Ana & Frosty (GA)
Member Since 2018
Good morning,
So over the last 2 weeks, Frosty's sugars have been steadily trending down. I decreased his dose to 0.75 units a week ago, and yesterday evening, he had a low value of 65 (we are using ALPHATRACK2 meter), so I fed him, and this morning he was 201, and cut the dose down to 0.5 units. At +4, he is 68. I am going to recheck in an hour to see if he is going down or back up, but if he is going down, I am wondering whether I should:
a. keep the 0.5 u dose for a few more days to see if he events out, since it takes more than 1 "cycle" to see a true result from a dose change
b. cut down the dose to 0.25 u tonight and check a nadir later
c. skip tonight's shot and see what we get tomorrow morning
Just curious what you guys think. Thanks.
BACKGROUND HISTORY: he is a stray with an unknown history who presented to the shelter with a BG of 350, but also was extremely malnourished and ill at the time. Not sure if he is a true "diabetic" or the sugars were due to his chronically debilitated state.
So over the last 2 weeks, Frosty's sugars have been steadily trending down. I decreased his dose to 0.75 units a week ago, and yesterday evening, he had a low value of 65 (we are using ALPHATRACK2 meter), so I fed him, and this morning he was 201, and cut the dose down to 0.5 units. At +4, he is 68. I am going to recheck in an hour to see if he is going down or back up, but if he is going down, I am wondering whether I should:
a. keep the 0.5 u dose for a few more days to see if he events out, since it takes more than 1 "cycle" to see a true result from a dose change
b. cut down the dose to 0.25 u tonight and check a nadir later
c. skip tonight's shot and see what we get tomorrow morning
Just curious what you guys think. Thanks.
BACKGROUND HISTORY: he is a stray with an unknown history who presented to the shelter with a BG of 350, but also was extremely malnourished and ill at the time. Not sure if he is a true "diabetic" or the sugars were due to his chronically debilitated state.
Today's low is probably under the influence of the higher dose of .75 still. It can take about 2 cycles for a depot to drain. So, I would hold this dose of .5 until he earns the reduction for a lower dose as back to back reductions usually don't hold. My guess is that he will trend upwards through this cycle and hopefully give you a number over 90 so you can shoot tonight.