I think it has been determined that we all need a pity party

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Very Active Member
ok, as we all know this can be one of the most frustrating diseases... :twisted:
good days, bad days, constipated, neuropathy, bad teeth, :evil:
need I go on?!?! :shock:
maybe it would be a good idea to declare one day a week....
lets say pity party day...perhaps...***** fest day.... :-D
something where we could all just ***** all day long how freakin tired or stressed we are...
our lives revolve around shooting times and curves and what our babies are going to eat that day...
did those treats have too many carbs?... :o

well it sure looks like today is that day for me! :roll:
anyway..feels kinda good to let it out so go ahead folks....***** away!!

hope everyone's day is filled with smiles! :mrgreen:
 
Re: I think it has been determined that we all need a pity p

Where do I hang my coat?

Let me get settled in... forgot to leave out frozen FF last night and of course I get payback for it. AMPS 390. Wish I had enough $$$ to hire a 'Cat Nanny'. I would!!! Would not care how shallow people thought I was. They would watch Jax every hour of the day, administer shots, check BG and prepare his food. None of this canned crap. Forget tight regulation on Lantus! They would literally be the brainchild behind Tight PZI regulation because if Jax's BG just blinks they would be on top of it. I better not hit the lottery or my 'cat nanny' would surely hit the press. People would declare in the papers that I am eccentric! Talk at the water coolers would be about the crazy broad that has too much money...doesn't she know people are starving in the world?!? Can't she help pay down the national debt?!

Poor DH heard it first thing in the morning before his head left the pillow, "OH NO...THE FROZEN FOOD!! His BG!!! Where is that lancet?!" ((*insert tripping over stuff here*))

Well maybe not that extreme but you get the point. I'm tired of this and am all for a pity party day each week. (as long as it isn't Fri-Sun because I'm all for having a great weekend.) :cool:
 
Re: I think it has been determined that we all need a pity p

I'm bringing the wine (and maybe the whine too). party_cat

DH is out of town, so I have cat duty plus everything else. He's out to dinner and drinks with his colleagues and I'm at home taking care of Alex.
Yesterday, Alex had the 2 prettiest pre-shots I think he's ever had--AMP - 151 and PMPS - 210.
So, this morning? You guessed it! AMPS was 392 :evil:
 
Re: I think it has been determined that we all need a pity p

Can I bring Sally??!!!!!
 
Re: I think it has been determined that we all need a pity p

I shall wait until all of the *****in is posted before playing "mr. brightside puts on his rose-colored glasses", but I did want to thank Lisa for the link to urban dictionary...

I may have blushed a little...after cleaning up the coffee that I spit across the kitchen table...

Carl
 
Re: I think it has been determined that we all need a pity p

Lets see to start off with callies ps this am was 522 ouch ! she whines for cat grass 50% of the day which she is doing right now ( she yaked 2 days ago from this) I get 2 to 2 1/2 sleep at a time I-) callie and tesse fight alot :sad: dh won't give callie a shot I have not just slept until I wanted to since June :roll: since June I have had 2 and 1/4 hours of marty time and this was 12/10 after callies shot I went with a girlfriend uptown to have a couple of beers drinking24 I left at 10:15 and was home at 12:30 dh was to watch callie when I got home he was in bed sleeping and callie started whining as soon as I got home so I checked her she went from ps 413 to + 4=125 dh and I had words and he told me I was selfish for leaving callie for a couple of hours :-x ohhhh I feel better already :-D oh and yes kim bring Sally :-D


callie and I hope everyone has a great day with great number and less stress cat_pet_icon dancing_cat :YMHUG: ;-)
 
Re: I think it has been determined that we all need a pity p

Can I join your pity party? We use Lantus but we're still extra-sweet.... :roll:

All KT wants is HARD FOOD, HARD FOOD - he chants it - HARD FOOD, HARD FOOD. We got a small bag of Evo to feed that 'Hard Food' chant but ran out - now we're having trouble getting more. Everyone's computers says they HAVE it in stock but when I attempt to order it, I find that it's on backorder. I found a small company that's going to ship it free and actually called the VP of the company trying to get KT one bag...we'll see if it is indeed on Saturday's truck. To tide him over, we've given him boiled chicken - NOW if he can't have hard food, he wants chicken. Period...no 'real' food, nibble and push it all over the floor, then holler. ARGH&%$#%$@$@!!

Then there's Scruffy who I'm TRYING to get over congestive heart failure - HE now only wants chicken with FortiFlora on it. The vet couldn't get fluid to test so we're stuffing heart meds and lasix down him. He also bugs me constantly to go outside - he was tossed outside when he was last abandoned - we enclosed our back porch for him and left a cat door but I've now locked it. His legs are weak and I'm afraid he'll try to jump somewhere and fall. He doesn't seem to be getting any better.

