? I think we might be coming off insulin? +4 BG of 68 using ALPHATRACK2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ana & Frosty (GA)

Member Since 2018
Good morning,
So over the last 2 weeks, Frosty's sugars have been steadily trending down. I decreased his dose to 0.75 units a week ago, and yesterday evening, he had a low value of 65 (we are using ALPHATRACK2 meter), so I fed him, and this morning he was 201, and cut the dose down to 0.5 units. At +4, he is 68. I am going to recheck in an hour to see if he is going down or back up, but if he is going down, I am wondering whether I should:

a. keep the 0.5 u dose for a few more days to see if he events out, since it takes more than 1 "cycle" to see a true result from a dose change
b. cut down the dose to 0.25 u tonight and check a nadir later
c. skip tonight's shot and see what we get tomorrow morning

Just curious what you guys think. Thanks.

BACKGROUND HISTORY: he is a stray with an unknown history who presented to the shelter with a BG of 350, but also was extremely malnourished and ill at the time. Not sure if he is a true "diabetic" or the sugars were due to his chronically debilitated state.
 
Hi Ana. Congratulations of the reduction! He earned it. :cat: Today's low is probably under the influence of the higher dose of .75 still. It can take about 2 cycles for a depot to drain. So, I would hold this dose of .5 until he earns the reduction for a lower dose as back to back reductions usually don't hold. My guess is that he will trend upwards through this cycle and hopefully give you a number over 90 so you can shoot tonight.

His numbers don't indicate to be off insulin yet. He is looking good, but still needs some more time on insulin IMHO.
 
I would keep the 0.5 unit dose which he earned by going under 0.75 units. The depot from the larger dose can impact 4-6 cycles after a reduction. We don't normally take back to back reductions for that reason. of course, if he goes a lot lower, that may change the story. Right now he's still above what we consider the "take action" point of below 68. I hope you gave him a couple tsps of low carb food at that last test. F

Frosty will tell you when he's ready to go off of insulin. Thank you for rescuing him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top