Scdal
Member Since 2020
Phoenix started on amoxicillin about 10 days ago. It was a precaution since he had started with a cough. Since then, I had increased to 8.5 units and still his BG remained high. He finished the amoxicillin on the 1st.
I decided to refill the amoxicillin one more time since Phoenix was still coughing on and off. He would go a few days and not cough and then cough a few times. So on the 2nd, I got his amoxicillin refilled. By his PMPS, he had been off the amoxicillin for 24 hours. When I checked his BG it had fallen to 146. I gave Phoenix his insulin injection and the amoxicillin. At +1 166, +2 232, +7 363.
It seems since the amoxicillin got back in his system, his BG is climbing again. I was going to increase his insulin tomorrow until he had these blue numbers last night. Now, I am wondering if I should hold the 8.5 units until he finishes his next 10 day round of amoxicillin. He has never been able to stay at this high of a dose without having to decrease.
If the amoxicillin is causing the higher BG numbers and I increase to 9 units, what will happen when he finishes the antibiotics? I am scared to increase in case of a huge drop in his BG. I am wondering what I should do.
I decided to refill the amoxicillin one more time since Phoenix was still coughing on and off. He would go a few days and not cough and then cough a few times. So on the 2nd, I got his amoxicillin refilled. By his PMPS, he had been off the amoxicillin for 24 hours. When I checked his BG it had fallen to 146. I gave Phoenix his insulin injection and the amoxicillin. At +1 166, +2 232, +7 363.
It seems since the amoxicillin got back in his system, his BG is climbing again. I was going to increase his insulin tomorrow until he had these blue numbers last night. Now, I am wondering if I should hold the 8.5 units until he finishes his next 10 day round of amoxicillin. He has never been able to stay at this high of a dose without having to decrease.
If the amoxicillin is causing the higher BG numbers and I increase to 9 units, what will happen when he finishes the antibiotics? I am scared to increase in case of a huge drop in his BG. I am wondering what I should do.