We just lost our elderly cat, Peanut, 3 weeks ago - I didn't really even get time to mourn for her.

I can't get KT's numbers to regulate even tho' now we've been working on it for 6 months. Seems regardless of whether I go up or down, he lives in the 200's and 300's with a terrible sudden hypo dive.

I've now been sick for over a month and just can't seem to shake it but still have to keep plugging along 'doing' for everyone else. I'd just LOVE to have someone 'do' for me for just 24 hours....but I can't because I have to watch DH for a starting paralysis attack. I'm the only one that can spot when they're threatening...even DH doesn't recognize them. If he goes down, he'll potentially hurt himself badly again which we cannot afford...already has broken one shoulder, both rotator cuffs torn, broken arm and collarbone, ripped knee tendons, hands with only about half of the ligaments and tendons still attached.

I DIDN'T SIGN UP FOR ANY OF THIS!!! I'm SO tired....

I guess I'm REALLY ready for a pity party aren't I??? I'm a real whiney baby today...

..now I'll go put on my big girl panties and go back to life... :roll: Thank you for letting me blow off steam, I needed it...

BIG HUGS!
 
Re: I think it has been determined that we all need a pity p

Ok, here is my whine for the day. Winter has finally arrived in MN :sad: , we had very quickly gotten used to the balmy temps (30's to 40's, proper attire is shorts, low boots and a parka) and snow free driveways, people are still riding their motorcycles, but this morning driving to work it was 15 degrees below zero with wind chills feels like 30 below and now I'm hearing that a snow storm is coming.

Pass the cheese please.

Yes Kim please bring Sally.
 
Re: I think it has been determined that we all need a pity p

I’m all for a ***** session :)

We are on a work deadline for an impossible job and trying to beg more. Everything work-wise is slow and take 3 times as much effort. Then this freestyle mess started with Asher. We thought he was doing great and got a big slap in the face.

We are off to the vet this afternoon. Hate to stress him but I need to know where we are and how our meters compare to what the vet uses. I will report in later on a separate thread for anyone who is interested in that stuff.

We’ll make it kids. That which does not kill you is a pain in the a$%.

Heads high, glass in hand. We all press on! drinking24
 
Re: I think it has been determined that we all need a pity p

calliecat an marty said:
I left at 10:15 and was home at 12:30 dh was to watch callie when I got home he was in bed sleeping and callie started whining as soon as I got home so I checked her she went from ps 413 to + 4=125 dh and I had words and he told me I was selfish for leaving callie for a couple of hours :-x ohhhh I feel better already :-D oh and yes kim bring Sally :-D

Carl, don't read this! This made me laugh....men! That is their idea of "watching"! :lol: Mine is pretty good most of the time about testing & shooting but this sounds like something he would do! :lol:

Squeaky and KT said:
We just lost our elderly cat, Peanut, 3 weeks ago - I didn't really even get time to mourn for her.

I'm sorry about Peanut. :YMHUG:

Thumper's numbers sound like KT's! :roll:

At least all your posts made me laugh!

Robin, I can't get that pic of shorts & boots out of my head! :lol:

This is somehow theraputic! :lol:

Barbara
 
Re: I think it has been determined that we all need a pity p

Watch Out here I come to this party! I have cupcakes in one hand & a bottle of whine in the other.
Let me pull up a chair.....drinking09

I want to start of with WalMart....why in the heck does that store keep the Relion test strips behind the pharmacy counter? I am so sick of the store making it so difficult for me to get test strips. Oh & not to mention sold out during the holidays. They happen to get a couple of boxes in the day after new years & won't even hold them for me to pick them up in 30 minutes. :evil: Seriously am I missing something about those strips? Can they be used to make homemade drugs? Are they sold on the streets for a pretty penny? What is the freakn deal with them? All I want them for is testing BLOOD. Come on already!! WalMart stop making me look crazy!! @-) Heaven forbid I ever get test strip at the same time I buy groceries. I always have to make a special trip to get test strips. Im sick & tired of Walmart pharmacy!! grr_red

The food companies....is it that complicated to put the nutrational information on the can of cat food? If they won't put JUNK in the food then they wont be ashamed of putting the information on the label. ohmygod_smile
Why can't a company just make a special, healthy formula of cat food? Label with bright, pretty words that read...
"Mouse Flavor, Diabetic Formula, 0 Carbs". dancing_cat Don't the companies know they would sell the heck out it instead of Vension with vegetables? When was the last time someone saw a cat on a farm digging up carrots or potatoes to eat :shock: :o ......NEVER!! Yes, VEGAN is the new age for humans, but not for felines. HEY food companies...make real food for real cats!! :roll:

Its BG testing time for me....CARRY ON FDMB FRIENDS!
Thanks for invite to this party. party_cat

Make it a Great Day!
 
