I think Jeddie needs a dose increase - again

Status
Not open for further replies.
His SS is up-to-date - just. My aunt went back into the hospital with a bowel obstruction on Weds am and I have been back in crisis mode. She seems to be doing OK now, I just hope she can go back home soon. Her kitties miss her! She has been gone for 2 weeks (was in a rehab place for a week before going back to the hospital.)

Anyway, Jeddie is not getting PS's below 300 any more. I don't have any spot checks, so will try to get one or two this weekend, but I have a ton of stuff to do away from home at just the time he should be checked and schedule is totally off at 10 am/pm so night spot checks are out. I guess I could try to jump his dose back tonight by doing splits and then hope he has settled back again by Sunday afternoon.

ETA: OK trying split doses tonight: +10.25 was 299, shot .25u
and +2/12 was 260, shot .25u

(weighed him: 11.5-12 lbs - by weighing myself, myself holding him, etc. not real accurate)
 
Hmm, looks like he might have gotten a little movement on that .25U. I like that because it's not very much, so there isn't too much overlap/carryover from previous dose, and it prevented him from going higher.

Good job. It may also tell you if he indeed needs more insulin. Giving earlier shots creates more overlap/shed. Don't you and Michele have some little saying about that??? Hmmm??? :roll:

So if you give earlier shots which causes more shed which gets him to target BGs better, you know he needs more insulin! But then there's that darn dose change/time change effect. Meaning it's very difficult to tell one way or another.

Sorry your aunt is back in hospital care. But it sounds like she's being well looked after.
 
OK - HUGE (?) overlap! He was 208 this morning at +12/+10.

So what dose increase should I do (he is at .5u now)? And when?

I am planning a +2 and a +4 or 5, but then I need to leave until +12. Really. I need to be able to get stuff done. You hear that, Jeddie? No LOW numbers!

ETA: And he heard me! No LOW numbers! No even medium numbers. Sigh...

+2 was 281, +5 was 280 and pmPS was 286 (and 45 mins late... sigh again).
 
Can you dose a .6U? I'd say to try .75U, but he's only down to low 200s after the one split and I'm not sure what you're schedule is like tomorrow, but you sound busy.

Remember that 208 is still working off the +10 dose. If you had waited till +12, he would not doubt have been higher.

What have his numbers been like today? I haven't looked at spreadsheet yet. My stab in the dark is that he went higher because the dose changes caught up.

What do I win?
 
Doh! You had it in your post! But he went up - haha! Good thing is he remained level with the increase. I'll take my winnings in one lump sum please....

Yeah, try .6U for the usual hold dose period you like. As you've seen with Gandalf, a small change can result in big number changes. Increasing to .6U is a 20% increase. In fact, I really wish Tilly would gauge dose changes this way because as you increase the amount, the percentage of change drops. On lower doses I think you want less of a percentage increase. And of course I'm speaking about those of us who have a fairly good idea where our cat should be regarding dose. Molly would be one who could handle a .25U increase or decrease if Michele thought numbers warranted it since Molly is on around 2U because that's only a 12% change. I dropped Gandalf's dose from 1.4U to 1.2U which is a 14% change and you saw the difference.

Of course now Gandalf's in the 300s again, so what do I know? But that's after more time changes. It's a big ball of confusion sometimes.
 
Oh, great. Now I have this song stuck in my head:

Air pollution, revolution, gun control,
Sound of soul
Shootin' rockets to the moon
Kids growin' up too soon
Politicians say more taxes will
Solve everything
And the band played on
So round 'n' round 'n' round we go
Where the world's headed, nobody knows
Just a Ball of Confusion
Oh yea, that's what the world is today


I agree about the percent changes. I just wish that they would make a 50% strength Levemir so I could SEE the damn dose changes when they are that small. Shooting .5u really worked for me...
 
Just checked out his SS and yesterday's (Sat.) numbers look better (yellow is always better than pink!! Still can't believe i have a set of friends that understands me when a say a sentence like that :) Hopefully once the .50 settles it will bring him even a little lower - but not too low. To find some good news in all this,,,although he is higher than you would like, his numbers yesterday are consistent - no swings from high to low and back.

Sorry your grandmother is not feeling well again. I can only imagine everything you have on your plate right now. Hang in there my friend and know we're here for you.

P.S. how is Leanne doing?
 
I think it was the Temptations - and I'm not talking about the kitty treat!

Michele, he has been on .5u for a while, so I am trying to dose .6u as of this am. Although I claim to be a master of micro doses as small at .05, I HATE them! Give me .5, .75, etc, any day.

Leanne is the same - hates (!) being pilled. We are at war now and she has to be burritoed. Dental is tomorrow (gulp).
 
Well, today tanked. Started off good (264). But he was 350 at +12....

Schedule is a bit off. Well, it hasn't been "on" for more that one shot/cycle for several weeks. I have been working all day and then going to visit my aunt first before coming home, so evening shot is late, so morning shot is late, and so on. If I DO get home on time, I feed them but shot has to wait because I know I will be late the next night so no sense in trying to move him. And I have relatives coming to town again next weekend. That's gonnan mess up everything...

Poor Jeddie!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top