and welcome. Cute pic of Zoe and the daisies.

What are you feeding Zoe now?

Looks like you are giving a good insulin for cats (Prozinc) and home testing. Thanks for putting together the spreadsheet. There are a few other tidbits of information that can go in your signature that'll help us help you. Details here:
New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

Anything we can help you with now? We all know the learning curve of handling a diabetic cat so love to help.
 
Great job at setting up your spreadsheet!

the issue I see is that I’m not sure what you’re basing the dose adjustments on. If she’s getting any dry food, you’d follow our SLGS dosing method. If not, you could also go with the modified TR. you’re testing enough that you could do either if she’s on wet food only. I’d suggest, if you haven’t already, reviewing the prozinc forum and reading all the yellow sticky notes, but especially the one on dosing: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/prozinc-pzi.24/

she’s a cutie and we’d love to help!
 
No need to reduce the dose to 1.5 this am and I think she’d be up for a dose increase after tomorrow actually. We typically don’t recommend you stay with the same dose longer than 7 days if you’re not getting numbers under 150, which is why I think you should to up to 2.25.

Tagging @Suzanne & Darcy who is experienced with prozinc
 
Hi Sarah and Zoe
Great job setting up your SS
Here is the link so you can set up your signature
Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly..

The signature is at the end of everyone's post in gray ,information about our cats
Tap in your name up top then tap in signature ,add the info then tap in save
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.
 
@Sarah and Zoe
Hi Sarah , you will need to follow the SLGS method because you are feeding some dry food. Can you correct that in your signature and add it to your spreadsheet up top. Thanks :cat:
Can you start to get some PM tests in , you are only seeing half the picture and have no idea what's going on after the pre shot,

From the Prozinc sticky
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 un
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top