Re: I think it has been determined that we all need a pity p

Count me in for the party!
Lets see, I've had a crappy cold for a week and now DH has it , civvie Monkey paws and scoots his automatic water bowl across the floor numerous times a day and I have to clean up big puddles of water every day: one of them had loose poop in the Breeze litter and after cleaning up what I could with paper towels, had to pick up stained individual pellets by hand YUCK ; I stuck myself with a syringe this morning (no insulin in it yet) and Big Hen's AMPS was 560, nearly dropped the meter! then thought I better recheck, 1 minute later 420.
And I have to call to have septic tank pumped out.
I'm bringing a bottle of JIm Beam to the party, who wants to bring the coca-cola?
 
Re: I think it has been determined that we all need a pity p

Oh and yesterday I read about a new glucose meter that remotely checks BGs, like a baby monitor, it automatically checks and you can get readings from another room and alerts you of low readings. Its supposed to be for diabetic kids or bedridden elderly. Don't know if its in development or already on the market. Think it would work on cats? :lol:
Oh well it probably costs a couple of thou anyway.
 
Re: I think it has been determined that we all need a pity p

I got a real rib tickle from what everyone posted. Its nice to know that there are others out there in the same boat with me. For some stupid reason I thought I was all alone. :lol:
 
Re: I think it has been determined that we all need a pity p

Jenn & Baxter said:
I want to start of with WalMart....why in the heck does that store keep the Relion test strips behind the pharmacy counter? I am so sick of the store making it so difficult for me to get test strips.

Oh, I can help with this one! You can get the strips delivered to your DOOR from American Diabetes Wholesale, and they are even CHEAPER!! Here's the link. http://search.americandiabeteswholesale.com/search?keywords=glucocard 01

If you go through Mr Rebates you get a rebate back & you can usually find a coupon online somewhere, shipping is only 3.95 but if you order 100.00 you get FREE shipping!! I just order a bunch at one time. I also got myself a backup meter from them. I use the Relion Confirm which is the same as the Glucocard 01 but as you can see they also have the mini. :thumbup Now you don't have to deal with those crazy Wal Mart people!

As far as the food, I agree. Why in the world would they put carrots, potatoes & other veggies in cat food? I'm still running in circles trying to find the right food.

Angela, I had to laugh at the thought of him scooting his water bowl around! :lol:
 
Re: I think it has been determined that we all need a pity p

Nobody said the pity part could only last one day.

Alex at +6 was 142. PMPS is 513. Can ANYONE explain this?
 
Re: I think it has been determined that we all need a pity p

Ugh Ginny! That’s mean. Any chance he could have gotten into something?
 
Re: I think it has been determined that we all need a pity p

Not unless he drove the car to Kroger and bought the stuff himself. :o
 
Re: I think it has been determined that we all need a pity p

You would be surprised what these kitties would do for some carbs or kitty krack!
that is very weird, did you retake the test, maybe bad reading?
 
Re: I think it has been determined that we all need a pity p

This must be Alex then....
 

Attachments

  • Car hit dog.jpg
    Car hit dog.jpg
    41.9 KB · Views: 732
Re: I think it has been determined that we all need a pity p

With the crazy things happening here, maybe he can drive! :lol:
 
Re: I think it has been determined that we all need a pity p

Thanks for the great laugh...
Now I have Alex in my mind driving to the store to score some krack!
 
Re: I think it has been determined that we all need a pity p

I did a google search and sat here one night for hours downloading pics I thought would come in handy. (Went through hundreds for a couple dozen keepers. Ugh!)

I'm the type of person I try to find something to smile about, especially when times are tough and I just want to cry. Laughter truly is the best medicine...so I try to do my share to help others smile. :smile: Funny pictures are easier to convey than black ink on a screen...so there you are! :smile:
 
Re: I think it has been determined that we all need a pity p

Great job Teresa!
Way to keep everyone smiling!
 
Re: I think it has been determined that we all need a pity p

I want to know what dog Alex hit when he stole the car to go to Krogers. :lol:
 
Re: I think it has been determined that we all need a pity p

Denise,
We didn't re-poke, probably should have, but he was getting a bit irritated and we didn't want to agitate him further because the prospective pet sitter came over to see if Alex would let her give a shot.

Let me tell you, treats are a powerful tool. She shot and petted him as he scarfed down a few treats!

I'll post this in another thread since this has been such a journey for us to find a pet sitter, but I'm pretty happy about this. Now, if we could get his BG under control.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top