i think i just made SENSE out of it!!!!

  • Thread starter Thread starter Anonymous
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Anonymous

Guest
ok tom hits a high # almost every morning and very rarely a shootable # in the evening.
ok, i've been giving him several mini meals all day instead of his usual 3 squares.
the feeding may be activating mr. pancrease.
follow me here......
when i shoot tom first thing in the morning whilst he dines on breakfast (first meal in twelve hours) i think the token dose i give 1/3u combined with mr. pancrease waking up is what is causing his sudden 2 hour drop of 150 bg's and causing him to feel like crap.

what i want to do is test, note the # no matter what it is, feed, then test again in 2 hours before shooting. the theory is i cannot really lower the dose much more than it is...it is barely a dose at all. if he is coming down 2 hours after the meal i'll know it's the combo that's causing the crash.

still if it's a shootable # i'm not sure what i'd shoot but at least he wouldn't be getting hit with insulin and pancrease all at once after 12 hours of nothing.

make sense?
 
Good theory!

Have you already thought about giving him one or more small meals during the night? I know some people use food timers for stuff like that - maybe that would keep him from going as high in the morning? And/or put food out when you first get up in the morning but have test & shoot time be later than that (if your schedule permits), so you would only as a rule consider shooting if it's 2 hrs post-food and he hasn't brought his #s down on his own. I am thinking of going more that route with Bix, rather than taking any # I get at face value, i.e. feed first, ask questions later. ;-)

Also, if you are in an experimenting mood, you could see if you can switch SID to a nighttime shot rather than morning. If you still get unshootable PSs at night even w/o giving insulin in the morning, that might support the feeding-is-the-ticket theory.

I'll be interested to see the results of your experimenting! I think you may be on to something!!!
 
You got it Lori--food is as much medicine as insulin is. You don't have to wait for 2 hours after the food to test unless Tom is a food spiker. If you need to test in an hour or an hour and a half, you will also be able to tell if the food is bringing him down. With Lucy I can tell 30 minutes after she eats.

Paws crossed!
 
aarrrggggg! his highest amps EVER 272 and i did'nt shoot it. killing me! but we're waiting 1 and 1/2 hours to see what up.
poor guy only seems to feel sh*tty about and hour or two after shot, mopes and sleeps for hours....the rest of the time he seems fine. right now he's outside skiipping merrily along and stopping to stare at blade of grass. guarnatee if i'd shot him and hour ago he'd be knocked out by now.
almost like the insulin diasagree's with him.
he acted this way our first go round in 07...but it did bring him into remission in 29 days.
the only difference is that then he would peak at about +6 give or take, not +2.
anyone care to view our spread sheet keeping in mind the first couple of days i had no insulin but was tracking his #'s. i find it interesting that with insulin on board he seems to be getting worse.
btw, today is day 16 on the juice.
 
amps 272...did not shoot, fed.
+2 132
it worked.
now what?
 
I would try to get another test somewhere between +5 and +7. My guess is he will stay below shootable numbers while he has food. I agree with the others that Tom might benefit from food overnight. If that is not doable, you might get a smoother curve by skipping the am shot and giving a pm shot instead.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top